Common Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Needs a bit of TLC

Stayed here early May and only just found it as there is no Club sign on the roadside. Friendly welcome by Mathew who explains everything you need to know with a helpful info sheet. The entrance is very tight and at present the sandy area at the gate makes a right mess inside the vehicle after opening and shutting the entrance gate. The site is fairly level but you have to choose your spot carefully after negotiating the fruit trees which will need pruning in the near future. Full service pitches but the electric and water points need de-weeding as nettles are growing around the points. The grass field is mown short but clippings are not picked up also there is long grass around the fruit trees which make it look untidy. The owners very friendly dog does roam the site usually with a ball that has to be thrown, not an issue if you don’t mind dogs.

spudlylight

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/05/2024 20:42

50 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Five Star CL

We stayed a week on this lovely site and it is one of the very best. Matthew and Alison were so kind and helpful. When we arrived Matthew was there to help us and gave us a booklet with information about the area, places to eat and places of interest. We initially had a problem with our caravan and Matthew fixed it. Brontë (their dog) was very friendly and we got to see her three puppies. Their kindness and helpful approach together with the lovely setting ensures we will definitely return. The Evans’s

Cliveevans 234

Reviewed on 09/05/2024 13:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

'AN ORCHARD OF PLENTY!!'

What more can be said!! Have to agree with previous reviewers. There is no Caravan Club sign at the entrance but a good welcome from Matthew. A nice orchard site with free fruit in season. Walks down the canal and plenty of caches for those who do geocaching, A trip to Cheshire Oaks for retail therapy, days out to Quarry Bank and the Anderton Boat Lift are very interesting. The park and ride into Chester is £2 and easy to get to, when there a walk around the city walls which is a must for those who are able to walk and manage steps etc. A warm welcome awaits from the Evangelical Church in Waverton at their Sunday services. It was quite wet on our leaving day and we did have some problems getting off but all in all a lovely week.

gandry

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2023 17:36

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best CL we have stayed in

Matthew cheerfully greeted us as we arrived at this pretty and spacious orchard site with a lovely brochure, giving so much info on pubs, walks, shops, bus stops…. and over the next week we were able to do day and evening walks through the local exceptionally pretty villages and along canals even into Chester (catching the bus back!) as well as drive to Erddig NT and Quarry Bank NT (don’t miss either), to the amazing Victorian Anderton boat lift, and the beautiful Lever Brothers Port Sunlight village. So very central, but a peaceful and quiet CL with your own water as well as electrics and with grey water going into the hedge it could nearly be described as Fully Serviced and all for £20 pn Not forgetting access to his own beer at the Spitting Feathers brewery on a different part of the farm, which did not impinge on the CL in any way. Wish we lived nearer as this would become our go-to site, but it’s a long way from the South coast! Brilliant holiday in July 2023 in a wonderful CL

Gillsd

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/07/2023 15:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just fantastic. Outstanding site and welcome.

As previous comments have said, the site to stay at again and again. Matthew and Alison have got it just right. Every bit of our stay was perfect from the welcome to the walks and orchard loaded with fruit (pick your own breakfast!). I don't want to labour the point but if you want perfection in a CL this is it. And don't forger the super beers, ciders and perfect gin on site..... We will be back! xx

Ruth Orpen

Reviewed on 27/08/2022 07:09

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous site - ideal location for Chester.

We stayed at this site for four nights at the end of May. It was our first time at a CL and it was a great experience. The location is so lovely being set in an orchard with horses in the next field. The owners, Matthew and Alison, are very helpful and friendly with local information provided if required. We walked into Chester along the canal and walked around the walls of Chester, followed by an enjoyable meal at the Brewery Tap which is well worth a visit. A taxi back was just short of £10. Another day we visited Beeston Castle which has stunning views from the top and well worth a trip. We also enjoyed cycling around the local area. All in all a great visit and we would love to return to this CL in the future.

ScreenName380E164686

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2022 16:16

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

I stayed here for 3 nights in June and will definitely be back next time I'm in the area. A warm welcome from Matthew and Alison, and good level pitches amongst a selection of fruit trees. It's handy for visiting Chester and all its attractions. The bus to Chester comes through the village or there's a pleasant walk along the canal towpath. There's plenty of local pubs to sample, some selling Spitting Feathers beer (recommended!), or you can buy it directly from the brewery next to the site. A great CL and recommended.

ScreenNameEE7F065470

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/06/2022 10:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Simply The Best

Looking for a site near Chester & found Common Farm which I had not seen before because only opened last year. Very glad that I booked this site. Booked a 4 night stay & was made to feel welcome over the phone by Matthew. This continued when we arrived, Matthew & Alison are certainly the most friendly owners that we have met, always available to provide information re the surrounding area. Access is straightforward and the CL, which is in the orchard, is kept in beautiful condition. Electric and water to each pitch & very peaceful. Would also recommend trying the Spitting Feathers beers which can be bought from the brewery, I loved the IPA. Also worth visiting their Brewery Tap in Chester where the food was excellent. Bus stop 5 mins away with buses every hour to Chester (approx 15 mins). Will certainly be back to this superb CL.

miketrotts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/05/2022 20:19

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant site

As other people have said, this is an absolute gem of a site. Matthew could not have been a better host, helping and advising us about all the places your able to visit from the site. The site is mostly level grass, but you might need small levellers on some spots but we were happy without. Facilities such as water, waste and recycling are easily accessible and all areas are very clean. The site was very quiet and we both had a fantastic sleep, and our dog enjoyed meeting the owners dogs who were all very friendly. If you like walks or cycling on safe traffic free paths this is perfect for you. The quiet walk into Chester along the canal path was superb, and fortunately on a warm sunny day. When we reached the canal about 18.00ish on the Friday evening for a stroll there was a barge on the canal selling wood fired pizza !! Sunday afternoon even had a mobile barber set up in the canal car park. When you are here you really need to try the beer from the fantastic Spitting Feathers brewery, on site. Matthew kindly advised me on the range, and as pointed out below it really makes this site so special. I also agree with the comments below, the IPA’s really are worth a try, or two….

Malcolm and Ali Hill

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/03/2022 22:22

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolutely fabulous!

Stayed here during the October half-term holidays and thoroughly enjoyed the whole of our stay here. The pitches are within the family orchard and it is tranquil and secluded. Really easy access and such a warm welcome from Matthew the owner. Lots of things to do in the area with easy access to Chester and lots of easy walks in the area. A good choice of pubs in the local area or if you prefer, why not sample the wonderful real ales from the Spitting Feathers Brewery which is located next to the site. Overall, I cannot recommend this little gem of a site enough, it ticked all of our boxes and we will definitely be staying there again. You will not be disappointed!

Bambinos

Reviewed on 08/03/2022 19:10

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer