Forfar Lochside Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Forfar Second Visit 2023

Second visit this year to fabulous site . Lovely location. Easy walking distance to town and couple of minutes walk to supermarket. Very very well maintained site. Wardens do a fantastic job here. They are very pleasant , helpful and friendly and we're delighted they will be remaining in Forfar in 2024. . There is a lovely circular walk around a pond accessed from a gate on site. It's 2½ miles and is flat ideal for people less mobile. You can watch rugby or cricket en route if games are on. All in all a great place to be and we may return before Winter shutdown.

uphallster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 21:02

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous site

We stayed on a tent pitch. Drainage was excellent and the pitches are close to the toilets. The site is immaculate and well maintained. Wardens on site were very friendly and helpful. Location of the site is great for dog walking as it is right on the Forfar Loch park, also easy walk into the town for eating out buying groceries etc. Had lunch at the Little Green cafe prices were excellent as was the food and service. Will definately visit this site again when we have our new van.

Tricia Hart

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/08/2023 16:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

peaceful site with good sized pitches and great facilities

This was may 3rd or 4th visit to the site as I have an elderly relative nearby. I really like the layout and the pitch size, plus the proximity to Forfar town and I'm sure I'll be back. Just 3 slight niggles (but not nearly enough to stop me returning!) Please install some sort of paved path to the loo block across the grass! I'm sure this has been raised by others and I know I have mentioned it before. It's not great having to walk across the wet grass when the rest of the site is so well thought out. Probably a few too many notices now...all over the walls of the loo block and the dishwashing area; about recycling, pitch spacing, energy efficiency etc etc. Yes these are all very important issues and you should draw campers attention to them; but not on every available free space because they then become invisible, like wallpaper (literally) And lastly, maybe he was having a bad day but i did find the male warden pretty brusque and unsmiling, whilst the lady was really nice and friendly and welcoming.

jehpesto

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/08/2023 13:22

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Well maintained

Third visit , and will return, Love the care and attention to the flowers and herbs. Very pleasant surroundings, enhanced by the care of the wardens. Could not fault this site, don't forget to hunt out the keys to access the Castle hill, in the centre of town, also worth visiting the Restenneth priory just out of town

2Inky

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 16:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site and ideal for families

stayed for 2 nights, first time with our 3 year old grandson. Loved it, campsite staff are so friendly and the facilities are immaculate. Great park on site and visited the Monikle Country Park for the day, great adventure playground. Then visited Longparke farm shop and cafe, lovely lunch and another children's play park which was great. Highly recommend this site.

gavinbrowne

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2023 18:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Friendly welcome!

I know Forfar well as my daughter & her family live here however I had last stayed at the site approx 3yrs ago. The site and its ambience have been immeasurably improved by the demolition & site remediation of the derelict former sports centre which used to stand proximate to the site! Vicki & Phil are very welcoming and friendly wardens, working hard to keep the site immaculate - this site has the cleanest chemical disposal point I've ever used (& they're always impressive on CMC sites anyway!). Forfar itself offers several walking routes and the site being next door to Forfar Loch is very handy for dog walking. Murton Farm Tearoom & Nature Trail is also good for families/gentle walking. Shopping in Forfar offers the full range of supermarkets including the German discounters; the Community Cafe offers delicious and reasonably priced food. Forfar is very placed to offer fast routes to Dundee (V&A, The Jute Museum) and Perth for those looking for a day out further afield. For serious walkers the area abounds with options not too far away including the odd Munro or two to be bagged.

Mrs Hobby

Reviewed on 22/07/2023 16:29

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

This caravan park is excellent and ideally located.

Visited this club site from 16 June 2023 t0 23 June 2023 and was very impressed with the site cleanliness with specific attention to the facilities block which was immaculate. The wardens Jackie and Phil do a first class job here in keeping the site to a high standard on a daily basis. The site is also in a great location for going into the town of Forfar and also for tourist attractions in the surrounding area. The only negative comment I have is first impressions when you arrive - the facilities block has badly flaking paint on the roof soffit and really could be in the need of re-painting - as they say first impressions are very important. On saying this I have already booked up for a weeks holiday in 2024. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CLUB CARAVAN PARK.

DouglasandNancy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2023 10:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Just gets better!

We’ve been coming here in our Motorhome for several years and never been let down or disappointed. However in the recent past we have noticed subtle changes that simply help to improve the overall experience of staying at Lochside. There is far more information available about the surrounding area including local eateries, places to visit, take away menus, public transport timetables and useful contact telephone numbers. Booking in is very slick and painless which prevents unnecessary queues and frustration. Books and DVDs are available for those long rainy days and reception has more on offer particularly for our four legged friends. The wardens Jackie and Phil make you feel welcome and they always find time to have a ‘blether’. Phil’s grass cutting skills are a beauty to behold…he should start selling tickets! We were blessed with fantastic weather on this trip which made our short stay all the more enjoyable. One wee negative…..the Wi Fi which I understand is being upgraded. We will be back.

McLaren128

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/06/2023 08:22

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site

This is a lovely site and the location is great. It's just a short walk into Forfar where there are lots of eateries and shops. The site has really good facilities that are lovely and clean and warm (maybe a bit too warm for me). The wardens are friendly and helpful. I'll be back later in the year to get out on the loch with my paddle board.

ClubMemberDE78429330

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/06/2023 20:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First visit to Lochside

Well.....First visit to Lochside in Forfar and to say we were impressed is an understatement. Beautifully maintained grounds not to mention spotless toilet and shower block. Cleanest by far of any site we've been to in last couple of years. Friendly and very helpful wardens . First outing this year so was very happy to have chosen this site. Easy walking distance to town centre, next to fantastic country park. Lots of good birdwatching and lovely park next to site for children in a very safe environment Not too big a site so not too far from amenities. Will definitely be back.

uphallster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/04/2023 22:19

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer