Gaer Hyfryd Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Overnight Stay

We only stayed at Gaer Hyfryd for one night as a stop over. We received an email a day or so before we arrived notifying us of our pitch allocation, upon arrival we received a lovely welcome and all site rules and Amenities explained. There was a small area for the children to play, with a set of goal posts as our children love a game of footy. There was also a basketball net too that kept them occupied. The site was very well kept with some lovely flower beds. The toilets and showers were small yet well kept and didn’t prove a problem to us during our stay. Although we didn’t take our dog there were plenty of guests with dogs and a very large field for dog walking. We found access to the site was very easy and plenty of room to manoeuvre on to the pitch. We will certainly be making plans to stay again next summer for a few days whilst we try out Bala lake.

CraigKatieP

Reviewed on 27/08/2021 22:55

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice little site, shame about the cows

Nice little site. Communal facilities are basic but clean and bright. On-site warden very helpful. 16amp supply always welcome. During our stay in August the stay was marred by the cacophony of noise from the cows. The site is surrounded - particularly on one side just a few yards away over the hedge with large cows sheds. The animals never stopped all Sunday afternoon, then started again at 10pm Sunday night and 6am Monday morning! Blasted things. Such a shame as it’s put us off returning. NB the 30 minute walk to Cynwyd and the Blue Lion is worth it. No decent pubs in Corwen.

ScreenNameBB3189330A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 19:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not really a CAMC site

Nice enough area, and the site is located in a convenient location just off the A5. Close enough to be convenient, far away enough to be quiet and peaceful. There is a decent farm shop complex within walking distance, but not much more that is walkable (Corwen is, but via the A5). Each pitch has it's own water/waste/TV/240v hook-up, but there is no motorhome service point, there are pleasant views from the site. The site is listed as a CAMC site, but it isn't really. You can't book directly from the CAMC website or app, or check availability, instead you have to contact the site owner. There is no information room, and toilet block (although fine) is not up to the usual club standards. The hard-standings are not the usual gravel, I don't really know what's been used, but they get messy when wet and you'll tread muck into your unit. During our visit there was a single warden, who I don't think had been appointed through the normal club methods. A good little site and convenient for the many attractions in this lovely area.

ScreenNameD1A9ACE89B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 12:27

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Little Site

Just stayed here for a week, what a great site. We have left the Caravan there for another week with my parents staying in it, which was arranged prior to our booking with the owners. Nothing was to much trouble for them. Met the owner on arrival, she was very pleasant and helpful in directing us to our pitch. The pitches are all serviced. The site is clean and tidy, nicely cut grass. Showers are brilliant and the toilet block is spotless. All the facilities you need for a stay are by the entrance. There is a full field for dogs to have a good run in. Take a lead for the TV aerial and plug straight into the socket on the post, all the channels you will need. Mick the site warden is a top bloke and around all the time, he is extremely helpful with any issues that may arise with peoples kit. One site I will be going back too.

Hudders71

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 16:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful little site

We have just returned from a long weekend at this lovely little site. We were very impressed. Lovely people and very clean facilities. The dog walk was perfect for our 3 Labradors. Will definitely visit again

ScreenNameC0423E9133

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/07/2021 12:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Can't Fault it

Arrived 2md June 21,,,On arrival we were greeted by the site warden, a very polite & nice guy, showed us to our pitch & said any issues or help I'm here. Toilets & showers very clean & regularly cleaned. Showers were very controllable from luke warm to really hot. Well maintained site & we will definetly go there again.

ScreenName028F520A08

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/07/2021 22:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

OUR FIRST VISIT TO NORTH WALES - WE WILL RETURN

After paying our deposit for a stay at this site on the 11th June, I read the reviews (not the latest) only to find that some reviews were not very complimentary about the site so we were feeling rather nervous about our up coming stay. Well after our 8 days stay i feel i need to leave our own review. Upon arrival we were met by the warden, Mick. We had already found our pitch but he helped us pitch up and gave us all the usual site details etc, and to contact him should we have any problems (which we didn't). The view from our pitch looked into the field with baby Highland cattle and at the end of the site were sheep in the fields and lovely views. Mick was very friendly and we chatted most days and he even walked his dog with ours and gave us hints and tips on what was in the area, pubs, takeaways etc. We found the site very clean and tidy with a good dog walk. The toilet block was compact with only 3 toilets and two showers but plenty of hot water, and we never had a problem even though the site was full for most of our stay. It is a quiet location with a pub a mile and a half down the road into the village of Cynwyd where we had a warm welcome and met some characters. Mick even very kindly dropped us off at the pub on the Friday evening so we could watch the match and have a drink. The pub serves food on a weekend and although we did not eat there it looked good. We were out and about everyday and felt the site was in quite a central location to explore from. Caernarfon, Anglesey, Conwy, Porthmadog, Bala, Betws-y-Coed, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Llangollen were the places we visited with stunning scenery along the way, and certainly feel another trip is on the cards next year as we loved it.

howard pirie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2021 00:17

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

We'll be back!

Having read a few recent reviews, it was such a pleasant surprise to be greeted by one of the owners soon after we arrived. I cannot remember her name, but we had a lovely chat and she was in no rush to get round all of the guests on site. There is a warden on site, he has a caravan by reception, and he's doing a good job of keeping the place clean and tidy, including cutting the grass and cleaning the toilet blocks. Maybe, like many hospitality businesses, it has been a struggle to get everything in place following the horrendous period we have gone through, but we had no complaints whatsoever. We could be snobbish and moan about the toilet blocks not being up to the gold standard of club sites, but we were there to enjoy the countryside, peace and quiet, the views, and the sheep and highland cattle that were our neighbours. Every pitch is fully serviced with electric, water, drain, and TV booster, and we needed no leveling. We had five relaxed nights with no noisy guests, no roaming dogs or sheep, just friendly people who all seemed to be there to enjoy a break away from the hustle and bustle. We will be booking another stay for next year, probably a longer stay as we found it so laid back. If you want to eat out, there are plenty of options, particularly The Grouse which is less than ten minutes away and has indoor/outdoor eating with wonderful views, excellent food, and a nice selection of cask ales. There are shops in Corwen where you can buy most essentials, or take a short drive into Llangollen for more choice, including a good Aldi and Home Bargains next to each other. Before we book, or travel, we use a really handy thing called Google, it's amazing how much useful information you can find on there, although most of what was needed on site was pretty obvious. Plan ahead, make the effort, go on holiday to enjoy yourself, not to find fault, and life can be a joy every day. If you are looking for a big site with all the bells and whistles, Gaerhyfyd is not for you, but it is the perfect spot for some quality leisure time. We loved it!

JohnHonest

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 13:10

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

This site could be excellent but care and attention to detail absent.

We are always a bit wary when asked for full payment in advance, but as it was members only we booked. It rather feels as though the site owners want to do everything digitally. We received an e,mail a couple of days before arrival telling us our pitch number and listing all the site rules, this after we had fully paid for our stay. The approach road is very narrow and blind for about 500 metres just before the site and a warning of this would be helpful. Upon arrival, reception shed closed and virtually no information of any sort displayed. Only one small notice about distancing. No details of the area or shops or services or places of interest We had been instructed to pitch with near side rear corner to peg, presumably for proximity to service bollard. The site guide said good T.V but it ought to be emphasised that this is not via your aerial but from the booster hook up. We had never come across the type of E HU before and after trying to connect for 20 minutes we asked an adjacent caravanner who showed us the routine and said it had taken them about 2 hours to figure it out. Not sure you should need to use grips to turn the hook up on switch due to its stiffness, Again no printed instruction about how to work the connection. There was no protocol for use of the facilities and no sanitiser available. We never saw the owner or anyone connected with the site in six days. It felt rather like they were running a big C.L. The toilet block is however excellent having been totally refurbished over the winter. The disposal point likewise is new, The pitches are rather narrow but all weather, but if you have an awning, your towcar will need to park on the grass or across the front of your pitch. The location is lovely with views in all directions and very quiet. It is probably significant that no more than ten pitches were occupied up to the Friday and then no more than twenty out of thirty eight and this in late May after restrictions were eased. This site could be so much more if the owners showed interest in their customers and provided more information all round. The reception shed is redundant as we never saw anyone in it.

45 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Good location but not up to standard of Club sites

38 units formally set in a field within farmland and scenic views. Good location for visiting Bodnant etc. However falls well short of usual Club standards. No wardens on site, no information on site, no entrance security. The toilets although clean are dated and contain only 2 water closets and 2 showers (each). Also with capacity of 38 units when approaching this number has feeling of being very cramped and unattractive. Would not recommend as up to usual standard of an affiliated site of the Caravan and Motorhome Club.

Phil and Gwen

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 29/05/2021 19:38

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer