Clachan Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A very peaceful and idyllic site

The Number Plate recognition system worked perfect for me, and I pitched up on my own on a location I selected. A lovely spot within the terraced pitches on this forested site. Road noise was more or less negligible, and as many of the pitches are seasonal, it was very quiet. I love these sites which have no facilities block as it avoids the busy, hustle bustle seen at many places and the to and fro to the block. The only negative is that the chemical disposal points need a bit of attention. The one closest to me was worn out with the sealant/mastic/filler on the corners being non existent and generally a bit scabby, and not appearing very hygienic . I will definitely return.

IainGill

Reviewed on 05/06/2023 21:03

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Special Site

Another visit to this jewel of a CC site. Yes, the road can be a bit noisy at times but the layout of the site is excellent and the woodland full of birds and birdsong, a perfect place to relax. The wardens were hard-working, helpful, very pleasant and kept the site as it should be, neither scruffy nor manicured. The waste-disposal facilities are way past their best and this requires prompt replacement by the Club - just because it's not a " flagship site" does not mean the facilities should be sub-standard. Sadly, there were the inevitable minority who refuse to keep their dog(s) on a lead. The ANPR entry system had some hiccoughs on the first couple of days we were there but, once that was sorted, it worked very well. Long may these simple sites exist in the Club's network.

Tarmachans

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/05/2023 11:08

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site... but

Stayed for the second time over Easter. This time I was very disappointed to find that the best pitches, furthest away from the road and to the rear of the site are all now Seasonal pitches and out of bounds to tourers. This being despite no seasonal pitches being shown on the site plan. I think the club need to update the site plan to clearly show that there are now a lot of pitches out of bounds to tourers. Wardens are constantly busy and maintain this lovely site to a high standard. Last time it was so peaceful, however now I had to use the pitch closest to the road which somewhat destroyed the quiet.

BennyDave

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/04/2023 15:41

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful and well kept site

We stumbled upon this site heading south and lovely lady accomodated us for the night. Barrier code entrance and we were informed of the site and were able to pick our own plot. Lady, sadly didnt catch her name was helpful and made sure we were ok. Facilities good and priced well. ehu,chemical waste water and waste. No toilet shower block but we were informed. We walked on the road toward village but need to be careful of passng cars. Well kept site no views as trees outline it but very comfortable

ScreenNameBAE6F15D3C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/08/2022 18:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Woodland site with red squirrels running around and red deer visible through the fence. Peaceful and relaxing with clean and easy to use facilities.

Easy to find peaceful and relaxing site. There are several seasonal pitches here but none of them were in use while we were there which added to the peacefulness. We saw red squirrels, red deer and had lovely views of the river valley from out pitch. The site was well tended by the staff with the plants and flowers looking lovely. It is very near to killing where you can spend at least on day exploring and if you're feeling fit than you can climb the hill behind the town by parking in the town hall carpark and setting off through the children's play area. It is fairly steep all the way up and all the way down so wear good walking shoes or boots and don't rush. The views of loch Tay from the top of the hill are tremendous.

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Fab helpful staff

We have stayed here a number of times and it is a fave stop in Scotland. The staff are so friendly and helpful but they outdid themselves this time by reuniting us with some clothes that had been put in the rubbish bins by accident. They retrieved them and got them boxed and will be posting them home for us.

venuscalling

Reviewed on 03/08/2022 21:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Jubilee Weekend

Had 6 great nights at the Clachan over the Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. This is a gem of a site with peace and quiet being the best point. The volunteer wardens are a credit to the site, always on the go grass cutting, strimmering and making the new dog walk. They have also made a herb garden using old fire buckets - very attractive entrance point. The herbs are good as well. Checking in at Maragowan is not an issue for us as everyone is processed on a speedy basis. Whilst this site is a little bit out of the village it is certainly within walking distance. Aslo there are several good cycle runs closeby. Will definitely be booking our third visit this year.

Hurricane

Motorhomer from Perthshire

Reviewed on 09/06/2022 11:48

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

We had two nights here on our way up to the Highlands and two again on the way back, the first two we had a lower pitch and found it was a bit close to the road, although not a major issue, we stayed on one of the higher pitches at the top of the site on the way back and found it much quieter with a nice view. Janet and Andrew were very friendly, helpful, and welcoming on both visits. Checking in at Marragowan was not a problem for us, everything was organised well by all of the wardens. Killin is a very nice little village, well worth a visit. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Scotland.

MANDKPC

Reviewed on 27/05/2022 08:23

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant quiet site

Helpful, but unobtrusive warden (Andrew, if I remember). Road into village is busy and not really suitable for walking. You can walk accross the lovely golf course and have a drink or food in the clubhouse.

georgelister

Reviewed on 23/04/2022 17:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Tour of Scotland

Lovely quiet site, ideal location for 2 nights. Don’t like the process to book in at other site as at time of arrival there was a queue & had to stop on road, not ideal as on a bend! Surely at busy times they should let vans in and pitch up.The male warden at Maragowan needs training on his customer service skills, as smile costs nothing and wasn’t very helpful as we had issues with our caravan tyre. The volunteer warden at Clachan was very chatty!

Julia1000

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/10/2021 07:22

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer