Les Genêts

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful setting

Finding Les Genets was the main problem. Signs disappeared and found the information from the CAMC guide on how to find it misleading. It was actually at least 9-10 MILES after turning off the main D993. If anyone is going there, ensure you take the D577 off the 993 signposted Salles Curan! In mid July we found the site excellent with clean showers etc. The pitches were a little tight but we were lucky to have a lake view. If you have children with you, the playing field with all its different play areas is the largest and most comprehensive we have ever seen! The lake was warm and safe for swimming with several inflatable rafts and slides to enjoy. The pool was excellent. The drive from the site to St Rome de Tarn through the Tarn Gorge and on to Peyre then Millau is beautiful and a visit to the Millau Viaduct Visitor's centre is a must. Driving North towards Rodez you pass the amazing site of waterfalls cascading down the steep gorge at Salles de Source and the medieval village of Conques is well worth a visit.

devonduo

Reviewed on 06/09/2018 14:46

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great setting, not a good sightseeing base though

Visited the site for the last 2 weeks in August. Unlike some members, we did secure the lakeside pitch we had paid-for and the setting was very good, especially as we were on the quieter side away from the swimming beach. Pitch size we found adequate for a 7.5 metre caravan and awning with good water/drainage on the pitch. Access to the pitch was very tight, with sharp turns and many obstructions from parked vehicles and vending stalls on the already narrow roads. Sanitary blocks a long walk away and were stretched initially and not particularly clean. This improved as the site got quieter. Good shop on site and staff we found very friendly and helpful. The lakeside location is clearly the main feature of the site and ideally suits those who prefer to "stay-put" and enjoy the lake. As a sightseeing base the site is too far to the west of the main attractions of the Tarn Gorge area and you find yourself driving 1 - 2 hours each way to visit anywhere from Millau eastwards. The latter drawback means that we would not return to the site.

gk1955

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2016 19:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful Location

Just returned from 5 nights at this site, we are a couple with 17 year old and a Labrador in a VW Camper. The location is truely beautiful and we were blessed with wonderful sunny weather. There are plenty of local walks, lovely towns and even a pilgrimage to the Vierge du Lac which affords an amazing panoramic view across the lake. Salles-Curan is also a very pretty town. There are a lot of chateaux nearby and other visitor attractions but it does involve a reasonable drive to get to them. The site itself has plenty to offer, we were there in full season so clearly had a better experience than other reviewers. Now for the not so goods... I had booked (and paid for) a lake view pitch which we were not given on arrival. They were all occupied and the site did not refund any money. (I don't think we were alone in this as on our last night I overheard another Engish family who had just arrived saying "if you have booked a premium pitch you should be given one"... They were much worse off than us as they were crammed on pitch 1 right in between the main access road and the bar and reception. I was actually quite happy with our pitch, we could see the lake (through the neighbours washing) and having seen how busy the shore was with children and families I was grateful of the privacy we had. The sanitary blocks were just ok, they weren't as clean as I would like, often had no toilet roll and there were no sinks outside of the lockable cubicles so often it wasn't possible to wash your hands. Showers were very busy in the early evening and got quite grubby but the water was always hot. These facilities are all mixed too. Staff don't speak much English so be prepared to speak some French. The lady in reception was very helpful and booked us a vet appointment in Salles-Curan for the worming tablet for which we were very grateful. It's very definitely a family site and is very noisy and busy with lots of children (mainly Dutch and french) running around all day long but it does quieten down quickly at night. Having said all that, we love the area and I wouldn't hesitate to return. 

SophsGetley

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 02/08/2016 19:33

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely views but too far from main roads

We stayed here with the sole purpose of visiting the Millau viaduct which lived up to all expectations.The site was difficult to find as signs to it suddenly stopped! We had a lakeside pitch which was beautiful and rare to be so close to water. Loved swimming in the lake and to have no restriction on opening and closing times!!Shower block was clean and staff friendly. The main problem was the distance to get in and out of site. Great for those who want to stay put and not venture further afield. Would only recommend some lakeside pitches as others were small and not very private.

liplip12

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2016 18:28

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous lake side pitch

I stayed here at the beginning of June 2016 and admittedly there was work going on finishing work on one of the pools due to having lots of bad weather. The pool that was operational was absolutely fine. Staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. The lake side view was great, would be happy to stay there again.

Teresa Rom

Reviewed on 13/07/2016 17:45

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

will return for a longer stay one day

the lane to the site is a bit small for big caravans & the entrance to the site is a bit tight because there is know where to pull over when you go & check in & you end up blocking the entrance we had a pitch right by the lake which was really nice the swimming was really warm & we had a nice swim the staff were very helpful & very nice the showers were ok & it was nice to have a sink in with the shower we only had one night here but we are going to return one day the lake & the views were really nice good all round site

Mr McGowan

Caravanner from East Sussex

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 21:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Les genets

We stayed here for 8 nights from 28th May 2016. When we arrived the entrance was blocked by a lorry and a crane and clearly building work going on in the swimming pool,not in use. Workmen all over the site laying decking, filling flower containers and beds. The road down to the lakeside pitches was narrow and it was tight getting onto the pitch (we only have a Bailey Pursuit). Only a few showers and toilets were open and they were not the closest, in fact some walk away from our pitch. The water in the showers was tepid and the shower blocks were not heated; the toilets were smelly. The rubbish and re cycling facilities were right over the other side of the site across a field. The bins were overflowing and, as we were the only ones on the site, the contents must have been there from last season. You had to travel some distance to get anywhere. Although open for business and taking our money, the site was nowhere near ready. We left a day earlier than planned. It was interesting that on the day we left a couple arrived, being an advance party for a Caravan Club rally. The had endless criticisms and demands of the site staff to get the site in order for the rally to arrive. Grass and hedge cutting was one issue. We would not stay here again or recommend it to others. In fact we were surprised it was in your book. This is the worst site we have ever stayed on

eribaone

Reviewed on 30/06/2016 21:13

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Les genets aug/sept 2015

Excellent lakeside pitch clean facilities. Bar and resturant reasonably priced, warmest pool we've been to! Nice bakery products each morning with friendly staff always to hand to answer any questions, made to feel welcome. Area had less atractions than some parts of france, seaside was 2 1/2 hour drive if you fancied a change. We enjoyed our stay.

Sussextourers

Reviewed on 19/09/2015 15:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Holiday

We holiday each year abroad through the caravan club sites, with our good friends "the Dobsons". This year, it was the Dobsons destination choice, and boy did they choose well. We all had a great time. The facilities are excellent. An ideal place for a family with children, as there is a big play area, and a kiddies club, that always appeared to have something going on. The staff are very friendly, with no language barriers.

Yorksters

Reviewed on 03/09/2015 18:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A nice site but............

We stayed here for 7 nights towards the end of May.  The grass on our pitch had not been cut, the shop, bar and pool were all closed until June and only 3 showers were available.  This site may be OK later in the season but we wouldn't recommend its use before June.  The lakeside pitches have great views over the lake but we felt its location was too far from the best attractions.

TSITOM

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 28/05/2015 20:24

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer