Crablake Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely peaceful site, good location

A great site. On a working farm, access road not that difficult. Lovely situation on a working farm, Welcoming owner. Good power. Great facilities. Toilet, shower, washing up room. Yes there is a slope but very manageable. Nice and quiet. A well looked after site. A gem and a fantastic price £17. No matter what. Highly recommended

ScreenName6FD76A36FC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/05/2022 13:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful stay

We stayed over Easter in our 6m Motorhome. We managed to site easily and used the chocks to get fairly level. The views were absolutely stunning and of course the sunshine did help. If you love countryside and farm animals, you will love this site: plenty of sheep, cattle and chickens, oh and a cockerel that crowed in daylight hours! We easily accessed the Exe valley way with our bikes, Exminster Hill being a bit of a challenge to get there but we made it! Lovely pubs along there such as the Turf locks. Easy cycling into Exeter. Possible to walk into Exminster too. All in all a super bank holiday weekend.

VinceC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 16:11

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Pretty Site

We stayed in March so were a little nervous at the lack of hard standing but we were pointed to a relatively flat pitch and thankfully the rain was light. The site is beautiful, lambs were at our front door and there's electricity and water close by. There was a 20p charge for the shower. Unisex toilet was okay and the washing up facility was appreciated. It's a working farm though so don't expect total peace. The owners zip around on a quad bike from dawn until dusk so it can be a little noisy at times.

Harvey and Crew

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/04/2022 19:55

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Motorhomers check first

Not really what we were expecting at Crablake Farm. Instead of pitching up on a lovely orchard, we were made to pitch in front of the large barn with no views. It had been raining so I understood the reason for this but it’s something motorhomers should be aware of. The owner was prepared to tow caravans off the orchard though. One leaflet on Cornwall is not what I’d call helpful information. Regardless, the area is gorgeous with great walks through the nearby RSPB Reserve and along the River Exe and canal. The Morgan car showroom in Exminster was interesting and went to the Stowey Arms to delay going back to our pitch without a view (plus the pub allows motorhomes to stop in the car park). My advice is for motorhomers to check where you’ll be pitched before staying here.

Cassie2019

Reviewed on 18/03/2022 17:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site.

First time at crablake,we wanted to explore this part of Devon.It was a perfect base,lovely peaceful site on a working farm.Beautiful views,the lane is narrow but not a problem.The site owner Jerry welcomed us and explained where we could pitch,it's very flexible on how you pitch,plenty of space between the old fruit trees.There is a clean toilet and shower if you want to use them.Lots of places close by to explore,and village has all you need with a small Tesco,2 pubs and a coffee shop.A very enjoyable holiday.

linw

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2021 20:16

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet and Peaceful little CL

We've just returned from 5 nights here and absolutely loved it. The approach up Exminster Hill is narrow, but there are plenty of passing places and once passed the golf course there is little traffic. Access is easy through wide gates. The site is surrounded by trees which give shelter or shade as required. Little or no traffic noise despite only being a couple of miles from the motorway. There are various fruit trees around the field. There is a toilet and shower, which although we didn't use, looked nice and clean. Plenty of walks, the Exe Estuary Way is easily accessible on foot which takes you to Dawlish via Dawlish Warren. Will definitely return.

Martinarmitage1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 12:02

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A fabulous site

We chose Crablake Farm CL site for its location as we are use to going to the South Hams but wanted to explore a different side of Devon and we were not disappointed. The site is situated in an old orchard, and the pitches are not marked which meant that the next visitor would be placed in a new pitch to ensure the grass and surroundings had chance to recover. We arrived and received a friendly greeting and were shown to our pitch . The facility locations were explained as we had not visited before The orchard provides a mixture of sunshine and shade and being very easy to reach from the M5 made this a great place to stay. There is one toilet, a shower and a sink all of which were kept clean and regularly checked. The toilet takes a really long time to fill so if you are using the facilities after another person, there may be a wait until you can flush. The nearby village of Exminster takes around 20 minutes to walk along the lane and has a couple of pubs, a Post office and a Tesco Express Exeter is a great place to explore whether this was the town or, like us paddle boarding the canal and River Exe. There is a great pub called the Turfs Hotel which requires you to walk, cycle or paddle to it as it does not have a car park. Fabulous food and great location. We loved this site and were sad to leave and return to reality, but we will be back.

saradavi

from Dorset

Reviewed on 24/08/2021 14:09

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

perfect

This is a lovely site with huge amount of space between pitches. The owner is very welcoming, helpful and easy to talk to. This was our first week with electric bikes and this site was a perfect base to hit the cycle routes on each side of the river for some great days out. We will be back and can highly recommend.

ScreenNameAFAF9BE816

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 16:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

We selected this CL for it's proximity to a stretch of the SWCP that I'm currently walking. Communication with the owner was excellent - fast responses to any queries before arrival. Access is fairly straightforward from the M5 however, there is no denying that the last half a mile or so is narrow (after the golf club). Luckily the lane is quiet and we didn't meet anything arriving or departing. The site, set in an orchard, is slightly sloping but, as the pitches aren't marked out, it is fairly easy to drive around and get yourself level - plenty of hook ups around the edge of the CL. Toilet, shower (charge), dishwashing area and recycling - chose to use our own on board facilities so can't comment on the toilet and shower. WiFi available and signal was excellent. Exe Estuary Trail is a couple of miles from the site - great for walking and cycling. Passenger ferry from Starcross to Exminster makes an alternative day out. All in all a great site - recommended.

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2020 21:33

112 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely setting.

Lovely site. Very welcoming owner. Quiet surroundings. Clean and tidy, very pretty. Will definitely be back.

ToPoMoLoGoRo

Reviewed on 16/08/2020 20:10

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer