Knaresborough Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Knaresborough Caravan Club Site

Just returned from our first week-end visit to this site. Great location just outside Knaresborough and if you're energetic the town is walkable (around 45mins). However what is very close to this site is Nidd Gorge a National Park where you can follow various paths, some along the riverside, to Knaresborough. This journey is around 4 miles but is not too taxing and it takes in some wonderful views and forestry. You come to two great attractions one being "Mother Shipton's Caves" and the other being the "Ugly Duckling Tearooms" the latter is where you can get that well deserved Cup of Tea or Coffee and a wide selection of Cakes! Being motor-homers the ability to get to attractions and towns etc is important to us as we prefer to leave our unit on the pitch and explore on foot. Knaresborough C&MC site doesn't disappoint it's easy to get to, although the road leading up from Knaresborough can get quite congested due to extremely narrow and twisty sections where passing traffic can be a bit disconcerting, but if buses and lorries can get through then you shouldn't have to much difficulty, just take that extra bit of care when negotiating the blind bends. On arrival we were greeted by the ever helpful and diligent Warden, and the only downside that he could give us was that the on site Bar/Restaurant "The Wanderer" was sadly closed due to lack of staff. This was a downer as we had heard glowing reports about it. We did find however a great dog friendly Pub with a restaurant called "Guy Fawkes Arms" in Scotton Village which is about a 10min easy walk from the site, and is well worth the visit. The site itself is well laid out into various sectors with the amenity blocks convenient for all. We can't report in detail about these as like a lot of visitors we now only use our own toilet and shower, but I can see no reason why they shouldn't live up to the high standard that seem to prevail at C&MC sites. The pitches are well maintained and mostly quite level. There is a lovely enclosed door exercise field where our four-legged friends can run around and also enjoy themselves. We only had one minor issue with our stay at Knaresborough and unfortunately we have also seen this happening at other sites, and we mean no disrespect, but it is the number of large caravan and car units that now seem to ignore the spacing rule and park their caravans away from the pitch marker to get their caravan, car and awning onto the pitch. Having previously had a twin axle caravan and large 4x4 towing vehicle I know how it is sometimes a squeeze even on the the larger pitches, but the pitch marker is there for a reason. We loved our week-end at this site and will add it to the list of our "Must Visit Again".

MJD47

Campervanner from South Humberside

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 19:26

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Amazing Place

There is too much to list for this site. Great stay, Great staff who were helpful and friendly. Food is good and the beer too. It's easy to get too and a nice area to visit. The toilet block was clean and well looked after. I will be back next year for a longer stay.

StevenK2104

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 05/09/2021 11:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great small site, will be back!

Stayed 2 nights. Booked our 1st Service pitch as it was all that was left, usual good standard, as were all the other facilities. Ate in The Wanderer for my partners birthday, really nice food and a reasonably priced bottle of wine! Walked into Knaresborough following the walk details provided by the site (ALL sites should provide these please), took around 1.15 hrs, lovely through the woods and some off lead for our pup. The dog walk is small but pretty good apart from those dog owners that don't pick up!! Also walked the 10 mins to local pub in Scotton for a pint. We really enjoyed the site and area, we have already booked to return! 😃😃🐶 Only improvements I could make would be, More hooks and or a shower curtain in the cubicles and a table or two that allows dogs inside the pub when weather isn't suitable for sitting outside. See you soon!

JuShei

Campervanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 14:20

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Loverly site

This was our first visit to this site and I now know why it is so popular. The site is quite small but is very quiet, peaceful and spotlessly clean. There is a kiddies play area and dog walking area. The wardens are very friendly and do a fantastic job maintaining the site. There was no evidence of the undesirable visitors mentioned by someone in another review, it had all been cleaned up by the wardens. The Wanderer Bar serves really good food and the beers are pretty good too. The only criticism I have is that dogs were not allowed inside the Wanderer, which I found poor as the club is generally dog friendly. The reason given was due to COVID??? Thankfully the weather was kind to us and we were able to eat and drink sat at one of the tables outside. We would certainly visit again but it will have to be in the summertime unless the dog policy is changed.

gvw

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 18:51

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Nice site let down by poor security

Had booked to stay at the site for two nights, but an hour after we had arrived several vehicles forced their way on to the site and the occupants of the these units proceeded to cause noise and disturbance to the legitimate users. The police were called, but declined to attend, and all the site services were locked to prevent abuse and damage. Many pitches decided to leave that night, but I'd had a drink so we had to stay locked in our van until the morning before cutting short our holiday and heading home. Clearly, if you want to break onto CAMC sites and cause trouble, there's not much anyone can do to stop you.

ScreenName450A31039F

Campervanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 18:02

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful as ever!

We have just had a most enjoyable stay at this lovely site (our seventh visit). We stayed on a Serviced pitch for the first time and fully appreciated the facilities although the traffic noise was much more evident than when we stayed on a Standard pitch. This said, it didn't stop us from relaxing and spending time with family. The wardens were always busy and always friendly. The site was beautifully maintained and the floral display outside of Reception was very welcoming. Knaresborough is just over a mile away and the quaint village of Ripley is 3 miles from the site. Both offer lovely views and walks and the Marigold Cafe at the side of the River Nidd is a must. The service and quality of food is first class. Rowing boat hire is also available from the Cafe. Care must be taken when approaching the site from Knaresborough as there is a high stone wall on a bend which narrows making it difficult to see oncoming traffic!

TEM

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 10:39

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous Club Site

This site is just fabulous. From booking into Reception to the on-site staff. Clean facilities, great spaces and very friendly. Information centre full of everything you could need and the local walk to Knaresborough a must. The bistro was just brilliant for me on my own and far exceeded my expectations. The Sunday dinner was just amazing and the best I’ve had in a while. Every staff member in the Bistro we’re polite courteous and friendly. I had two evening meals in there and would highly recommend. A big thank you to the staff who made this visit a special place after a recent bereavement. 5 stars thank you. I will definitely be back for a further visit.

Deb A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/08/2021 09:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A really lovely site

We had a lovely stay for 3 nights on this site. We arrived after a long drive to a super open pitch, with hedging rather than trees. The Wanderer was open so we had fish n chips takeaway, which was generous portions and very nice. An immaculate site, with really friendly, warm wardens. We have a dog and walked into Knaresborough and around the Castle both days, with lovely walks in the Nydd George. The site is great for walking and the information has details on walks around the area. Scotton is the local village that’s quite nice to explore. A great site and stay, we will return, thank you. Aug 2021

Deniste

Reviewed on 11/08/2021 07:22

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic Site.

A lovely site local to us for a quick weekend break. A great walk through the Nidd valley into Knaresbrough makes it great for Motorhomes. We arrived Friday night deciding to take advantage of the bistro on site, I am always a little nervous eating out as I am coeliac so usually lots of questions to ask about Gluten free options and preparation. The young waiter (Will) went out of his way to check and explain all of my options, I overall felt the restaurant had good knowledge of allergy’s and delivered advice in a helpful friendly manner. We will definitely return for another meal in the future. The facilities on site as always were immaculate and our two dogs enjoyed the enclosed dog walk area. A great site with everything you need on the doorstep.

Ellie Eldiss

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/08/2021 08:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site & Bistro

We stay at Knaresbrough regularly and have done so for many years we love the site & Bistro . We use the Bistro every time we stay and have always found the Bistro staff to be very polite and friendly especially Will who is alway happy to chat if not busy as are all the staff . It is great to be able to have a drink and a meal after a day out and chat to other members it is a great facility to have especially if you are in a motorhome . Surely if you are not happy with a member of the staff should you not have spoken to the Manager who would have been given the chance to speak to the staff member ! or indeed spoken to the person you are accusing of having an attitude problem . He may not of realised that he was being offensive towards you . It would have been kinder & nicer to point out to the young lad that he was offending you and giving him a chance to apologise before naming him on a Web site ! We can not wait for our next visit . 😊

N700JAF

Reviewed on 06/08/2021 07:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer