Les Gorges du Chambon

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellant Site

We originally booked this site for a three night stop-over in June 2017 on our way to the Dordogne. The site is very spacious with the pitches being arranged in a circular manner around the facilities block. The pitches are a good size and offer some well needed shade. The site as a whole is clean and tidy. The pool is spacious with sufficient sun beds and is regularly cleaned. The stars of the show, however, are the staff. They are bright, cheerful and nothing is too much for them. While at this site, I was taken ill and needed hospital treatment. The staff couldn't have done more: calling the ambulances (yes, plural !), translating my symptoms, and looking after my wife while I was away. They even called my next site to explain that I was delayed ! I very much recommend this site.

LeicesterFox

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2017 15:05

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site

We were met with a warm welcome when we checked into this site and offered the upgrade to a larger pitch for 5 Euros per night which we took. The site is well layed out and all of the facilities are easy to get to. The toilets are cleaned between 7am and 9:30am which seems an odd time of the day to do it to me, but they are always clean and plenty of them. We did not eat at the restaurant, but the food smelt good. The site is an excellent base for exploring the area with Angouleme, La Rochefaucauld and Montbron not being far away. Montbron has a choice of 2 supermarkets, fuel and other services. The site is approx 3km off the main road and easy to get to. Unfortunately we did not see this site at it's best as it constantly rained for the 5 nights we were here. It is a lovely quiet site although this may change during the main holidays/high season. All of the staff were helpful and friendly, there is a shop selling the essentials, a bar, cycle hire and in the high season there are canoe tours I believe.

sparrowlegs77

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2017 19:00

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

August 2016.

Had difficulty finding this site but don't let this put you off.Our visit was at the end of august and we had lovely weather.Site was nearly empty and our pitch was one on the outer edge of the circles so plenty of space though if busy pitches adjacent may create a hemmed in feeling. Near to French supermarkets and cheap fuel.

charlieboy2608

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 12/10/2016 13:17

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice busy site

Stayed here before, found site easily. Fairly compact site but with plenty of open spaces for kids as well as good play area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Shop good. Facilities clean with plenty of hot water. Some pitches a big small but generally recommended as a site.

Huggybear

Caravanner from Cleveland

Reviewed on 18/08/2016 11:51

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a site!

From the moment we arrived we could not be anything but impressed, helpful friendly staff, super pitches and location. Great facilities, super hard working staff, special mention for the efforts of the restaurant staff! Plenty to do on site and close by, don't hesitate to ask the staff, their information folders are fantastic. Follow the directions from the club for the best arrival route. We will be back, to do more walks, canoe, play tennis and visit the nearby towns ..... for starters!

gbell

Reviewed on 01/08/2016 09:51

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Best site of this years holiday.

What a wonderful site, all pitches appeared to be level, very large and spacious. Showers etc. cleaned numerous times throughout the day. Lovely park for the children, swimming pool had a lovely view. Plenty of walks to do from the site of varying lengths. No entertainment as such, which means the site goes quiet @ 11pm. Weekly local market on site. Restaurant and takeaway very reasonable in price.

mariofamily

Reviewed on 17/08/2015 17:50

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

The best site of our multi-site holiday

We consider this to be an excellent site, with large pitches arranged around trees, providing plenty of room. There are many walking opportunities in beautiful countryside, although there are no towns or villages close by (Montbron is a good hour’s walk away). However, the restaurant on site is well worth a visit – Greg, Marion and their team work very hard, taking great care in serving their customers. Whilst the menu is fairly simple, the food is of very good quality. Whilst we were staying here, Greg organised a concert by the “Soulbirds” with a barbeque. The organisation of the event was impressive and this proved to be an excellent evening of entertainment and food; great value for money. The toilets were well-maintained, clean and with toilet seats! The majority of the campers were polite Dutch people. WiFi is available only near the reception office, but at a reasonable rate.

Nigel Wardell

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/08/2015 18:19

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Get away from it all

We spent 9 nights at this excellent site in July this year. We travelled with another family and although our request for adjacent pitches made through the Caravan Club at the time of booking had not got through, we were given the opportunity to select adjacent pitches on arrival. However, we were only offered pitches close to the amenitites block. These were good sized pitches and very convenient for the facilities but, with hindsight, we would have preferred more remote pitches in a slightly quieter location. Having said that, this whole site is a haven for peaceful relaxation that would be hard to beat. The site restaurant was very good - especially if you like Pizza! The swimming pool was excellent and did not insist on speedos like some other sites in France! The local supermarkets are a 15-20 minute drive away and we travelled to Bordeaux for a day visiting the chateaux' of the Medoc in a little over an hour and a half. The weekly market at Piegut is highly recommended. We will return.

SussexHappyHammer

Reviewed on 28/07/2015 17:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful and relaxing

We stayed on this site for a week in the beginning of June.  Pitches are generous and we were given the opportunity to select our own.  The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, providing us with a great folder containing a lot of information about places to visit and local events (in English). The facilities were good and the food in the restaurant was excellent.  the site itself is well maintained and we would use it again.

TSITOM

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 15/06/2015 15:18

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer