La Roche Posay

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

May 2022

La Roche Posay We (2 persons and 1 dog) stayed for 7 nights at the end of May 2022. The site is large with swimming pools, bar and restaurant. The site was fairly busy at the weekend because it was a bank holiday. From Monday onwards it was deserted. The bar and restaurant were closed Monday and Tuesday. The pitches are large and separated from neighbours with large hedges and trees Many pitches are in full shade which is ideal in July and August but not so good in May. Fortunately we had a pitch with late afternoon shading which was ideal. The site is well maintained and the toilets. showers etc are kept clean without any closure. We were able to walk the dog around the site because it was so empty. There is a nice dog walk through the river gates at the side of the river, where the canoeing is done Turn right through the river gates and the path takes you towards the town, although most of the route is via a one way road with adjacent pedestrian and cycle path. It takes about 20 minutes to get into the town. Turn left and the river path follows the edge of the racecourse. The town has a small weekly market on Tuesday which had many food stalls. There is a small park on the right as you enter the town called Parc des Confluences. Several water features that the dog appreciated . The Parc thermal near Le pavilion rose is a nice place for a picnic under the shade of the trees. The dog had a nice bath in the water feature in front of Le pavilion rose. What better place for a bath ? The town also has a beach adjacent to the river, all 10 metres of it. The dog enjoyed the water. Nice picnic area behind it. All the forementioned are within walking distance of the site. Further afield, using 2 or 4 wheels, I recommend Angles Sur l'Anglin. It's about 15km distance. Park in the top village near the church and view the bottom village and river and bridge from the viewpoint Walk down to the river and cross the bridge for lovely views of the castle Whilst on that side of the river, call at Salon de The No 15 for a pot of tea and Bakewell tart.

storiths

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2022 11:10

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

La Roche-Posay

We were on this site in the low season just before it closed for the winter. My guess is there weren’t more than 15 vans on site although some of the cabins were occupied. The facilities are first class and always clean. The pools look inviting but we didn’t try them out. We didn’t use the restaurant either. The walk into the village took about 15 minutes and when you cross the main road there is a pathway beside a quiet one way road right into the centre. Plenty of history, restaurants and a very good bread shop. Supermarket and petrol is less than 5 minutes drive from the camp. The main reason for being here was to visit the La Brenne national nature reserve and we weren’t disappointed. We will definitely return again but only in the low season as July/August could be frantic

Oneputt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2019 15:48

100 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good site overall, enjoyable stay.

We spent 13 nights on the site at the end of July and in to early August. The site is very well kept. Reception staff were really helpful and knowledgeable, speaking brilliant English. Showers, pool etc are very clean. Our pitch was 129 and it was about as far as you can get away from the pool and toilets. It wasn't miles but became a bit of a drag towards the end of the stay - especially if you forgot something! The pitches were really well divided with mature hedges and this was great. There are small lanes off a main loop road that have about 8 pitches. There was limited shade in our lane and because of the heatwave it was very very hot with no escape. The pool was very busy during the heatwave and when it had cooled down the outside pool which was not heated tended to very quiet whilst the covered, heated pool was too busy. The river beach is about a 10 minute drive and is great fun - really nice to swim in with free parking and life guards. This seems to be well used by locals and we preferred it. The area is beautiful. It is very quiet and so not like the more traditional holiday spots where you get the night markets etc... Much more very old history etc... Our stay was made by the other people around camping/caravanning around us. By a big majority the others families were Dutch. Probably at the peak there were 6 British campers/caravaners - not a problem for us but we have never encountered this to this extent. We had a great time and our children attended the kids club each day and loved it - they were the only English speaking kids but were really included. Overall, a really nice site. We will look at a similar type of site by a river but perhaps in a more traditional holiday area for the future.

Chris Watt

Reviewed on 10/08/2019 11:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

La Roche Posay

Spent four nights here mid July, very nice site good size pitches and well bordered. Had a slight issue with the gas bottle and the owner John who speaks excellent English took me to the garden centre and sorted out a conversion pipe.The facilities were clean and plenty of hot water. No shop on site but only a ten minute walk to the Supermarket and garden centre

Joejames18

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2016 20:50

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Super site

Lovely site which we stopped at for 3 nights early in June '15 on our way down south & again for 2 nights on our way back. The owners John, who speaks excellent English, along with his English wife are extremely pleasant & helpful. Pitches are very generous, well kept with many being enclosed by hedges which we like. Very quiet in June & we were able to have our choice of pitch on both occasions. There is a small bar with limited takeaway in June, excellent swimming pools both open & under cover. Toilets are supplied with paper and the wash facilities are a good size with plenty of hot water & were kept clean. You are able to order fresh bread & croissants for collection in the morning which we appreciated. Would highly recommend the site and we will certainly stop there again.

nwj

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 27/07/2015 14:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well kept friendly site.

Visited the site in early June 2015, very green and well kept site,owner John lived in England and speaks perfect English very helpful,the site was very quiet as it was early season,pitches are large and flat,it is quite a large site and has different areas,some with hedges,and some more open like our club sites,we had our choice,and chose to stay near the pool and reception,in this position there is very good Wifi which cost €15 and lasted my 10 day stay,there is a super market just 2 minutes away which has 24 hour petrol and diesel,a lovely well kept site which I would like to visit again in season

richtel

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2015 09:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer