Birkelt Village

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyable stay

We spent 7 nights in early July at this super site in Luxemboug’s Little Switzerland. Super clean shower block with plenty of toilets, basins and shower cubicles. Roomy pitch clearly marked. Some pitches needed the grass/shrubs trimming but ours was great. Site is busy expanding its family cabin accommodation so may feel pretty busy during high season. Appeared to be an active kids club and newly built playground facilities and brilliant new outdoor pool (albeit a bit chilly as unheated), also a small indoor pool. Larochette is a charming small town and only a 10-15 minute (steep) walk away. Pleasantly surprised at Luxembourg, no litter, great places to visit, friendly faces and pretty scenery.

Bethsheba

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2019 20:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

We prebooked for 3 nights (mid august) for our family of 4 in the campsite but it was very busy, crowded and noisy even after 10.30pm. Provision in the shop and food outlets was limited and expensive as were laundry facilities. Local village pleasant (mostly cafes), good supermarket 11km away and easy by rail from local town to Luxembourg city which was worth a visit. Big site but clean and staff good. Pitches were well worn and showers tired. We left after two nights

Response from the Site:

Thank you for your feedback. To give some background, in July 2016 there was a very bad storm in the village of Larochette and our camping pitches really suffered because of this, so this was unfortunately a result of the storm. In reference to the noise levels, we have taken this on board and now have on site a porter who keeps an eye on the campsite at night to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. We continue to make improvements to the site and its facilities and it has changed a lot over the past couple of years. We are extremely busy in high season, if people prefer more space and quiet then visiting outside of this peak period may provide a more restful experience.

hymerinneedofacamp

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/09/2017 21:33

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Pleasantly surprised

Having read some negative reports I was apprehensive about our 2 day visit in early July. I need not have worried, this is a delightful site in all respects. Lovely woodland setting above a smashing little town. I can recommend this site for a short or longer stay. N.B. Luxembourg has the cheapest diesel in this part of Europe.

MikeW

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 11/07/2017 21:33

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Don't use this site!!

Thankfully we only booked 1 night at this site as a stop off on our way to France. The good points first, very very clean and good quality toilets and showers. Now the bad, the site is very very crowded! It is full of very small caravans and trailers tents. We were in a 7.2m Bailey Pegasus which is NOT suitable for this site. We were as wide as the access road! The pitch was at the end of an even smaller road which handily turned to thick rutted mud at the start of our pitch. Just to make it extra tricky it seemed to slope in several directions. There was no way on earth I could have reversed the van on even if the sea of trailer tents and feral children had not been there. Thankfully 2 Dutch guys helped us push it on. The pitch was awful, sloping so badly I had to get on my knees in the mud to jack the van up to put the ramps under as I couldn't use the car in the thick mud. The pitches are wrecked by the tents and just turn to mud. My daughter and wife both slipped over. I have never been so pleased to leave a site! The caravan club need to take this out of their brochure. 

Response from the Site:

Thank you for your feedback. To give some background, in July 2016 there was a very bad storm in the village of Larochette and our camping pitches really suffered because of this, so this was unfortunately a result of the storm. We continue to make improvements to the site and its facilities and it has changed a lot over the past couple of years. We are extremely busy in high season, if people prefer more space and quiet then visiting outside of this peak period may provide a more restful experience.

Dave Storey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2016 22:06

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good site which we have used several times

Only stayed for one night [2 July] this year en route to Austria. Pitch was of good size and convenient for all facilities. Check-in arrangement is much better than most sites. Had a quiet evening with no problems with noisy neighbours.

BarryTroon

Reviewed on 22/08/2016 21:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

BIRKELT HELL

We have recently returned from a week’s stay on this site. We knew when we booked it would be busy, mainly with Dutch campers. Our comfort pitch had a large bare patch due to the habit of Dutch campers covering the ground with plastic sheeting to keep the tent bases clean, we therefore had to use our PVC groundsheet to keep our own awning carpet clean. The nearby toilet block was modern and cleaned daily, site shop had most things you would need but we mainly used the Cactus store in nearby Rollingen, the onsite takeaway is reasonable. The onsite swimming pool, although covered is far too small and wholly inadequate for a site of this size. During our first week we enjoyed visiting the castles at Clervaux, Vianden and Larochette, also travelled into Luxembourg City by train from Mersch (only 4 Euros each!) and visited the Grand Ducal Palace and the Bock encasements. The butterfly garden at Grevenmacher is also worth a visit. Things however took a sharp change for the worst after the arrival of a large group of Dutch campers, who took over the three neighbouring pitches, apart from the deafening noise at times they considered it acceptable to continue to party until around 12.30am which was made even worse by the noise their feral teenagers made at gone 1.30am on their return. We made a complaint to the office, which was either not acted upon or ignored as the same happened the following night. At this point we contacted the Caravan Club to arrange an alternative site and left as we did not have the option to move pitches as the site was full. We are in the process of trying to obtain a refund for the unused nights with the help of the Caravan Club. Basically we feel the site should not have allowed such a large group amongst other families and were just cashing in. Luxembourg certainly has its charms (including very cheap fuel) but we would never use this site again, our English neighbours have also made a complaint, use Camping Gritt as an alternative.

Response from the Site:

Thank you for your feedback. To give some background, in July 2016 there was a very bad storm in the village of Larochette and our camping pitches really suffered because of this, so this was unfortunately a result of the storm. In reference to the noise levels, we have taken this on board and now have on site a porter who keeps an eye on the campsite at night to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. We continue to make improvements to the site and its facilities and it has changed a lot over the past couple of years. We are extremely busy in high season, if people prefer more space and quiet then visiting outside of this peak period may provide a more restful experience.

MikeBentley2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2016 20:52

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site

This was our second visit, it appears since our last visit 2 years ago that the site has reduced some of it touring pitches and replaced them with Chalets. The site is very busy and has an active kids club, the restaurant is reasonable priced. The local area is ideal for walking or cycling, however Luxembourg we found was difficult to access and park.

batemanfamily

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 20/08/2016 23:28

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

pitches

grass pitches at the bottom of the row are difficult for the larger caravan found small tents on larger pitches and big caravan on the smaller ones. so not good from that point of view they have used all the good pitches for the tents already erected

chantez

Reviewed on 19/08/2016 12:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Muddy

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The weather was poor and the pitch was very boggy and didn't drain well. Combined with other campers constantly choosing to walk across it rather than use the path turned it into a nasty muddy pitch. The site was dominated by Dutch visitors. It felt crammed in. It was noisy with lots of screaming and really badly controlled kids. I have kids of my own - and am usually tolerant..... We didn't bother with Luxembourg due to the weather. Larochette really isn't worth the effort although we did walk to it. On the plus side, the swimming pool is brilliant and has lane swimming for the first hour of the day (although this isn't effectively enforced).  I wouldn't go there again. 

Alexanders

Reviewed on 09/08/2016 21:05

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointing

This may be a 5 star site but the pitches certainly are not. We arrived at site on route back home. The pitch we were given was small, more suited to a tent, with lamppost obstructing entrance. The pitch was practically bare soil, grass around edges uncut and there was litter on the pitch. We asked for another pitch and I was told by the girl in the reception that the HORSE FIELD was available. We had paid £26 per night through the caravan club and booked this in January 2016. We are disappointed with the caravan club for using this site as we always use their brochure. Definitely the worst pitch we have ever been given and will definitely not go back there. Had booked for two nights but couldn't wait to leave after one night. 

Response from the Site:

Thank you for your feedback. To give some background, in July 2016 there was a very bad storm in the village of Larochette and our camping pitches really suffered because of this, so this was unfortunately a result of the storm. In reference to the noise levels, we have taken this on board and now have on site a porter who keeps an eye on the campsite at night to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. We continue to make improvements to the site and its facilities and it has changed a lot over the past couple of years. We are extremely busy in high season, if people prefer more space and quiet then visiting outside of this peak period may provide a more restful experience.

chances

Reviewed on 09/08/2016 18:50

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer