Clachan Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyable stay

We stayed at Clachan for three nights whilst touring Scotland. Had to book in at Maragowan Site and people where queuing when we arrived, so parked in public car park in Killin and walked back to book in. By then queue had dispersed and we were welcomed by a very nice warden who then directed us up the road to Clachan. Again the site was quite full, the warden there was helpful and informative and we enjoyed our stay on this wooded site. Access by foot to path to Killin was not obvious but we found our way across a field and golf course. Several cafes and shops in the village and an excellent Co-op. Well worth a visit but we have a small motor home and a car would have been useful!

Johno Rus

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/10/2021 10:50

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Quiet if unexpected!

Arrived here for a single night. Initially were confused by the 2 sites. Did find the female warden quite abrupt. The actual site was lovely, quite a tricky entrance and pitches are situated throughout the forest. Some are quite small and tricky to access. Very peaceful with good access by car to Killin. Enjoyed our takeaway from the Courie Inn.

ScreenName5BD50C0C51

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 16:50

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Far from the expected standard

On first visit the motorhome service area was closed. On second visit we were given a site that was too small, the previous occupant had run over the electric point because the site was too small, the mains electric did not work, the pitch was grass not what we thought we had booked and the site was sloping in two different locations. Not what we expect for a C& MH Club site.

Icybee

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 12:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful!!!!

When we arrived you had to book into the larger site about a mile away, where you are given a code to the barrier. Staff were really nice, chirpy, happy and helpful even though the poor chap was so busy! When we arrived at Clachan, we were surprised at the beauty of each pitch as well as the peace. It was so quiet. Plenty of birds, we were even lucky enough to spot a red squirrel! There are no facilities for washing up, toilets or showers which didn’t bother us at all! There was an information kiosk with so many leaflets with things to do pretty much all over Scotland. The dog walk is pretty through the trees but a little small but perfect for our little pooch though. No where really for a run, however with the surrounding countryside, who needs it. Would highly recommend!!!!!

NIKnSInBUD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 08:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

This site is in a great location and is really beautiful. The pitches can be challenging for twin axles without movers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay apart from as a previous reviewer stated the smell of raw sewage at certain times. While we were there the road was being used by a large number of noisy motor bikes but for the main the road was relatively quiet. The TV reception was non existent with a round status Ariel and although the site says there is wifi it is not site wide, On the whole a great site but it seems to be a dog magnet so if you don't like dogs yapping or barking then be warned. Also why does the club have a lead rule for dogs, and not enforce it, as it seems only the minority abide by it ??

Rhyl46

Caravanner from Clwyd

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 11:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good location

Good location, set far enough away from the A827 for it to not be noisy. Lots of trees on the site with plenty of bird life. Site is a particularly nice layout. Unfortunately when we arrived we had a choice of two pitches and ended up on 24. It absolutely stinks, from the motor home servicing point just down the hill. We’d advise anyone to avoid this part of the site. Eating your dinner outside with the smell of sewage isn’t particularly enjoyable. Shortest dog walk of any site we’ve ever stayed at so you’ll probably end up walking round the whole site with your pooch.

jimwillsher

Reviewed on 22/08/2021 18:35

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A good site in fabulous location

We stayed here for 3 nights during a very wet August. The site staff could not have been more warm in their welcome & generous in their hospitality. It is a beautifully located site in woodland above Killing, a picturesque village within the national park. Walks & climbs abound & the mixture of mountains, lochs and glens provides a stunningly attractive landscape. We were informed that the only walk into the village that didn't use the busy & narrow road was over two fields and through the golf course. We tried this once but the initial two field were only just passable & were full of grazing livestock. Consequently, we chose to drive into Killin on subsequent visits. The local Saltire Taxi service was very helpful & reliable when we ventured to local restaurants of an evening. We were humbled & impressed by the local community.

We (I!) lost out motorhome keys whilst on a walk up a mountain from Killin. Local shop owners & residents could not have been more helpful & caring. Remarkably, and to our absolute delight, we got them back via a couple who had picked them up on their way up the mountain & whom we met as they made their descent. We have rarely been so viscerally relieved & grateful! Due to the very heavy rain during our stay, we decided to move on a day earlier than planned so didn't get to taste the delights of the Courrie restaurant, which we were informed did the best food in town - an excuse for a return visit.

C N C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/08/2021 17:25

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful base for walks and climbs

Stayed for a week at this site, mainly walking in the local area and climbing Ben Lawers. Great site in a secluded location. It’s lack of facilities shouldn’t put you off: the peace and quiet here make it a gem of a site. It is possible to walking into Killin by going through that adjacent lodges, following their “dog walk” through the woods and then along the forest track until you pick up a faint path through the woods down to the road just before the pavement starts. Takes about 30 minutes, we’ll worth it, whereas the road is too busy to be a pleasant walk. Loads of routes in the local forestry commission land as well as the higher peaks round Ben Lawers make this a great place for walkers and hill climbers.

ScreenName3CB0A2D28D

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/08/2021 20:54

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing Clachan

We wanted a restful break and have just spent 10 nights at the Clachan site which proved an excellent location to achieve that objective. The pitches are reasonably well separated although access to and egress from some of the grass pitches proved problematic for motorhomes following some heavy rain. The site was well maintained, the wardens were very helpful and the location is ideally suited to hillwalkers in providing access the the adjacent mountains. The single star for families relates to the adult only status of the site and the 3 star rating for facilities relates to the no toilet block provision which is clearly noted in the site description. However, I would draw attention to two aspects. A road is adjacent to the site and although daytime traffic flows were relatively light with nighttime flows were very low, any visitor easily disturbed by passing traffic should consider the implications. The site details advises that TV reception is good and a booster is available. A booster in my club experience refers to the provision of a connection in the electrical pillars to a hard-wired site-wide underground cable network . At Clachan, the booster is via a supplementary terrestrial booster mast on site. We have a Coachman VIP with a single omni-directional aerial similar to a car aerial. The combined system proved extremely unreliable and the TV was unwatchable. A number of supplementary satellite dishes were in use on site and it is assumed that these provided a satisfactory signal. Owners with a similar single wire omni-directional caravan aerial should be aware of the poor reception and it is recommended that the club amend the site details to clarify the form of the booster system provided.

Stewart Paton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2021 17:04

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous

Don’t hesitate, this is a charming site, the wardens keep it immaculate, they are both welcoming and friendly,full of information and tips. There is not a toilet block here, it’s not important to us, as we normally use our own anyway. It’s half the price of the site down the road, always worth considering. Can’t praise this site enough, and as yet no midges.

llancer

Reviewed on 13/07/2019 10:54

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer