Nagles Doolin

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site for the Cliffs of Moher

We stayed at Nagle’s Doolin for three nights in August and were offered the choice of any pitch. There were plenty of hardstandings with water, drainage and electric hook-up and immaculate grass adjacent to them. We chose one at the outer perimeter by a wall, as we thought it might be more sheltered there (it wasn’t!). We had a distant sea view, but for the best views you probably need to choose a grass pitch by the wall of the Doolin Pier car park. This is a busy site with lots of families. In the early evening the children’s play area is extremely popular, and children feel safe to cycle, scoot and skate all around the site. Showers cost €1 and are located in the main shower/toilet block - this is closed between 10pm and 7.30am, however there are some toilets available 24/7. The site is at Doolin Pier - ideal for ferry trips - and it is a fairly short walk to the old village, partly on pavement and partly along a busy and narrow country road. The road and village can get quite congested with traffic, including coaches and minibuses. The village is extremely pretty, and has quaint shops and cafes. We called in at Gus O’Connor’s pub a couple of times, and found it to be very friendly. The Cliffs of Moher are easily accessible to walk to, and offer stunning views. One day we walked over 7.5 miles from the campsite, along the cliffs and to the visitor centre, where we caught a shuttle bus (the ‘Paddywagon - a bright green minibus) back to Doolin - this cost €6 per person. Apparently there is also a bus service to and from the Cliffs of Moher Visitor Centre - this may be less frequent, and we heard that it cost €3.20 each way. The campsite WiFi is free but we found it to be intermittent. This is a good site with beautiful scenery. But be ready for rapid changes in weather - it was always wild and windy, but it went from sunny to dark grey skies / heavy rain (and back again) frequently and very quickly.

KateD

Reviewed on 19/08/2018 11:31

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Overall the best site we stopped at in Ireland

Stayed for 4 nights here and still left lots of things we could have done. Facilities excellent and site shop had any basics we were missing. Well laid out flat hardstandings with plenty of space between outfits. Short walk to ferry and a bit longer to the old village. Amazing views over the cliffs and wonderful night skies.

HereWeGoHereWeGo

Reviewed on 27/07/2017 10:48

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nagles of Doolin

Nagles caravan site is the best site that I have been on and I would recommend it to everyone including families, it is very well kept , the facilities are good and clean and the views are spectacular to the south with the cliffs of Moher and Doolin cave, then you have the ferries to go to the Aran islands. so folks if your in county Clare be sure to spend a night or tow at Nagles caravan park and go into Gus O' Connors pub in Doolin village you will get a really good pint of Guinness and an excellent meal at reasonable prices.

john little

Reviewed on 17/04/2017 14:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Another pitch with a view

We stayed for four nights in September, I can imagine in the height of the summer it is packed. The site is immaculate and lovely views, the access through the village and surrounding roads is not brilliant for a large outfit especially when you happen to be there the same weekend as a Harley Davidson Festival in the village! The Pub is very lively and good music but the best thing is a visit to The Doolin Music House, that is a very special evening not to be missed.

Wurzles

Reviewed on 12/10/2016 18:02

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A bit disappointing

Our check in experience here was not very welcoming.The young man at reception queried whether we had paid in advance (we had booked through the Club's travel service) and when I produced our confirmation he queried the amount we had paid until he realised it was quoted in sterling not euros. He was then not particularly helpful in finding us a suitable pitch.  This is a fairly large site, rather impersonal site in a location exposed to the strong Atlantic winds which blew throughout most of our 4 night stay. It is clean and tidy with roomy, level hardstanding pitches and plenty of toilets and showers which were kept adequately clean. The whole site WiFi is a bit of a joke. The nearby beach is pebbles and rock and displays a sign stating that swimming there is very dangerous. To the rear of the site is rather barren moorland. Doolin itself is a quaint little village less than a mile away. It is a fairly easy walk there with a footpath for most of the way. My wife was able to use her mobility scooter. There are a few shops mainly selling souvenirs and wool products from the nearby Aran islands. There are 3 pubs, we visited the nearest on a Saturday evening when it was very busy but had a good atmosphere and plenty of American and German tourists. The site is in a convenient location for visiting this part of Ireland but not one that we will return to.

Hemmingsby

Reviewed on 30/08/2016 15:42

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful area

Very spacious pitches and good facilities. Beautiful area but very exposed to strong Atlantic winds. Positively wild most of the week we were there but travelling a few miles inland and escaping the wind made all the difference.

jessica3

Reviewed on 18/08/2016 20:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site close to the sea.

Nice site close to the coast (not called the Wild Atlantic Coast for nothing!! Large spaced out site, only one toilet/shower block and refuge area which would be a problem if you were located at the far end. Some superb walking and stunning drives in the area. Didn't get across to the islands due to bad weather. Had problems accessing the site from Doolin, lots of large tour buses and cars parked in narrow access roads. Lots made of the site being adjacent to Doolin pier, only thing on the pier are drop of points and booking offices for boat trips plus a take away -closes in the evening- Doolin and pubs quite a walk away. Wifi advertised as free, it is, if and when you can get it. All said it is in an outstanding area of Ireland

gangesboy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/07/2016 14:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site for the Cliffs,Burren, and Aran islands

The site is a 10 minute walk to the frequent ferries to the Aran islands, about a 5 mile walk or 20 minute drive to the Cliffs of Moher. The Burren National Park is spread over quite large area, best to go to the Burren centre which has a great introduction to the area , then ask for directions to which ever bits appeal to you, the centre is about a 20/30 minute drive on good roads away, but parts of the Burren  can have narrow twisty roads that may not be suitable for a motor home . The site itself modern and well kept, but large, with most hard standings being fully serviced, there are  three shower/toilet blocks all in one area, that close in rotation to be cleaned. It faces the Atlantic which gives great views over the Aran islands, but it's worth trying to get at pitch with a drystone wall in front of your van/motor home, these are about 4 feet high so you can see over to the views, but they do take the force of the wind if a gale blows up, which does happen on this coast, about 1/3 of pitchs have this protection. There are two good pubs with music every night , one about 10 minutes walk away but the music starts late, and another a 10 minute drive away where the music starts at 8:00. The site has a very limited shop with basics, the garage about 10 minutes drive away has a shop tha is not quite as basic but still limited, the nearest "full" shopping is at Ennis about 50 minutes away so it's worth stocking up if you can before arrival, the area is beautiful but remote.

ianofcf

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2016 06:35

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Caravan trip to the west coast of Ireland

We booked Nagles Doolin for 7 nights at the end of June. We booked it via The Caravan Club so were expecting a certain standard. We were not disappointed. The site is well appointed, if you like being by the sea, the pitches are level and reasonably well spaced out and the toilets and washrooms were numerous and clean. The site is handy for boat trips to the Aran Islands, walking to the Cliffs of Moher, visiting The Burren and the local pubs serve good food, great Guinness and have live music every night, which makes for a great atmosphere! The nearest pub is a 10-15 min walk away or 1 min in the car. We enjoyed both the campsite and the area of County Clare which we felt wasn't as commercialised as Kerry where we had been the week before. There are some good links golf courses within driving distance e.g. Lahinch, Doonbeg etc. We played Lahinch at twilight and it was excellent. We were also pleased to see that there were a number of local cycling routes from Doolin. If bird watching is your thing, then the Cliffs of Moher is a must, particularly on a boat trip where you can get closer to the thousands of puffins, guillemots, razorbills, fulmars etc which frequent the cliffs. All in all we had a great week. The only downside was the variable weather but even this didn't stop us doing what we wanted to do.

Wilkies78

Caravanner from Worcestershire

Reviewed on 07/07/2016 17:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

coastal site

Accessing the Burren are from the north can be difficult as the roads are narrow in places and used by many coaches - so care in passing is required. The site is almost on the coast and has little protection from the weather. Winds and rain are not infrequent. Having said that, there is a very nice walk along the cliffs to the Cliffs of Mohar (about 5 miles each way) and the ferry to the islands is by the site. The pub in the village (about 3/4 mile away) serves good food and has music.

Rochroy

Reviewed on 04/07/2016 19:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer