Castle Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning quiet and relaxing site

A stunning little quiet site. The calming noise of the stream alongside the field was most welcome and the pitches are spacious and level. Friendly owners who are happy answer any questions and I had originally booked for 3 nights but extended my stay to 4. Great location and easy to find. Will be coming here again!

LSG

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/06/2024 18:12

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful quiet site with stream and super friendly owners

This site is in a great location for exploring all that Shropshire has to offer - short drives from most places which makes day trips easy . As a family of 2 adults and 3 children the site owners , Heather and Julian couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming . They have an adjacent field which had all the lambs in it ( April ) and a brook running on the other side of the site which made for very peaceful back ground noise . Access is absolutely fine for a van ( ours is 7 M ) or caravans . It's also beautifully maintained . This site is a real gem and we were fortunate enough to have the entire site to ourselves - probably because it has been so wet - we had the hard standing pitch which was perfect and sore soon dried out whilst we were there . We particularly loved the Hope Bowdler walk - a short drive and park up which leads you to endless paths and beautiful scenery. Also visited the Carding Mill Valley and the Long Mynd - climbing up to the waterfall was a highlight but lots of big circular walks from there we could have visited several times ( national Trust parking ). The Pound Inn at Leebotwood had lovely food - specialising in home made pies . Limited children's menu but ours were fine as had the pies and chose from the adults menu - also has outdoor children's area with okay ground and plenty of parking for vans - although you could walk here from the site. There was also a little farm shop just up from this pub selling local produce. Ludlow Castle was also a great day out - plus animal market there and a great place to stroll round with artisan shops and open market . Don't miss this ! Over all this CL is definitely worth a visit - there were also chickens and Heather and Julian were wonderful with our children - helping them feed the chickens and telling us about the history of their farm . We would definitely come back . Thankyou again Heather and Julian - we may well be back in the future !

ScreenName7CED4586F7

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 14/04/2024 13:19

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site, great owners

Only stayed one night - deserved longer. Very peaceful gem of a site, in a good location. Heather and Julian went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful, well beyond what one would expect.

PhilSc

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/04/2023 17:53

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding Site

Who would have know that NASA has been incorrect all this time, the Sea of Tranquillity is not on the moon, it is here at Castle Hill Farm. My wife and I and the two dogs stayed for seven nights commencing the 10th March 23 and we had a superb week caravanning at this excellent site. I understand that reviews are very subjective but in our view every single aspect of this CL was top rate. We have stayed at a number of CL's over the past year and each was good in their own way but to us Castle Hill Farm seemed to have managed to amalgamate the very best of the other sites all together in one package. I could wax lyrically about; the location, the serenity, the walking, the site owners etc. etc. but my simple words would not do this little gem of a CL justice, the only way is to take a look for your selves.

MartinandJayneB

Reviewed on 20/03/2023 19:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful stay

We stayed here for a few nights and it was beautifully peaceful. The field was large and we were able to choose where we pitched. When we were there lambs were in the adjoining field and we loved watching the gambling around, so sweet. The site was a ten minute drive from Carding Mill Valley and The Long Mynd, which was a lovely walk. We would happily stay here again, especially during lamb season, so entertaining.

Julia Harkess

Reviewed on 22/09/2022 09:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

8 Nights in early November at Castle Hill

Very much enjoyed our stay. Site very quiet and had it to ourselves for 6 nights out of 8 in November. Virgin reception was a couple of bars and worked well for us. Outlook from site is lovely but all in one direction due to a bank of trees, and at least one pitch is in front of others. To me the field looks long enough to have the pitches all in a line if the owners wanted to set it up that way. Owners very friendly. Toilet waste disposal is into a unit that is a conventional toilet but with no flush. In consequence I was confronted with some of the content of the previous waste disposal which required mine to flush it away. We expect to return.

JE Meecham

Reviewed on 25/11/2021 16:37

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site

Had a pleasant 2 night stay. Very welcoming on arrival and choice of pitch which are well spaced out and fairly level. Great location for exploring Church Stretton and the Shropshire Hills. Great pubs in Church Stretton and All Stretton. Site has a lovely brook running alongside the one side with picnic tables set around. Will visit again.

Jooste

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/11/2021 20:01

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

I can only agree with all the good reviews I have read. We stayed for 3 nights and found the site and area very pleasant.

Mowog1342

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/06/2021 21:13

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet site

Lovely CL with pitches either beside the stream or overlooking fields. Used as an overnight stop only as touring Shropshire but the site had everything we needed. It was lovely and quiet, situated behind the house in a spacious field. Heather was friendly and easy to communicate with.

mikemarl

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2021 12:07

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First time but night but not the last.

Had a really lovey 5 nights here.A small and quiet site which is really well positioned for visiting Long Mynd , Ludlow and Ironbridge, which us well worth seeing.Long Mynd valley walk has a large National Trust cafe which is a great place for a lunch break.

ScreenName83EC08E7D4

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2020 11:45

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer