Borrowdale Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

great for a getaway

we were welcomed by the very helpful site staff who were cheerful and friendly the site we chose was level and of a good size the site is a peaceful and well laid out site with trees all around and a little walk takes you to the lake paths but make sure you have anti bite cream ! we didnt and we were unlucky to become lunch ,dinner,and supper for the midges who were very hungry by the no of bites we had ! we still enjoyed our stay and would return again as the area is fantastic and this site is a credit to the wardens who make it such a special place to visit thanks for a terrific stay.

FRANKYDEANO

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 09/09/2021 16:44

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect one night stay, wish it could have been longer

After spending the day in Keswick we tried here for a night's stay even though the sign said full...we were in luck they'd had a cancellation, the site was beautiful and our pitch was close to the path to the lake and had plenty of room for our awning, chair's etc. We had a great walk by the lake, a brilliant night's sleep (it was so peaceful and relaxing) and woke up to bird song... perfect The motorhome amenities were great to waste emptying and rubbish all in one area and easily accessible. I would highly recommend this site and will be back again for longer with the kayak.

Juleskev

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 20:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site

This was our first visit to Borrowdale and the site lived up to our expectations. All the pitches are lovely but they are amongst trees so will be shady. We chose pitch no 7 and we’re very happy there for 4 nights. We had a visiting red squirrel. A short walk takes you to the south shore of Derwent Water, the scenery is just so spectacular. You can stroll for miles towards Keswick, we caught the launch from Hawes and then got the bus back to the Lodore Hotel. Lunch in the Cottage Cafe in Grange was lovely. There are many paths leading out of the site to walk dogs and we will have to return to explore them some more! There was a well stocked shop at reception and local hotels where you can eat out when Covid restrictions are fully lifted. A peaceful tranquil site.

Debs58

Campervanner from Gwynedd

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 18:33

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Summer in the Lakes

Just back from 4 nights here. It is a great location but access can be interesting! A few thoughts for others. The main road along to Borrowdale runs a double decker bus service with a 'tree clipper' fixed upstairs. Beware if heading towards site the bushy hedges on your left have high stone walls in them in places so try not to meet the bus at narrow points to pass it. Also be wary of the bus that comes past the site. We came back on it and he does not hang about and has brakes that would do Harry Potters night bus proud! Avoid being on the section from the bridge to the site if it is on there. 77a times are on line. On site when touring the pitches available we brushed a low hanging tree and pulled the heater vent cowl off. Thanks to the warden and some tall steps, sorted but look up as well as in front! We had a traditional summer rain storm and found the trees above us carried on dropping water all night so we moved to a more open roof design pitch! Ducatto based Mhomes may need to check the windscreen scuttle holes as we had half a tree and needles deposited there! Hike up to Catbells from further up the lake, very busy but if you pass the first summit and carry on you soon loose the crowds. No smooth soled shoes folks as the rock sections you climb are highly polished from hundreds of shoes, it is known as the ankle breaker walk for a reason. The lakeside hike to Keswick is lovely, even in a monsoon! We popped up at Portinscale, then discovered Keswick was another 40 mins walk so hopped the bus back to the site gate. Walked to the bridge next day and got the double decker in to the town. Sit upstairs at the front for fairground style thrills and bits of tree! Saw 1 red squirrel, 1 grey one (the warden is tracking him!) and lots of birds so put some food out and see who arrives. The right food is on sale in the shop. Wardens keep this wonderful site in pristine condition.

TonyBack

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 10:53

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fourth Visit and won’t be the last!

Not visited the site midsummer before, usually Spring or Autumn. Again it didn’t fail to disappoint, especially as we were blessed with gorgeous weather ( dare I say maybe a bit too hot)! The very short walk from the site to the Lake was welcome for our dog for a cooling swim, walked early morning and late evening when cooler and it was so quiet and peaceful. The lake was well down, we could actually walk quite a way on the shore. It’s such a lovely walk through the Manesty woods, and we for once didn’t need boots or wellies! Or, walking the other way to the Chinese Bridge. So many different routes. Handy for many fell walks too.The Wardens are great very helpful and chatty. Shop sells plenty of basics. They had made such an effort with the entrance full of tubs, baskets etc looked so colourful and welcoming.. Although pitches in the trees which was actually good with the heat, dappled sun peeps through so very pleasant.. The only reason not given full marks for families, is due to,unless, you have the great weather for swimming canoeing etc or the kids enjoy fell walking not much else to do. The service points are quite away from some of the pitches which may be difficult for some. Need to follow CAMC directions to site, and Grange can be a bit tight if cars parked. Can recommend the Swinside Inn for food, the short drive there,below Cat Bells and the side of the Lake is lovely. Just love this site and if availability is available Autumn we will be back.

Highamites

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 27/07/2021 19:18

51 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Spectacular dawn chorus

This is the one Club site we have visited time and time again. In fact, we’ve visited it more often than all other Club sites put together. For us, it is in the perfect location for scenery and walks. It couldn’t be bettered. We’ve already booked to go back later this year. What I really appreciated this year was the dawn chorus. I’ve often wanted to listen to it but never been able to drag myself out of bed just before dawn. At this site you don’t need to because you can enjoy the dawn chorus from your caravan bed, then roll over and go back to sleep until it’s a sensible time to get up. Another bonus this year is the site shop accepts card payments (including ApplePay). The shop is really well stocked and had everything we needed.

MountainView

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 07:28

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peace & tranquility

Booked for just one night in new van Lovely peaceful site with extremely helpful wardens Squirrels, deer & woodpecker spotted on my early morning walk Only live 40 mins away by the sea but live woodland areas. Be back soon

ScreenNameDA010C286F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 17:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous site in the woods

What a lovely secluded site - we stayed in a pitch surrounded by the woods, just lovely with views of the red squirrels. Great walk to Derwent Water with board walks to nearby hotels and also into the village. Beware of the tight entrance across the bridge off the road from Keswick, especially challenging if you have a big outfit, at weekends when walkers seem to park everywhere. Nevertheless a beautiful spot and as always great friendly wardens.

gillie1864

Reviewed on 18/06/2021 10:07

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Borrowdale

For us, this was a delightful first visit. We prefer peace and quiet and the site is perfect in these respects. The pitches are generally well spaced out. The whole site is wooded so there is no outlook but it does mean that the site is well-screened which, personally, I think is a good thing. There is no toilet block so it is probably of less interest to families and this might be seen as a benefit by others. A bonus was the local bus service that runs between Keswick and Buttermere and which stops at the entrance to the site.

Dagraton

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/06/2021 19:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic!

Just back from a 3 night stay at Borrowdale. Beautiful peaceful setting amongst the trees. We stayed on pitch 27, excellent and totally secluded. Just a two minute walk out the campsite down to Derwent Water. Recommend doing the circular walk… it is closer to 12 miles rather than 10 if you stop to wander around Keswick. Went for a drink at Lodore Falls which is in a great location. Club shop is well stocked with all the basics including eggs, milk, bread, bacon and sausages. Yes the drive down from Keswick is a bit hairy but totally manageable and was not as bad as we had been expecting! Just take it slowly. We will definitely be back.

Stratman64

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/06/2021 07:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer