Borrowdale Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fab, helpful wardens

We were after a getaway for a few days and booked ourselves in for 4 nights up to the end of the 23 season. What a cracking site. We were in pitch 38 which was down towards Derwent Water. All nice and quiet and within reach of the water tap which was a bonus as we didn't have to move to top our tank off. The wardens - Mick and Jo - were just great. We have stayed at many CAMC CLs and sites and these two are in our top three of hosts! The little shop they had going sold basics and some very nice Plum Bread which was happily scoffed in a single sitting. Walks are plentiful and suit a range of fitness - ambles along the lake to grab a ferry back, up to Catbells or further afield up to Newlands, Dale Head and along the ridge to Robinson. Excellent bus services into Keswick and around the circle to Buttermere and Whinlatter. £2 a ticket. Topped off with 4 days of surprisingly sunny blue sky days!

Mr Hurls

Reviewed on 09/11/2023 18:12

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Definitely one of my favourites

I feel like I don't have the words to describe how wonderful this site is. The staff Jo and Husband were outstanding, excellent customer service with a smile, sense of humour and calmness. Facilities are spotless and well maintained and the pitches are just wonderful. Nestled among trees we were lucky enough to have a red squirrel feeding box on the tree next to our pitch (kindly selected by the staff due to our late arrival in the dark after a long exhausting day). I bought some special squirrel food from the shop on site and was lucky enough to see them visiting the box every day along with a beautiful array of little birds, coal tits, robins, great tits, nutcrackers. It's such a peaceful place to stay and I just wish I'd had longer. No bathroom facilities and limited WiFi but who cares when you are in a place like this. We did the hike up Cat bells which was stunning, definitely follow staff advice for best route, did some walking along the beautiful lakeside where the views are gorgeous, and just watched the wildlife on site. We will definitely return.

AngiePange

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2023 16:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful and Peaceful

Defo in our top 5, this woodland site is peaceful, full of wildlife almost wild camping (but you have EH). with no toilet block it keeps bigger groups away, leaving the hardy walkers to enjoy this stunning located site. Sitting at the end of Derwant water and in the foot hills of Cat Bells, Castle Crags, High spy just to mention a few of the stunning walks all from the site. With Keswick a lovely flat walk ( 5-6 mile) along the water edge great for all your shopping needs food or retail, stop for lunch along the way at Lingholm. Red squirrels, fab birds and roe deer can all be seen from your van if you're lucky. The wardens are really lovely, and willing to help if required. We get our fix here twice a year Autumn is stunning for the colours. Just remember no toilet block or shower, but to be honest, it doesn't need it, I think it would ruin it.

Snowy and tigger

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/10/2023 21:34

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely stay and superb staff!

I was down with my daughter for some mountain biking at Whinlatter Forest and stayed at Borrowdale Club Campsite. The campsite is a lovely little site right on the banks of Derwent water. I was towing a caravan and please, do yourself a favour and come down the East Coast of the lake!! I made the mistake (despite being advised by the gentleman at the site over the phone) of coming down the West Coast of the lake and not following the Sat Nav as it's not the most caravan friendly road. My Sat Nav took me up a blind lane and I scraped the side of the van unfortunately. The East Coast of the lake is much more driver friendly! The site is incredibly peaceful and relaxing and the pitch we were in afforded easy access to the lake through a little gate. It was also a sub-20 minute walk into Keswick for restaurants. The best thing about the campsite was the staff. A genuinely lovely couple who were very friendly, helpful and kind. I wish them all the best for the close season and I hope to stay at the site in future... via the East Coast of the lake!

ScreenName7D7D353339

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/10/2023 23:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

This was our maiden voyage in a motorhome. The location was fantastic - so many beautiful walks for all abilities - and the bus service from Grange bridge was a very good price and very regular. The site was so peaceful and spread out with lots of red squirrels to entertain you. Jo and Mick, the wardens, were absolutely fantastic and a credit to the Caravan Club. They were so helpful and friendly - including helping us solve a few hiccups on our maiden voyage. I would highly recommend this site and will certainly be returning.

ScreenNameD1E0898016

Reviewed on 17/10/2023 14:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful with plenty of wildlife

We booked this site as we couldn't find anywhere else close to where we were already staying. So glad we did as it is just a short walk to Derwentwater so perfect for the dog as it was quite hot at the time, we even went for a swim ourselves. Lots of birds and of course red squirrels. Although we booked day by day and had to keep moving pitch the wardens were so helpful in finding us a spot, so a big thank you to Jo and Mick. We will definitely be back here and hopefully I wont send my drone in for a swim next time!

Simon Henderson

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 18:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing 3 nights

It was a last minute decision to visit this site knowing there were no washing facilities. I am so glad we decided to ‘risk it’. We took a wrong turning and ended up coming down the west side of the lake, which was quite stressful and I would not recommend. However, on arrival the wardens were so welcoming and helpful and the rest of our visit was very relaxing. The warden gave us lots of information about things to do and was extremely helpful. We took her advice and took the ferry getting off at various stops. As we have a puppy our walking was limited but with a pet buggy we managed a good amount of walking around the lake and he had plenty of opportunity to swim at various bays along the western side. The pitches were fairly private and the tree cover was welcome as we visited during the hot spell. Also saw a red squirrel on 3 occasions, one very near to our pitch. We will definitely be back, it is one of the nicest sites we’ve visited and the wardens were definitely the most welcoming in our few years of motorhoming.

Rugjug

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 16:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well located site

A lovely site in a very good location and I wish to explain why I gave 4 stars and not 5 in 3 of the categories: There are no toilet/shower/washing up facilities and this might be an issue for some members even though the description is clear. The waste facilities are however very well managed. Also, it may not be suitable for young children as there is no play area. Whilst the area was peaceful, we were very surprised at the number of dogs (some 2 per outfit) and the early morning walks resulted in a fair amount of barking. This is a site that is more appropriate for adults or older teenagers in my view. We do not use EHU as we are well served by solar roof panels but the light to the site is diminished by the height and volume of trees. Those using such power will need to be aware of this if they are hoping to have supplies topped up whilst on site. The benefit of the woodland site is the privacy it affords and the abundance of wildlife. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The site was immaculate. Local buses and lake launch were the best way to get around. 5 stars overall though!

FiatX19

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 14:47

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely find

Have stayed at club sites and in the Lakes many times but the welcome received has to be one of the friendliest, welcoming and helpful ever. The wardens really could not have done more. The travel instructions in the club book are essential as following SatNav would have meant a far more trying route what with huge tractors, waste disposal lorries and buses. The close proximity of a bus route that allowed you to flag down or stop en route served us well. Seeing a red squirrel from our pitch on the first night was a real bonus. Would thoroughly recommend this site without hesitation!

Kentish Motorhomer

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/09/2023 16:37

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A hidden gem

I can’t rate this site highly enough. Clean, tidy and surrounded by lovely trees and wildlife. Keswick water is a 5 minute walk away and there is a lovely cafe in the local village which is within easy walking distance. The managers could not have worked harder to keep the site clean and tidy and were very helpful and friendly. Our highlight was seeing red squirrels outside our caravan. The site doesn’t have any toilet or shower facilities but this wasn’t a problem for us as we had everything we needed in our caravan. It would be great if there were some fully serviced pitches but this is a nice to have rather than something we were unhappy with. I would say this site suits adults more than families are there isn’t much to do for kids and there were very few kids on the site when we visited despite it being summer holidays. We will be back and will be recommending this site to friends and family.

Hoopers Hoops

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 14:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer