Bow Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Loved it

What a great site, can't fault it at all, have booked it again.

badgerwestsussex

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/05/2016 15:47

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

SUNSETS AND VIEWS

A very quiet and nice CL that is in an elevated location roughly midway between Chichester and Petersfield.  It is most easily reached with a caravan from the Chichester direction.  All the pitches are screened from the tidy farm complex to the North and have views over the Downs to the South with the Solent, Portsmouth and IoW in the far distance.   The pitches have been thoughtfully sited so as not to overlook each other.  They all have a sunny disposition with sunsets viewable from the caravan.  All the pitches are equally good.  We were attracted to this site by its hardstandings and free Wi-Fi which worked very well.  The TV reception was also good.  Each pitch has its own water supply and, for those that need it, there is a heated toilet, shower and washing machine/dryer facility.  The site is at the junction of 3 footpaths that provide good walking opportunities that can include a pub.  The high price for a CL is comparable to that of conventional sites. The South Downs landscapes and countryside are very attractive and there is no shortage of things to do in the area - walking, visits to Chichester and its harbour and sea beyond, Midhurst and NT and other properties to name but a few.  We stayed for a week and wish we had stayed for longer.  We did most of our shopping in Chichester which is about 15 minutes away by car.  We found the roads North of Chichester to be relatively traffic free.  In the other direction on the way to Petersfield there is a small village community shop in South Harting which we didn't use and there are good shops in Petersfield.  Midhurst also has shops and is about 25 mins away.  Fresh duck eggs can be bought on the site. The only downside for us which is worth mentioning and is reflected in the grading is that rain made the ground soft and slippery, so much so that our SUV couldn't reverse our caravan onto the hardstanding (pitch 2).  We got there in the end by manoeuvring the car and caravan so it could be driven forward onto the the side of the hardstanding, which the generous spacing between pitches allowed, and then using the mover to straighten things up.  We will remember this for next time.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/04/2016 08:35

78 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

If only all sites were this good!

What a fantastic CL - huge spacious pitches set in well-maintained grounds with each having their own water and electric supply.  Shower block modern and lovely and they even provide a new-looking washing machine and tumble dryer.   Wonderful far-reaching views of the South Downs and direct access to miles and miles of lovely walks.  Okay so it is a little expensive for a CL, but who can blame them when it gets this perfect?  

Tracker42

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/10/2015 13:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

This is a hard one

This is a great CL,  in an area of outstanding natural beauty. The facilities and the large serviced hard standings make for a comfortable stay. Entry to the Site is via electric gates through the farmyard. The free Wi-Fi is excellent. Southern views are stunning. Walking directly from the CL along miles of footpaths/bridleways and quiet lanes open up a variety of landscapes and quaint Hamlets. Petersfield, Portsmouth, Chichester and the villages of the South Downs are within easy distance. Why is this a hard one, well a lot of positives but one negative and that's the £25/night and I just cannot decide in all honesty whether its value for money

Oneputt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2015 21:53

103 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real gem of a site

Have to agree with other reviews and can only say what a fantastic site. We are happy paying the site fees as we consider the facilities excellent and at least as clean and tasteful as any club site. The view, peace and tranquility are worth that bit extra anyway. Used this site mainly for a day at the Goodwood Revival, but also for visits to Tangmere and Portsmouth for a bit of military history. Will definitely use this site again as and when we visit this area.

Chitterunner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2015 18:13

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site.

Our first trip away with our new caravan, having uses a campervan for a few years, so we decided to stay close to home. We live approx 15 miles away from this site, but have never really explored this area. Getting to the site is easy enough, although the entrance to the driveway is a little narrow. I noticed on previous reviews comments about a lack of signage but we had no problems at all, easy to find and the CC signs are clearly visible. The site is clean, tidy and well presented. The hard standings are well spaced and manoeuvring the caravan into place (for the very first time!) was stress free. The toilet block is very well kept. We didn't not use the shower or washing machines but we did appreciate the duck eggs for sale within. They made a delicious addition tour breakfast. The site is perfect for dog owners like us as there is some wonderful walking accessible immediately from the site. Easily a couple of days walking in various directions with some lovely pubs to refresh at. Have already booked to come back here and suspect it won't be the last visit. 

mattbee

Reviewed on 09/09/2015 13:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Wonderful CL

We stayed on this adults only CL so we could attend a friend's 70th birthday "do" near Chichester. When we initially looked at the site details we thought £25 per night was somewhat excessive for a CL. However, how wrong can you be! Everything about this site was just what we wanted - good size hardstanding pitch, own water tap, lovely views across the South Downs towards Portsmouth, very quiet and excellent facility/utility block. WiFi, which was good, was not charged for. Definitely one of the best CLs we have ever stayed on in over 30 years of caravanning. The online booking facility worked very well - you can see which pitches are available and then choose which one to book. We were so impressed we cancelled a planned visit to the CC site at Littlehampton in September and re-booked Bow Hill for another week. Can't wait to return!

Cogit

Reviewed on 11/08/2015 15:47

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pricey for a CL but you get what you pay for!!

Truely wonderful CL. Easily accessible, superb hard standing pitches with fabulous views. Excellent facilities including log cabin which houses 2 x toilets well equipped shower, washing machines (extra) with detergent supplied. Like being on the best caravan site, without the hoards. We were visiting the chilli festival in West Dean and this was ideal to cycle to from here. There are plenty of other places to visit nearby. Phillip even provided an Ordnance Survey map so we didn't get lost. Goodwood also seems easily accessible from here. Excellent walking straight from the site. Will definitely be back, especially as you can select your pitch in advance and just set up. 

SparkyMarky62

Reviewed on 09/08/2015 17:10

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

As fairly new caravanners this was the first time we had ventured on to a CL site, so were a little apprehensive but we need not have been. Easy online booking, huge level pitch, with our own water supply which became very handy when our pump started playing up! Lovely views, peaceful and quiet, with beautifully kept grass areas. The loo block was clean and spacious and always well equipped, my OH who always uses the onsite facilities said it was the best shower he has used to date. Wi-fi was excellent, the owner friendly, and we didn't feel the fees were excessive considering the very high standard of the facilities; we would happily stay here again.

Borbasuk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2015 11:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

faultless

absolutly faultless from the ease of booking to the pitch, the spotless facilities, views, wonderfull walks, welcome from owner. love it.

poppinz55

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2015 16:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer