Crablake Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Smashing Spot

A beautiful countryside spot where you feel miles from nowhere but you are not, so a total win win for us. All the previous reviews cover most things and we cannot disagree with. We thoroughly enjoyed watching the bird life including buzzards over the lovely open view of green meadows and hillside. We found the bus service from Exminster to Exeter very efficient & frequent- takes about 25 mins from village into city centre. The Royal Albert Memorial Museum (free) in Exeter is amazing place to visit. All in all delightful and we did not stay long enough to fully explore all that’s there sadly, so hopefully will return. The lane down from Exminster pass golf course is single lane and narrow but we did manage in our larger motorhome as fortunately not too much traffic and took it slowly.

MAB1895

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/05/2024 16:54

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gerry you're a star

My car (with caravan) broke down on the A38 Exeter by pass and at around 7pm I phoned the farm to see whether they had a space so that the recovery firm could take me there for the night. Gerry was more than welcoming and I eventually arrived at around 11pm - in the dark. Sorry if I disturbed the other campers! The caravan and I left the following morning with a courtesy car to go back to West Sussex while my car went to the garage to be repaired. I was so grateful to everyone concerned for getting me sorted out and especially to Gerry for letting me in at short notice. I would love to come back at a later date and spend more time. Thanks again. Eunice Pearson

Eunice Pearson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/10/2023 17:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable stay

A pleasant site in an orchard, grass well kept and tidy, but beware of the moles which have created pits! There is a bathroom, but we didn’t use it. It is advertised as £18 a night, but in reality it is £22 with the electricity charge, so budget for that.

ScreenName15815C7C16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/08/2023 08:36

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic 10 Days

We have just spent 10 days here with the intention of cycling as much as possible. The Ex Estuary Cycle Route fits the bill perfectly. Mostly car free, loads of pubs to stop at and a very flat route. Both sides accessible either by the Topsham Ferry, or Exeter or Exmouth to Starcross. All easy rides. Crablake Farm is a lovely tranquil site to visit. The site is sloped so you need to find a spot that is reasonably level. You will probably need some type of levelling blocks. Nothing too severe. The views are very good, lots of birds to see. Getting to the site is a bit hairy but fun. Coming in from Exminster follow the signs for the Golf Club up the hill. With the Golf club on your left keep going until you reach Crablake Farm on the right, keep going for about 20 odd yards and the entrance is on the left. If the Golf club appears on the right you have gone too far. Either go around or turn in the Golf Club. That gets them going. We raised a few eyebrows when we did it. The toilet is fine, clean and useable. Not so sure about the shower, we didn't use it. Eggs are on sale occasionally. Grass is cut and the whole site is very clean and tidy. Electricity is charged by meter. For us it worked out £5 per day and at £18 per day I thought £23 a day is very good value for money. We parked at the top near the entrance and had the sun all day. Park nearer the trees if you want some shade. Jerry is very personable and is quite happy to have a chat with you. All in all we had a brilliant 10 days and we did not want to go home.

Richard000186

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/06/2023 17:10

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely peaceful site, good location

A great site. On a working farm, access road not that difficult. Lovely situation on a working farm, Welcoming owner. Good power. Great facilities. Toilet, shower, washing up room. Yes there is a slope but very manageable. Nice and quiet. A well looked after site. A gem and a fantastic price £17. No matter what. Highly recommended

ScreenName6FD76A36FC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/05/2022 13:02

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful stay

We stayed over Easter in our 6m Motorhome. We managed to site easily and used the chocks to get fairly level. The views were absolutely stunning and of course the sunshine did help. If you love countryside and farm animals, you will love this site: plenty of sheep, cattle and chickens, oh and a cockerel that crowed in daylight hours! We easily accessed the Exe valley way with our bikes, Exminster Hill being a bit of a challenge to get there but we made it! Lovely pubs along there such as the Turf locks. Easy cycling into Exeter. Possible to walk into Exminster too. All in all a super bank holiday weekend.

VinceC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 16:11

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Pretty Site

We stayed in March so were a little nervous at the lack of hard standing but we were pointed to a relatively flat pitch and thankfully the rain was light. The site is beautiful, lambs were at our front door and there's electricity and water close by. There was a 20p charge for the shower. Unisex toilet was okay and the washing up facility was appreciated. It's a working farm though so don't expect total peace. The owners zip around on a quad bike from dawn until dusk so it can be a little noisy at times.

Harvey and Crew

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/04/2022 19:55

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Motorhomers check first

Not really what we were expecting at Crablake Farm. Instead of pitching up on a lovely orchard, we were made to pitch in front of the large barn with no views. It had been raining so I understood the reason for this but it’s something motorhomers should be aware of. The owner was prepared to tow caravans off the orchard though. One leaflet on Cornwall is not what I’d call helpful information. Regardless, the area is gorgeous with great walks through the nearby RSPB Reserve and along the River Exe and canal. The Morgan car showroom in Exminster was interesting and went to the Stowey Arms to delay going back to our pitch without a view (plus the pub allows motorhomes to stop in the car park). My advice is for motorhomers to check where you’ll be pitched before staying here.

Cassie2019

Reviewed on 18/03/2022 17:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site.

First time at crablake,we wanted to explore this part of Devon.It was a perfect base,lovely peaceful site on a working farm.Beautiful views,the lane is narrow but not a problem.The site owner Jerry welcomed us and explained where we could pitch,it's very flexible on how you pitch,plenty of space between the old fruit trees.There is a clean toilet and shower if you want to use them.Lots of places close by to explore,and village has all you need with a small Tesco,2 pubs and a coffee shop.A very enjoyable holiday.

linw

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2021 20:16

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet and Peaceful little CL

We've just returned from 5 nights here and absolutely loved it. The approach up Exminster Hill is narrow, but there are plenty of passing places and once passed the golf course there is little traffic. Access is easy through wide gates. The site is surrounded by trees which give shelter or shade as required. Little or no traffic noise despite only being a couple of miles from the motorway. There are various fruit trees around the field. There is a toilet and shower, which although we didn't use, looked nice and clean. Plenty of walks, the Exe Estuary Way is easily accessible on foot which takes you to Dawlish via Dawlish Warren. Will definitely return.

Martinarmitage1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 12:02

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer