La Côte de Nacre

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Pounding music

Chose site as wanted to visit the beaches of Normandy. Toilets and showers clean. Some pitches were just mud baths and had to use duck boarding to walk over to get there pitches. 1 motorhome got stuck in mud but around 10 people helped to push him out. Facilities for children very good, loved watching the children climbing the wall and crossing across the little ropes in trees well supervised and free. Super cycle routes along sea front and that’s where it ended for us. Just didn’t want to return in the evening to listen to the mind numbing pounding music and the karaoke which went on for 3-4 hrs. Even the aqua fit in the morning again the music blasting out, it’s the base so so loud. You could hear it all around the site. Shame as loved the area, would not return or recommend.

Bubbles22

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 21:15

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great location but toilets filthy

The toilets and facilities were filthy and there were no toilet seats. The pitches were quite dark and tight with lots of cars moving around at fast speeds up and down the lanes between the pitches. We didn't use the swimming pool due to the strange French rule about swimming trunks and husband refused to wear skimpy skin tight trunks. If you don't possess any speedo type swimmers they sell them on site. The pool complex looked better online than it does close up and the pitches were bare of grass and consequently quute muddy. However, most kids quientened down early enough so not a problem with noise and a fantastic location for Normandy landing sites. Local town very quiet - not much there but a nice beach front promenade to walk the dog given not allowed on all beaches. It was okay.

Gillywillywells

Reviewed on 07/08/2023 19:56

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

We Won't Be Back

I should start by saying we ended up here as all of our other choices were booked up for the dates we needed. We didn't think it was our type of site and unfortunately we were right. A very warm welcome at reception and a very comprehensive booklet of information provided to us. Their English is excellent for those worried about that. There is absolutely no way you can drive on or reverse on to the pitch allocated to us. Not an issue as we have a motor mover and a neighbour kindly moved his vehicle out of the way. Again we were fortunate in that we had a nice grassy pitch which was plenty big enough. On site there are very many small and awkward pitches with many of them bare of grass and needing motor movers or nice neighbours to get you on and off. The whole site is not very well maintained. There are nice large showers but they needed a deep clean and better cleaning throughout the day. A large laundrette but even that had a significant dip/hole in the floor covered with a carpet. A trip or fall waiting to happen. Communal water taps scattered around but some outfits had decided they would hook up to those leaving less for everyone else. Although we didn't use it the pool complex looked very good and from the noise emitting from it the children were having a wonderful time. The shop is very good and you don't need to pre order the bread. However, its not very well organised when it come to serving the morning bread and my longest wait was 40 minutes. The cabins on site looked very good and I suspect are the main income as they far exceed the touring pitches in number and quality. There was one area of pitches that I absolutely would not have stayed on. No sun, lots of mud, small pitches. If we had been allocated one of those I would have left the site. The restaurant and take away always looked busy and the nightly entertainment seemed very popular and you can join in right across the whole site with ease!!! The children entertainment looked to be excellent but of course that generates children noise which in itself is not an issue if that's the holiday you want. The same applies to the entertainment at night which should stop at 23:00 but not everyone seems to adhere to that. In summary, as noted right at the start, this is not the type of site we would normally stay. However, if I had a young family, I would definitely consider it as they cater very well for the children, up to teens. St Aubin Sur Mer is a walk away with a lovely beach and super promenade with a good choice of restaurants. For us, it was the proximity to the Normandy beaches that drove us to stay at this site. We won't be back and next time we can't get our type of site in the area we want, we will change areas. Lesson learnt.

Midge57

Reviewed on 31/07/2023 17:27

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

not for us

Lot of noisy children during the day. Karaoke during the evening. Difficult access to the pitches

The Bromleys

Reviewed on 19/06/2023 11:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding

We recently stayed here and found it to be one of the best sites we have ever stayed on anywhere! The pitches are wide and well screened with EHU and water. The facilities are excellent, lovely hot showers, very clean. They are inside a semicircular building with the other facilities, well laid out. It’s a short walk to the small town centre with a lovely promenade with a few cafes and restaurants, some were closed at this time of year but it didn’t spoil our visit. We will certainly return here.

GardenerJohn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2019 21:14

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Cramped and poorly maintained touring pitches

Whilst we had no fault at all with the location, or the amenity facilities - in fact these were better than expected (shame not many people,complied with the "leave shoes at the door" rule). We were though disappointed with the very small pitch sizes, very cramped together with high un-maintained hedgerows between each pitch making them quite dark and unappealing locations to sit out. Further to this, probably because of the intensity of use, there was virtually no grass left on the "grass pitches", so we were effectively parked on mud. Whilst we love "dark skies", this site was particularly dark at night with torches essential to find you way around. Good shop, with site-baked fresh bread and croissants each morning, very good indeed. Overall, would just like to have seen more care and attention keeping the pitches better - maybe they would be better off with hardstandings if the usage is so intensive as to stop the grass growing.

SCWT

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2019 09:55

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site in a great location for D-Day beaches - Ouistreham ferry terminal too!

This site is in a super location for visiting the Normandy beaches. It's in the small town (village?) of St-Aubin-sur-Mer, which has a small supermarket and a few other shops. It's a short drive to Arromanches-les-Bains and about 12 km from the ferry terminal at Ouistreham. Nearby is the excellent museum and visitor centre at Pegasus Bridge, which is well worth a visit. It's also not far to Bayeux where the Tapestry is a must-see. There's a large Intermarché 2 minutes' drive from the site (turn left out of the site - it's at Bernieres-sur-Mer) and a bit further away at Douvres-la-Délivrande there's a big HyperU - turn right out of the site. The onsite shop is OK for morning bread, criossants etc but was closed in the afternoon when we were there. The site has an excellent pool complex. One of the pools can be covered by a sort of poly tunnel thing so that it can be used in the cooler months - we were there in April and this pool was open and we gladly used it. The outdoor pools looked great and we used one of them too on one of the days, but it was pretty chilly. And yes, guys, you do have to wear proper lycra swimming trunks and not shorts. This is common throughout France. Others have noted the problem with accessing water points. You can rent a tap for a fully refundable deposit of 30 Euros but it had to be attached to the electricity bollard quiet near to the ground, so low down that it was no use to use whatsoever. However water can be fetched from a tap in the washing up area of the main sanitary facilities block (just on the right as you go in) and there are some taps around the site but the water comes out in a dribble rather than a stream. And while I'm on the subject of the san facs...! They are pretty palatial! However one morning I couldn't get any hot water for showering, the next it was scalding! Reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and were happy to ensure that the gate was open for us to leave at 06.30 to catch the ferry on our last day. It's true that access is up a residential street but your outfit would need to be VAST for this to be a problem. Some pitches do have overhanging branches but all the ones around ours (no 100) were pretty big and access was easy enough. Surface water stood on our pitch when it rained but it drained off quick enough once it stopped. I would gladly stay here again if visiting this part of France.

DadminusLad

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2019 17:14

7 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice place but poor access !!

After researching & planning our first trip to France from the end of December 2017, we thought we had chosen an ideal site to meet our needs. After arriving early, after an overnight ferry, we were able to set up, as our designated pitch was free. Upon arrival we weren't told about having to hire a tap for 30 euros so we could access our water point !!! We found out eventually after searching around the site & not finding any water facilities. General facilities were okay & our caravan pitch was a reasonable size but it had extremely poor access for a twin axle & 4wd. Ideal for small vans with a motormover !! The overhanging foliage & tree branches, which just missed the top of our caravan, made our entrance very uncomfortable to negociate. To add, the smaller pitch user (tents) around us, encroached onto the already narrow paths with their cars, we missed one going round a tight corner by mm's !! We were very disappointed, considering how much we had paid, our pitch had tall overgrown branches covering it so we didn't get any sun for the whole 2 weeks !! The swimming pool was excellent although there was some strange rule about not being able to wear swimming shorts only lyra ones, conveniently available in the shop !!! The sites shop & restaurant were overpriced. We found a local Lidl !! The town was quiet with minimal facilities like shops but a good base camp for travelling around Normandy. There was only one rubbish/recycling point, located at the site entrance. Best to ask for the on call site warden as well, as one night a family woke everyone up past midnight having a party in their tent, which did not go down too well !!! Finally, you have to pay 'tourist tax' when you check in, on top of the already expensive site fees. 

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent for families and visiting D-day spots!

We stayed here for a week in May 2017 and loved the place. We are a family with 2 lively boys who loved the pool. The toilets were amazing - best I have ever seen on a campsite. The shop was great, and had plenty of food so you didn't have to visit a supermarket. Location is brilliant as we wanted to visit the WW2 D-day memorials so loved the place. Defiantly would go back, if you want a quiet, peaceful site then you may need to go elsewhere.

ScreenName9ED932BDE5

Reviewed on 04/06/2018 11:58

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Not one I would return to , but may suit others

Well we used this site for a one night stop when travelling from Calais across to the west of France. Firstly to get to the site it is quite a small residential road , and in a large motor home lucky nothing was coming the other way that all I can say ! When we did get to the entrance there was no where to park as it was so busy and I was stuck in the road blocking everyone for about 15 mins ! There was a queue out of the reception door of about 15 people in front of us ! This site was busy and it was only beginning of May . When we finally got to the receptionist we were given an armband to wear ? and told where the pitch was ( but inform if we found an empty one before we got there take that!) , no one showed us to our pitch just a rough map was given, so we ventured into the park , you had to drive past the shop and pool so there were so many people in your way , unbeknown to me I took a wrong turning and ended up down a narrow dead end of lodges and had to reverse all the way out , then a member of staff noticed my problem , I showed him my pitch number and he had to think long and hard where it was , he then lead me there on his push bike thank god ! Anyhow , smallish pitches surrounded by hedges , water and waste and electric on pitch , toilet block was very modern , clean and warm. Lots of people and quite noisy , but we were fine and had a good nights sleep and left next morning , not for us , but may suit others , seems to be a very busy popular site with the locals.

bisto36

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 22:19

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer