Le Camp de Florence

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent !

A site we have visited many times, because it is a peaceful site, next to a lovely town, and is always spotlessly clean. The staff friendly and helpful. Ideal for caravan nd motor-homers as near restaurants, plus site restaurant and bar. Good for children in season, nice and quiet out of season, The thing that makes any venue/site extra special, are the owners and staff, and how they 'care' about their clients, or not ! We have always found the staff here excellent, but on this recent visit they really were exceptional, especially the owner Susan. I was taken ill and required taking to hospital by ambulance. Susan brought the on site medic who assessed me, and offered support, Susan arranged an ambulance to remove any confusion we might have had in relation to the procedure in their use in another country. I was kept in hospital whilst my wife had to stay on site alone, Susan and staff looked after my wife (who was obviously upset and worried about my being ill 2000km from home), she arranged taxis for both of us from the hospital, at different times, and offered support and comfort to my wife, whilst she was alone awaiting news of myself. I can only say that they stepped up to the mark and showed what a special site this is. Thank You ! We will keep going back !

cjm55

Reviewed on 06/07/2023 10:41

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Idyllic site in the heart of rural France

We arrived at 13:30 and as per most venues in France the Reception was closed for lunch until 14:00 . When reception opened we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady who spoke perfect English. We were invited to walk around the site and pick our own pitch from the ones that she indicated. We eventually chose pitch No11. Although the pitch appeared flat we soon found out that it had a slight slope and I had to use wooden blocks on the steadies to level up. Our pitch was also a service pitch . I was able to run water directly from the tap but again I was unable to run out the drainage pipes so we had to use the waste master but that was no real problem. There were two shower/toilet blocks on the site and both were cleaned regularly. Plenty of hot water and the shower cubicles are a good size washing up and laundry areas which also had lots of hot water and were regularly cleaned. The chemical waste points waste points were also located in the toilet/shower blocks and again were regularly cleaned and well maintained. There is also fee WiFi available The bar offered a good selection of lager beer, cider and wine. Rose seemed to be the local favourite.The restaurant offered an excellent menu which we found was well cooked and well presented. Whilst we were staying on the site there was limited entertainment but it was very good. The site is located approx 7 miles from Condom and is on the outskirts of a beautiful village of La Romieu. There is a small grocery shop in the village along with a bakery. The nearest supermarket that we found was an Intermarche at Condom which was well stocked and it also had petrol and diesel alongside it. We visited Auch with its UNESCO designated Cathedral. Auch is the Regional capital for the Gers formerly Gascogne. We also visited Condom and Agen, which was a really cosmopolitan city with its designer label shops so there are plenty of places to visit within the locality If you have children this site offers great childrens play areas. There are organised kids club events and plenty to occupy the kids. The only real negative point that I have to make is regarding the “Pool complex”, which is nothing more than an oversized paddling pool with a maximum depth of 1.2 metres and where you would be lucky to swim 3 strokes. It was also very busy, but I think the Caravan Club needs to revisit some of it’s site descriptions because it wasn’t the only site where the descriptions were, somewhat, exaggerated. The pool complex was really a cooling off facility, nothing more. Apart from the “pool complex” everything else was truly wonderful and this is a great site to visit. We will certainly return.

Fran57

Reviewed on 04/08/2022 13:06

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A site of exceptional quality ideally located very close to a delightful village.

We visited this site close about 8 miles from Condom in late September in our motorhome, having stayed here in a touring caravan in 2016 and 2017. It remains our favourite French campsite, due to its situation in unspoilt Gers within Gascogny, very close proximity to the pretty village of La Romieu, and the sheer high quality of the site. Since our last visit the terrace has been beautifully revamped, and WiFi covers pitches as well as communal areas. The food was excellent, and despite it being the last week before closing at the end of the season, all facilities and activities remained open and running unlike some sites we know. Our pitch was private, spacious and had 16A EHU, water and drainage. La Romieu (a 250m walk away) is charming, with an excellent bakery, convenience store (with a great wine and Armagnac section), and two bistro/restaurants. We will be back.

Peter1952

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 14/10/2019 15:05

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed here for 12 nights end of July beginning of August. We had 2 adjacent (special) pitches. These are quite large, big enough for caravan, awning and car. They also had water supply and grey water drainage. The staff were all very courteous and spoke good English. Food in restaurant was good, . Bread and pastries cooked on site and could be ordered for next morning. Pool area was excellent for our grandchildren (8 and 5) very safe and lifeguard in attendance. They enjoyed the kids club and it took them off our hands for a couple of hours in the morning. Short walk into La Romieu, which has 2 bar/restaurants and a small shop/cave. The collégial is well worth a visit and a combined ticket for that and the Les Jardins de Coursiana is worth getting. Toilet facilities were good and kept very clean. There is an animal enclosure with donkeys and goats which the children enjoyed visiting. I would not hesitate to recommend this site.

Caerphilly

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2017 11:39

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

nice site

A nice site with lovely walks around it. Some pitches quite buddy, but it had been raining quite heavily. A little chilly with some pitches a little difficult to access with larger units. Friendly staff, superb restaurant. Good tennis courts close by. Check the route given by satnav, one is much easier!

gbell

Reviewed on 20/11/2016 15:15

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb.

A fabulous site in a beautiful area.There were many interesting places to visit. This family run site was quiet and peaceful with very good facilities. The pitches were some of the largest we have come across in France. The owners could not have been more friendly or helpful. We found the planned and mapped walking and cycling routes very useful and particularly enjoyed the guided walk led by the owner. We would love to return. Highly recommended.

yorkie148

Reviewed on 06/10/2016 18:26

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wow

An excellent site in the heart of spectacular countryside close to a tiny village on one of the Compostelle routes. In fact, La Romieu is a central pilgrim place as it has a collegiate church, yet it is only a few miles from a town with various shops and a large supermarket. There are many lovely old villages to visit all within easy distance. The owners are a happy couple with nothing being too much trouble and they also speak fluent English, Dutch and of course French. Peaceful at this time of year but still busy with a mix of ages and nationalities. Highly recommended.

Jonvox

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2016 17:51

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolute Gem

Stayed here for two nights en route to Spain. Wish we’d stayed longer! The site is five minutes walk from a charming village, La Romieu, which is a UNESCO world heritage site. It is also on the Camino de Santiago. There are excellent bike rides around the quiet lanes, but beware, there are hills! The village has a small épicerie selling most things and an excellent boulangerie. The site itself is charming and has a large field of sunflowers in the centre, below the level of the pitches. The staff were most welcoming and very efficient. The toilet/shower blocks were modern & spotlessly clean. However, a word of warning for the timid or shy, they are unisex. The restaurant is actually a proper restaurant with an excellent menu of local produce beautifully cooked and well presented. The Dutch couple on the adjacent pitch have been visiting every year for 25 years. We won’t go that far, but will certainly return, next time for longer.

bainespaul

Motorhomer from West Sussex

Reviewed on 21/09/2016 15:28

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A real gem.

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of May and it was gorgeous.  The site is well laid out and we had a good selection of pitches from which to choose. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful.  The beautiful village of La Romieu is but a 10 minute walk from the site and should not be missed.  The town of Condom is only 6 miles away and has a good selection of shops.  Agen is only 19 miles away and the beautiful city of Auch is only an hour's drive.  We took the train from Agen to Carcassonne and that is a beautiful city.  The countryside surrounding La Romieu is stunning and it is probably one of the best areas we have visited in France.  Highly recommended.

TSITOM

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 17/07/2016 18:29

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Our favourite site

We stayed 2 weeks in June, and despite unseasonal and daily rain for 8 days, we think this is the best site we have ever visited in France or Spain.  The location and close proximity to delightful La Romieu is ideal, and indeed being only a few miles from Condom, the centre and heart of Gascony/Gers, it is also perfect for daily outings in this beautiful, unspoilt, rural country side, with much to see.  And of course there is the Armagnac!  The site is extremely well designed and laid out, with excellent landscaping: good sized pitches (we has a serviced one), but not in long regimental rows.  The grass pitches got very wet and boggy with the constant rain, but this is no fault of the site. The pool complex is excellent, and the bar and restaurant plus terrace a delight to visit (even if prices were a bit too high). Nice special meal events, including a superb spare ribs night and Fathers' Day dinner. We were sufficiently enamoured of both the site and region we plan to return next year.

Peter1952

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 28/06/2016 11:14

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer