Carefree Nurseries

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great first visit

Have just spent a long bank holiday weekend here and we loved it. A really clean, peaceful and relaxing site. Each pitch was generous, tidy and the welcome was as warm and enthusiastic as other reviews have mentioned. The lane to the nearest beach was unfortunately closed due to some work being done, but Hills Head Beach was about a 10 minutes drive away and nice to walk the dog. Easy to get to both Southampton or Portsmouth for days out or travel to IOW (we went from Portsmouth on the hovercraft and was a great day out). I wouldn't worry about the daily 8 units of electricity. I don't know what someone would need to be doing to go over that - we didn't change a thing, still used the air fryer charged our phones, radio on, lights and TV in the morning and still didn't go over! I wouldn't want to consider anywhere else if we're heading back that way.

ClubMemberE707703F06

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/05/2024 20:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely first visit

Stayed 4 nights over Easter, brilliant. Welcome from the owners was warm and enthusiastic. The surrounding area was easily accessible on bikes. The pitches are level and graded after each visit with waste disposal and chemical waste conveniently located. From the height of sitting in the motorhome the view to IoW was nice. All in all a comfortable and peaceful stay,we will be back.

warnerm

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/04/2024 07:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good return visit

It's been a little while since we last visited Carefree Nurseries so we were interested to see what if anything had changed. The welcome is still as friendly, the site if anything looks tidier and because the glass houses have been taken down, it feels more spacious. Great hardstandings, needed with the poor weather this year, and with the hedge cut we were able to see the shipping leaving and arriving at Southampton docks.With 10 units of EHU included in the nightly pitch fee we tended to boost the heating/hot water on gas {we use Safefill so no brainer really @ 82p litre) then switch over to EHU. Over six nights we used 57 units of EHU and half a bottle of gas, so no problems there. With a bus stop a 10 minute walk at the end of the lane, we used our bus passes to go to Gosport and Portsmouth. One thing we missed was the listing of shipping going past each day that used to be posted outside the bungalow The owners were always on hand to recommend shops, restaurants etc. The lane is very potholed but if you drive at the suggested 10 MPH then it's no trouble. Will definitely return.

iffajobsworthdoing

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/03/2024 18:31

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for a short stay in a quiet location.

We just spent two nights here and can highly recommend Carefree Nurseries. The location is peaceful and rural, the reception friendly and helpful. Due to the cold weather we ran 500W heating throughout our stay and there was no surcharge. Level harstandings for all pitches and good waste/water facilities.

BernieAJones

Reviewed on 05/01/2024 18:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem

We stayed here in December with very wet weather but the site stayed dry. Pitches are level hardstanding with gravel surfacing. Central amenities for water, grey waste, recycling and toilet emptying. When we were there contractors were working the other side of the southern boundary hedge but not disruptive. Owners extremely pleasant and very accommodating. The only downside for us was the condition of the access lane. Potholes were very prevalent at the road entrance and site entrance brought about by heavy rain. We saw these being filled but heavy traffic to the Christmas tree nursery adjacent to the site didn’t help. This is an unadapted lane so the CL owners can do little to maintain it. We would not let this affect your visiting the site in any way as the positives vastly outweigh this negotiable situation. Electricity is metered with an amount included in the daily charge and we found the additional cost very reasonable. Give this site a try.

ClintE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/12/2023 19:17

32 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

We liked this site as handy for Isle of Wight and N.T visits. A bit tricky to find but we got there. Shame that the hedge was too tall to see the view. But nice size pitches. Will come again.

Lorraine55

Reviewed on 31/07/2023 18:30

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One night only!

Stayed on this site as needed an overnight stop on return from Spain to Portsmouth. Very handy for port. Very friendly welcome from owner. Tidy site with everything you need. A very nice area and would probably be worth a longer stay to explore. Beach not too far away. No issues with metered electric as it’s was a hot day. Can fully appreciate why metered electricity has been introduced.

Highamites

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2023 14:09

68 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very handy for ferry crossings

Stayed here overnight as we were getting an early ferry. Lovely site, excellent views, very friendly owners and very close to Portsmouth. We were able to leave very early to catch the ferry without any problems except for disturbing some small deer who were grazing in the front garden by the entrance. No issues with reading the meter and leaving the extra due for electricity when we left. In fact a lot of sites are using this method now given the current climate and it is so much better as you pay for what you use. Would highly recommend this site and it's one we'll definitely be using again.

Carl Smithis

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/04/2023 12:35

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beware extra electric charge

Read notice on door stating due to increase in electricity, pitch was now going to be £22 & not £20 as advertised at time of booking, which was understandable. Only using site for 1 night to catch ferry next day. We arrived at 6pm & left at 10 am. Our electricity use comprised of 4 half kettles water for tea , small oil heater & minimal use first thing in morning of a small air blower which we never used constantly & tv, which ran for approx 4 hrs. On leaving the owner checked electric meter which we didn’t understand the reading process or new we even had one, told us we had 10 units included in pitch & we had extra £4 to pay which I was surprised at for such a short time. But how is this worked & what cost per unit is he charging because we really only used a small amount of electricity in that short time. So beware when you hook up there is possibility of extra to pay without you being informed beforehand.

Bubbles22

Reviewed on 09/03/2023 10:19

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pretty, quiet and friendly

We stayed here for one night looking to get away somewhere local. Just 20 minutes down the road from home and it felt like we were miles away. The host was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Camp site was as described, hard standing was very good and there was electric, waste disposal, and fresh water taps. No toilets or showers but we knew that before we went. One of the owners explained how to walk to the beach which took about 40 minutes with our toddler. Titchfield village centre was only a 20 minute walk / 5 minute drive and has a few shops (Co-op, One Stop) and a couple of pubs.The sunrise was very pretty and a nice wake up call. We will definitely be back to stay here again.

AdventureTrail

Campervanner

Reviewed on 19/02/2023 17:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer