Chester Fairoaks Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

This really is a fantastic site in the perfect location to explore all that this area has to offer. Lovely welcome from the South African couple when we arrived, who gave plenty of information on local attractions, pubs, shops and bus timetables. All the facilities were lovely and clean. All heated and cosy. Spacious pitches. Walking distance to nice pubs and Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet where you can get the buses for trips to Chester and Liverpool. Good idea to take a torch for the walk back to the site after a day out, as the last part of the walk doesn't have a pavement. Not the sites fault! Would definitely use this site again.

coljujones

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/02/2024 22:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Miles too expensive

Miles too expensive for what it is. Basically a car park. Very wet poor drainage, most signs fallen over, roadways not well defined and need maintaining, Bins (skips)only on exit, a bit of a walk with yr rubbish. Washrooms ok. Dog area was small and lacked drainage so un able to use. Will not be returning.

upson1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/12/2023 19:36

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Site lake

On arriving greeted by male warden with a very poor attitude. Site was full of puddles. lighting very poor at night.when going to the shower block. Positives Lady warden was very helpfull in the shop . reception. overall this was the worst caravan and motor home site we have stayed on shame because the clubs other sites have been excellent.

steve judy

Reviewed on 30/11/2023 09:00

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Needs improvement

Okay so it was November but lots of the pitches were flooded as were a lot of the site roadways. These all need raising/levelling so they are higher than the surrounding grass. Gone are the bins at each water point - there is 1 bin compound only and its near the exit so its a fair walk to take your rubbish from pitches at the other end of site. This is a so called environment saving to reduce bin bags but imo its just another job saving for Wardens that's now passed onto guests. This site is no good for dogs because there is nowhere to walk them. There is a dog exercise area but its about the size of a tennis court and muddy. The road to the site has no footpath & is 50mph so not really safe to walk any distance to find better walking for them. Onto the positives its close to Cheshire Oaks if you like shopping & the Rake Hall pub next door was really nice & the food good.

Glenno

Reviewed on 16/11/2023 14:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Not perfect but Okay

The negatives: Site could do with some surface drainage, large puddles on roadway after rain. The water to the basins in gents was not very hot, just above luke warm. Only one amenities block and it closes every day between 10:15 and 12:00 just when departures need it most (there is a "service toilet"). The pitches seem a little tight - with my caravan positioned between the posts as required only just enough room to open the car door when parked alongside. The positives: Good location for city visits. Good mobile and TV reception. Close to pubs (although torch required at night and no pavements on 40mph limit road). Close to Cheshire Oaks Outlet village, if that is your kind of thing.

Holybrook

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 05/11/2023 14:31

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing stay

Stayed for 3 night very good location for shops ect being coming for years to this site mostly bank holidays and school holidays. Very disappointed by site this year all hard stand pitched where in a poor state and in need of lot of attention and maintenance. Toilet facility looking very very tired and again no maintenance and attention to detail being given to these facilities. Night lighting to the camp non existence so if you need water do it in the day time. I was lucky it was a full moon when I wanted to top my water up one evening so I could see what I was doing!!! All wardens very pleasant but didn't see much off them really as they no longer come round to pick the bins up around the camp you have to go to a main bin compound at the exit of the camp. would of been nice to have some pumpkins at reception or something to celebrate the season. This camp used to do so much for the Halloween season in the past.

tipsey23

Reviewed on 04/11/2023 08:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Three cheers for the wardens!

I fail to understand why some people who obviously have delusions of grandeur and self importance find it necessary to castigate the wardens on this site for issues that most of the general public would regard as absolute nonsense. Whilst I realise the wardens are employed by the CAMC to undertake the maintenance, cleanliness and efficient running of the site they should not be expected to deal with some of the worst traits my fellow campers feel is acceptable. For example on our latest visit to this site we witnessed a who man disappeared into the male toilets carrying a full dog poo bag. Two minutes he reappeared minus the poo bag. Yep too lazy to find the appropriate receptacle he had dumped it in the waste paper bin! How about soiled nappies stuffed behind the cysteine or human faeces clinging to the lid of the chemical disposal point. Let’s face it, it wasn’t the wardens! But who’s left to clean it up then try to maintain a happy smiling face? …The wardens! This site is immaculate, well maintained and well placed for loads of local attractions and eateries. The toilets, save for the actions of the individuals I have alluded to are pristine. Finally the wardens are lovely, friendly and very accommodating. So the next time you think one of them has been short with you or your precious pride has been hurt think again!

McLaren128

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2023 09:04

30 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

I don't complain often but with this site I have to.

First impressions - Strange to be greated by security guards at the entrance of the site. Not sure why, didn't ask. Doesn't look good but I guess if they had troubles in the past then it's reassuring to have them there. Negative points- I felt abit frustrated that my son (who is autistic) couldn't play soft tennis by our pitch. Even thou he was using a soft sponge ball (there wouldn't be any damage caused to any vehicle or to any awning) but was told off by a warden. Playground is hidden by trees so vision is blocked, there's no way of seeing them playing on thier own. So not very child friendly. Hot water wasn't hot as I like, other CAMC sites that we've stayed at have been hotter. Some club members/non club members didn't show any respect for the shower block. Disgusting toilets. Bins are by the exit. The walk out of the site- minor road but very busy, there's no pathway,very narrow grass verge to walk on. Ok if you are adult, but quite dangerous when you have a toddler and an autistic child at tow, as some vehicles speed along the road, with no consideration to the public. What it had going for it - A very nice pub called Rake Hall, which we stopped at for dinner on our first night. It's the first pub you come to, when walking out of the site towards Cheshire Oaks. Friendly staff and the site itself is looked after. Good location for Cheshire Oak retail outlet and Chester Zoo. A quiet and peaceful campsite. Would I return again? Probably not. This site isn't for us.

juniper22

Campervanner

Reviewed on 21/08/2023 09:13

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location but one or two problems for me.

Negatives: Toilet/showers/dishwashing all closing at 10.15am for 1hr 45 mins - peak time for use of facilities? Awkward on packing-up morning. Can't really see why areas can't be closed separately while cleaning takes place. One toilet left available but a queue had built up there while someone was in for about 15 minutes! Warden not able to tell me which way to direct TV aerial. Not at all the fault of wardens but toilets very messy - toilet paper, used and clean all over floor, cigarette butt at side of toilet pan, empty plastic bags ?? Toilet bowls not brushed out after use. New clothes labels and other litter in showers. A sink left full of dirty water. A poor reflection on club members - Is this how they leave their bathrooms at home? Positives: Remarkably quiet considering proximity to two motorways Buses to Chester and Liverpool nearby. Wirral coast nearby - great walks in/around W Kirkby. Chester zoo. Cinemas, restaurants, pubs nearby. Good range of books and dvds to borrow Useful info folders and maps. Plenty of water supply taps around. Generally good layout.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Usual club high standards

We booked in here the day before arrival to get away from a very disappointing stay at another ( non-club ) site. We had never been to this site before but we were reassured on arrival by the usual high standard of everything ( by comparison with where we had come from ). The only disappointment, as people who like to go for walks with our dog straight from the site, was that there are really no opportunities to do so. You walk out of the site onto what is a minor road but with quite a lot of traffic on it and often travelling quite fast. There is no footpath and only a narrow grass verge to walk on and even that disappears in places. There is quite a good off-lead area for dogs within the site but we want more than that for exercising our dog. So we did once venture out down the road and did discover an interesting area to walk the dog. Turn left out of the site and follow the road for about 200 metres until just after a sign indicating the end of the speed limit where there is a signposted public footpath off to the right along a track. After a short distance the track peters out into a field of long grass which the public footpath officially crosses but there is no route on the ground. However, our dog had a great time charging round in the long grass for half an hour. It was well worth the struggle along the road to get there. The site is close to a large Sainsburys and lots of other shops in a ‘designer outlet’ but it is too dangerous to walk there. It is only a 5 minute drive though.

David Gosling

Motorhomer from Durham

Reviewed on 14/08/2023 21:05

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer