Beechwood Stables Caravan Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

stayed here October 8th- 11th 2015

Wow what a gem of a CL.  Mr Miller was very helpful when we arrived and connected our waste water with his own pipes straight to a drainage, we had our own water supply on pitch and was given code for free WiFi. He also gave us info on the area etc: bus route, supermarket, garden centre nr with cafe, supermarket and local pub for meals.  Site as toilet & shower facilities.  What more can you ask for, and to be so close to Blackpool beach & illumination. Yes there are more caravans in another area but didn't find this disruptive in anyway. Only one downfall could be on getting onto main road if turning right as can be busy at times. But that's my only negative comment.

Portiacat

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/10/2015 13:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very disappointing site

Although this is classed as a CL we were surprised to find that this site had about 20 caravans on it when we arrived. The name implies that this location was at one time a stables, but what it does not tell you is that there are derelict wooden stable buildings filled with rubbish dotted around the site. If you also consider the dirty (so-called) toilet block and the smelly drains, then the impression of the site is somewhat different to the glossy photographs shown on their website. Another thing that annoyed us was the Elsan disposal point which consisted of no more than a surface mounted (broken) drain cover located directly (3 feet away) in front of the owners dwelling. This drain cover had to be lifted by hand before it could be used, but there was no provision for antiseptic hand cleaning or drying afterwards. It is obvious from this sad review that we were more than disappointed with this site, but I would go further than that. I would strongly recommend that the Caravan Club carries out an immediate inspection of this place with a view to striking it off their list of licenced sites, for not to do so will undoubtedly have an adverse effect on the Club's reputation.

Comment from the Club:

Many thanks for your review.  The CL owners have been in touch as they want to address your concerns as they make every effort to ensure people have the best possible time at their site.   Beechwood Stables has been a CL with The Caravan Club for over 20 years and like many of our CLs have a separate caravan site running alongside their CL which is marked by a clear boundary (fence and hedge) and with separate signage.  The CL owners are very keen to recycle as much as possible and one of the former stables (which is private) is used to collect aluminium cans – once the container is full it is then sent for recycling.  The owners inform me that the shower and toilet block were completely refurbished in January 2015 and a cleaner is employed and visits the site each day to clean the facilities.  All visitors are asked to be respectful of others when using the facilities.  There is an Elsan waste disposal point which is fitted in the standard manner and there is a handle for lifting the cover which is kept to the left of that point.  Hand washing facilities can be used in the nearby toilet.  As you can see from other reviews this CL is situated in a very convenient location for Blackpool and other attractions such as fishing and horse riding and the CL owners have many guests who return time and time again and who consider the owners as their friends.  All our CLs are inspected annually to ensure standards are maintained and this site has been recently visited and the Inspector is happy with the signage and separation of the two pitching areas.   I hope this helps to answer some of your concerns. 

snoopyvanners

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/09/2015 15:41

3 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best cl near blackpool

We have been coming to this cl for many years now the site is very tidy each pitch has its own eletric,tap.and drainage. the site has two free showers with plenty of hot water and 3 toliets also has free wifi which is handy so you can find out whats in the area over the internet.dave the owner well help you set up when you arrive and tell you where the local shops are.close the the town cleveleys and the sea front about less than 10 mins away.blackpool is 7 miles away with the golden mile and the illumnations at the end of August.Thank you dave for being a great friend to us over the years.

cwalton

Reviewed on 17/08/2015 09:20

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent value

Just got back from a 4 night stay, Dave met us on arrival showed us to the pitch, & gave us all the information we needed. This site is fantastic value for money, EU hookups, hard standings & electric, we paid £17 a night for 3 adults & free wifi !!!!! 

Reviewed on 21/02/2015 21:17

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Dirty toilets and showers.

Just returned from this C/L after a short new year break. We got a warm welcome and were shown to a large serviced pitch, the wifi is excellent and free, the tv signal is good and the site is perfectly positioned for all local amenities, however, the experience was ruined by the dirtiest shower/toilet block we have ever encountered. We understand the facilities are quite old and in need of updating, that is the same on many sites, but the facilities were not cleaned during our stay, they were disgusting and there is no excuse for this.  As a consequence we will not be returning to Beechwood, which is a shame as the site has a lot going for it.

baloneys

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/01/2015 22:18

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Overall OK

Bit difficult this one, if you expect a CL with five pitches, then you will like me be disappointed. There are twenty pitches in total, nicely spaced, all hard standings, with the CL integrated in. Good pitches, smaller than standard CC or normal CL sizes, but with water electric and drain. There was some commercial activity when we were there, workmen using the site whilst working locally. Did not cause any issues, apart from the showers and toilets showing signs of not being looked after. So, tricky review, good location, good pitches, some distant road noise not a problem, then why will we not return? Not even sure myself!

MikeR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2014 09:54

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lights trip

Hard standings and serviced pitch made a perfect base for seeing the lights  despite the rain, the warm welcome and help setting up in the dark made  things much easier, will be back again next year

andyfiona

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/10/2013 16:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely site

We arrived pitched and went out for the day. Lovely spot. It was a stables and there are lots of stable building's. There were more than 5 vans on the site but we weren't squashed as all pitches were hardstanding with your waste and water point. Mainly older caravanners when we visited. We will be visiting again :-)

LillyParsnip

Reviewed on 12/08/2013 08:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

friendly and welcoming

We have recently stayed (10 days in March and 3 weeks in May) at Beechwood, had a really lovely time, the site is not far from Blackpool, Cleveleys, Fleetwood, and Poulton, which is a lovely little town to tootle around shopping, which is only a 10 minute drive away. The site itself is kept clean and tidy by the proprietor Dave, who is very helpful, and sorts you out as soon as you arrive making sure you are hitched up to electric and water, at the moment he is about ¾ of the way through making another field of spaces for hard standing and grass places, I like the site because it is so handy to the Fylde Coast and the people who stay seem to be very nice people. Our little Shih Tsu dog has made friends with other dogs and humans too. The area is very flat most suitable for walkers and cyclists it is semi-rural, but there is a garden centre close by with a café, there is also a good bus route, with the bus stops a few minutes walk away from the site. We can highly recommend this site and the owner.

kath890

Reviewed on 05/06/2013 14:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Both site and owner very accommodating.

Just had five nights at this site. Dave met us on arrival and ensured we had all our needs as well as informing us of everything in the area. Close to coast and excellent for Blackpool. Large garden centre opposite which do excellent breakfasts. Service pitches well drained and level. When we left, Dave had just started to lay two long drains in the grassed site ready for an inroad to hardcore pitches making it even better for future bookings in 2013. Well done Dave and thank you for a restful stay.

AWNINGHANDYMAN

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/10/2012 20:55

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer