Willingcott Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A good site for Woolacombe Bay.

I stayed here in my camper van as a single lady for 6 nights. It was pleasant. Had to move halfway through to quieter spot, but then it was fine. Staff were lovely. I also enjoyed the information room. Shame about Woolacombe Bay car park prices - mine was £10. Plus, being a spring tide I couldn't find the sea for 2 days! Would definitely stay again. Very good value for me on economy pitch. £100 all in.

Joy Broderick

Campervanner

Reviewed on 29/05/2024 17:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

4-day visit

We had 4 nights here staying on a hard standing in the lower part of the site, the upper part being a bit featureless. The site’s main asset is the tarmacked Tarka path/cycleway which follows a disused RW line right past the site to Ilfracombe. All walks start and finish on it. On days one and two we walked into Woolacombe but by different routes and on the third day we walked into Ilfracombe. There are regular bus services to Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Braunton, Barnstaple from a bus stop that is a short hop along the Tarka Way.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/05/2024 18:04

77 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Highly recommended

My wife and I stayed at this site from 2nd to 9th Sept 23 very nice site clean tidy polite friendly staff there to help when needed the usual stuff you would find on club site. A nice touch which I have not seen before is in the information room they had printed the main supermarkets postcodes so you knew where they were. (A heads up if you decide to go there is aim for the B3343 turn left at the pink house short approach road to entrance to site) 10 out of 10 all round

Nicholas Guest

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 16:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another lovely stay

Another great stay. This time we headed to the top of the site, felt a little closer to the toilets etc. Stayed on pitch 96 which had a good triangle of grass besides it, great for our pooch. As said by others, everything is immaculate. The wardens are friendly and helpful. There is a hut for borrowing beach items, bucket and spades, belly boards, windbreak, excellent idea. No shop unfortunately but no problems whatsoever. Wholeheartedly recommend.

SueAMay

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2023 17:16

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Mixed Opinions

We booked 10 nights at Willingcott Club Site : 15th - 25th August 2023. 2 adults & 3 children aged 6, 8, & 10. Grass pitch. Nice site, easy to find and entry road passable. Check-in was swift and staff friendly. Shower block is closed 10:30-12:30 daily. This includes all showers, main toilets and laundry. There are 2 services toilets open during this time & access to washing-up facilities. There is only one block and it is clean, but two hours is far too long. Why have 10 toilets, 10 showers, and 6 sinks when even in August this isn't a busy site. Close off half, and halve the cleaning time. Noise. - The wardens love to cut the grass here. Back and forth, back and forth, over the same old patch of grass. The ride-on mower is noisy, smelly and intrusive. Easily within 6 inches of our awning straps. The grass is even being cut when the toilets should be being cleaned!! Windy - Site is quite exposed so ensure you pack extra pegs. Area - Lovely beaches and walks nearby. Beautiful part of the UK. Overall, ok.

juk387

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2023 14:09

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautifully clean site & helpful, friendly wardens

Stayed here many years ago, it was very nice then, but now it is even better. The wardens take a lot of pride in the site and it shows. Spotlessly clean, very good facilities, and an excellent information room. There is also an area at the back of the toilet block to rinse off wetsuits. There was an earlier review that complained that the toilets were closed for cleaning between 10.30-12.30 - yes, they are but that is why they are so CLEAN - and they failed to mention that there are TWO service toilets open during that time. We had a fantastic stay, and can't wait to return. WELL DONE wardens - the site, the welcome we received (and the "not to worry to leave by 12pm" due to bad weather), all are a credit to the Caravan Club!

DaveKrisM

Reviewed on 25/07/2023 17:44

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect for exploring North Devon

This is a lovely well maintained site perfectly located to explore North Devon by foot, cycle or car. Public transport is a short walk away with buses to Wollacombe, Barnstable and Ilfracombe catered for. The site itself has a shower/toilet block which is immaculately maintained and probably the best maintained I have ever experienced. This does not detract from the large majority of CAMC sites that are also very well maintained but Willingcott is on another level. The site is spacious and open and again well maintained. There is an area close to reception where used and no longer wanted beach items can be left to be re-used such as wet suits, buckets and spades etc....what a great idea. The nearby coastal path is a fantastic way to visit Ilfracombe (4 miles away) as it gently slopes towards this enchanting Victorian seaside town. There are many footpaths reaching out across the fields and coast. Lundy Island can be seen some 12 miles away and definitely worth a visit by scheduled trips from Ilfracombe and Bideford. This was our second visit to the site and won't be our last. The Site Managers Paul and Helen are amazing, so personable and helpful with a great interest in nature and the environment. They are ably supported by their assistants who collectively make a great CAMC team. Thanks for a great visit and I would definitely recommend this site if you want a peaceful, clean and welcoming stay.

GarethR

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/07/2023 12:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful site with lots of space

We stayed for five nights with our caravan early July. Parts of the site, particularly the grassed pitches are quite informal and do require levelling blocks. On some days it was only 25% occupied, and some caravans were on seasonal pitches, hence the site being quiet. Lots of birdlife and areas left to allow for nature. I am not sure whether the single washblock could cope if the site was full, though depends on how many would chose to use their own onboard facilities. Whilst there was lots of information on being energy efficient, bi-diversity etc, I did notice that the dishwasher room lights seemed to stay on all the time and not activated by sensors or perhaps this was not working as there was no light switch. I would not have wanted to be overlooking that amount of light intrusion into the night if I was nearby. Wardens attentive and polite as usual. We would stay again.

Charterhouse

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2023 10:19

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great stay as usual

Great location, well kept site with clean & tidy facilities with staff that are very helpful and welcoming.

bakersfolly

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/07/2023 15:25

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful location

Peaceful location, spacious pitches, the hard standing pitches reasonable level. Helen and Paul were very welcoming. The Toilet/shower block are very clean and fresh, with laundry & washing up facilities. The information room was very helpful regarding local buses, local attraction etc. We walked to Woolacombe following public footpaths over fields on a sunny day, it was "stunning" We had a van issue on arrival, Helen advised us of a local company, who came to site within the hour enabling us to continue our stay, paul also checked in with us later to ensure all still working. Paul & Helen seem to be working to update/improve the site and are very helpful. Thank you for a great stay.

EMXMOHO

Reviewed on 27/04/2023 14:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer