Barraston Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL we have stayed st

We have been to many CLs around the UK and this one is the best for what we like. So peaceful - fields of sheep all around. Right on the side of Rhossili Down with free roaming sheep, cows and ponies. Access straight from site to the downs with a 20 minute walk to Rhossili bay beach which was dog friendly. Easy to drive to Rhossili for the Worms Head and back towards Swansea for other bays like Pobbles Bay to see the Three Cliffs. Only downside was leaving! Visited on April 2024

Starspirits

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/04/2024 18:14

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb CL

Just stayed 3 nights here as part of a 2 week tour of South Wales. We generally only use CLs now and prefer the basic ones without showers etc and this was a little gem! Approach road is narrow although short and you’re welcomed at the gate by a sign telling you which pitch you’re on. We had no.3 which was a level hardstanding. It’s a big wide open site with plenty of space between pitches and amazing views. The Kings Head pub in Llangennith is a 20 min walk or 5 min bike ride which was great fun! Superb atmosphere and lovely food and beer. Bus stop is by the pub which we used to go into Swansea for the day. Bike ride down to the beach is only 1.5 miles too which is great on a sunny summers day. We thoroughly recommend this CL for regular CL goers

garethdeb

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2023 15:47

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful site with outstanding views

We visited Barraston Hall Farm for 7 nights in June. Unfortunately, we arrived in 50mph gusts and torrential rain but once set up and safely indoors, we could see the absolutely beautiful view down the valley to Llangennith village and across Rhossilli downs, to a glimpse of the sea. You can get onto Rhossilli Downs from behind the farmhouse with access down to the sea or to the village of Rhosilli three miles away. We ate at the King's Head pub in Llangennith, the food was very nice and plentiful with good service and atmosphere. The pub is within walking distance from the farm. We visited LLangennith, Port Eynon, Rhossilli, The Mumbles, The Worm's Head & Broughton Bay. This was our first trip to The Gower Peninsula and will not be our last. Ellen (the CL owner) and her husband were very helpful with local knowledge and nothing was too much trouble for them if we needed any advice. We were very happy with the CL. It was fully booked when we were there and beyond. This is a very popular CL and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

SoozieG

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2022 13:32

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site, spacious pitches

Lovely site with very great views. Well kept and very quiet. The pitches are all very spacious. Easy access to nice coastal walks across Rhosilli Downs or down to the beach. There’s a cafe & small shop in the big caravan site by the beach and this also has a car park which charged £5 for the day. The food in the Kings Head pub wasn’t bad when we visited. Don’t be put off by some of the reviews: there’s now a new Elsan point and while you do see some farm machinery on the way in, it is a working farm! Within a couple of days of arriving, we both said that this is a site that we’d like to return too, if we revisit the Gower.

NobbyAndGail

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2022 17:25

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site with beautiful views

We spent four nights at this lovely rustic site. Once parked up we didn't drive again until we left. Good level pitches each with hook up and a tap. Area great for walking and we used the local bus a couple of times. Can't wait to go back.

ScreenNameA18F6064B7

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/05/2022 19:33

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding!

If you want a site with tranquility, endless beach and coastal walks straight from the site including a village pub in walking distance, great views, and welcoming owners who leave you to get on with your stay unfettered, then look no further than Barraston Hall Farm! Andrew and Ellen have worked hard to create a wonderful site with large, spacious pitches which are very well kept. Each pitch benefits from a hard standing as well as EHU, wooden picnic bench, water tap and views in every direction - a real luxury for a CL. This is a working farm so you would expect the odd "farm machinery" to be present. We have stayed in both Summer and Winter and always thoroughly enjoyed the sheer peace and quiet with our 2 dogs along with the wonderful scenic walks straight from the doorstep. Overall a wonderful CL, Thanks as ever, for a brilliant stay!

Lillsy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 17:32

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rather dissapointed

We had a lovley position at top of sloping field with good views and we were looking forward to our stay. The following morning we decided to give 10 min walk to the beach a try with the dogs but it was more like 25 mins and due to the rocky uneven path its is not suitable for elderly or anyone not used to walking on rough areas. We made it to the beach but decided to take the road back which was much longer but a much easier walk. The service area was neglected and the bins were not emptied regularly with rubbish spiling out. The toilet disposal was via a rusty manhole cover with galvanized wire handles. On the approach to the camping field there was builders materials and old rusty farm equipment scattered in the field and in front of us was an old neglected static caravan generally needs a bit of time and attention. The hard standing was dark loose material which carried into the motorhome on both ours and the dogs feet. The saving grace for us was the tranquility, views and the local village was very pleasant but we wont be returning. This is such a shame as the position is really nice and it could be amazing.

Skoula

Reviewed on 05/02/2022 19:34

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem

A beautiful CL. We happened to be there during the glorious heat wave. A peacful place to be with great views over wonderful country side. We had glorious walks down to the beach, all of a 10 minute through the back gate over the downs and onto Rhosilli beach. We walked along the beach up to Rhosilli for breakfast and back again before it got to hot. The sea was warm!!!! The beach is about 3 miles long so great for the dogs. Thee beauty of this CL is each pitch has its own water supply which makes a huge difference. Pitches are flat and hard standing again a real plus. The owners are friendly and recommended some lovely places to visit and eat. There is a pub up the lane but the best pub was the Britannia Arms about a 10 minute drive away, fantastic food. We had such a wonderful peacful week we will definately be back.

RobJohnSalter

Reviewed on 02/08/2021 20:51

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good base for our Gower exploration

We liked the hardstanding and level pitches with their own water supply - makes it so much easier for a motorhome. We had Pitch 5 which we thought had the best views. We very much liked that you could walk from the site and leave the van behind. Walking over the hill to the next village there's a fine local shop which is well stocked. Also a 10-minute walk down to the large campsite there's a shop with gas too. We didn't make it to the pub. A great base for walking around the Gower. A must do is a walk along the beach or path to Worm's Head. If the tides are in your favour do make the effort to cross the Causeway to the headland. It's worth it! Would highly recommend.

Panthemonium

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 18:31

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site

Stayed for 2 weeks end April beginning May 2021. Upon arrival owner came out to greet us and show us the available pitches. Lovely views all around and just a 10 minute walk to a fabulous beach. Water tap at each pitch. We managed to drop our tv and the owner even let us borrow his. We had a fantastic 2 weeks and will definitely be back. To sum up, fantastic site, beautiful area, lovely owners.

MikeandLesley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/06/2021 19:53

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer