Fenwick Trout Fishery

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely location

Excellent central location and just minutes away from the Camel Trail. There is some slight road noise, but did not impact on our stay at all. All pitches are hardstanding and have EHU. There are plenty of water taps, but these are shared between pitches. There is no toilet on site. More signage is required on this site so arrivals can work out the pitch numbers as some were confused. Instructions of where to dispose of the toilet waste also required as this was not clear. Be aware of the sharp turn left if approaching from Bodmin direction, easy to do, but you need to be prepared. Overall, a lovely site, but just needs a little bit of thought for those that have never been before.

idpnc cc

Reviewed on 20/01/2023 16:07

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Conflicting information...

When we arrived at the site, we collected our handout from the house door as instructed and used the key code to gain entry to the site. First off, our paperwork stated that we were due to be on pitch 3 though that had been changed to read "Not Pitch 3, Pitch 2".Then expecting the CL to have exclusive use of the toilet facilities we were informed on the handout that " We have decided to close the toilet facilities. Please only use the toilet as an empty point for sanitation purposes." Had we been told that when booking, we probably would have gone elsewhere! OK, yes the plots are a good size and level but if you wish to pitch an awning remember to pack steel pins - the hardstanding prohibits the use of aluminium or plastic pegs. The riverside setting is nice but as others have said, the traffic noise from vehicles negotiating the s-bend and bridge is non-stop. For 2 of the 3 nights we were there, we were the only people on site - which suited us! It was fascinating to watch the robot lawn mower trimming the grass under the trees and seeing a pair of (Canada?) geese with 3 gosling by the lake. All in all, a pleasant site but it could do with a bit more of a personal touch.

peterjbutterworth

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2022 09:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very pretty but noisy

Lovely site on the banks of the river. Once the traffic stopped it was a lovely spot. It's very close to the Camel Trail so excellent for cycling, although it's pretty hairy crossing the road to get to it. Facilities are very basic, ie toilet for toilet waste emptying only but electricity and water shared between sites. We scraped the barnacles of the van's bottom on leaving and turning left. Not sure we could have avoided it in an 8m motorhome.

Harvey and Crew

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/04/2022 19:51

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect site for cycling trips

We have just returned from 2 very enjoyable nights at this site. The site is perfectly maintained in stunning grounds, surrounded by woodland. Hardstanding areas are wide, flat and individual with small hedges dividing adjacent pitches and plenty of water standpipes. We were fortunate to have the site to ourselves but there would be plenty of space even if all 5 pitches were occupied. Access is straightforward and efficiently managed. The local pub, the Borough Arms, a few meters along the road was very welcoming and served good food. The highlight of our stay were two fantastic cycle rides in opposite directions along the Camel Trail. You could not ask for a more ideal site to access this beautiful trail. Bodmin is an often overlooked town which is worthy of a visit rather than just passing through. An excellent, good value CL to which we will most certainly be returning.

ScreenName5A2C059229

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/02/2022 17:54

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great base to explore the Camel Trail

We chose this site as its right next door to the Camel Trail, which is an old railway line which as been turned into an off road cycling and walking route, and it was a small site on the outskirts of Bodmin so the Covid risk would be reduced rather than go to a big site. Its in a lovely location just off the A389 but we hardly heard the road noise outside of the rush hours. The pitches are large hardstanding with EHU, water and bushes between them. The Camel River is on one side and the old trout fishery lake on the other. There's a riverside and hillside woodland walk and a large grass area for kids to play on. Some areas are kept as wild meadows so attract plenty of wildlife with Swifts and birds or prey flying over the lake and woods on the hill. The access road to the camel trail is just over the river bridge opposite the site where you can ride up the trail towards Bodmin Moor, or take a diversion to the lovely Blisland Inn or a local brewery (6 miles each way). We also rode the other way to Wadebridge, via the Beach Box cycle cafe, and onto Padstow for Rick Steins Fish and Chips. The trail at times was like a cycling motorway (11 miles). Our other cycling trip was into Bodmin on the trail and then onto Lanhydrock National Trust Estate via small roads and a cycle track (5 miles) which is still great to visit, even though the house is closed due to Covid-19. Sainsburys Supermarket is a 1.5 mile Camel Trail walk away and theres a great Tea Room on the trail at Boscarne about 2 miles away. Unfortunately the heritage railway, which has a station on the trail about a mile away, was closed due to Covid. Grrrr! Although we understandably didnt see Shirley under the current restrictions, she was very helpful on the phone and by text. The toilet is shut under current Covid rules but there is a waste emptying point and good recycling facilities. We had a great time here.

Watson39

Reviewed on 02/08/2020 10:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

peaceful and well kept

The grounds are stunning. The entrance from the road is not easy to spot but once in it's like a little gem. The pitches were all immaculate and there is lots of space to explore. We stayed here two nights so we could cycle the camel Trail, the site is virtually on the trail, perfect. We were the only campers staying (MID AUGUST!!) so very very peaceful. the pitches are very large hard standing. lots of nature, our children found some frogs and were really exited. We found the owner friendly (but a little worried about the lawns, understandable when you see how gorgeous they are). At great CL site. Oh and the toilet was no where near as bad as we thought, we only used it for disposal from our unit but it was clean, what more do you need :)

ABarber

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2019 10:32

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good and bad (not bad really)

It's a CL !!!! I think previous reviews have been harsh. Like a lot of CL's the entrances are tight, it's up to us club members to make use of things like Google Street view to check out the how things look. We have been here three times and it's not been over full at any time which is a real shame, we arrived on the 19th of July 2019 and met the owner and we were made welcome it was raining and I was invited in out of the rain whilst booking into the site. CL owners can not be expected to wait in all of the time for club members to arrive hence I feel that some of the past reviews are unfair. The site has large hard standings. Perfect for the Camel cycle trail and a good all round base for visiting Cornwall, come on members please look at the positives of CL sites and make the best of them. The pub nearby is good with garden all in easy walking distance.

Putt Family

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2019 20:14

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Seen better days

It is easy to miss the entrance to this site. No one was around to welcome us or even take our money. The site is pleasant enough if you don’t mind the 30 foot high leylandii hedge which makes for a claustrophobic area and fails to cut out the noise of traffic. The one toilet was less than adequate. The site has obviously had investment in the past but sadly suffers from loss of interest by its owners. The redeeming feature is the ease of access to the wonderful Camel Trail. Overall, staying here was a disappointing experience. In our opinion it is overpriced for what it is at present and in comparison with other sites we have stayed on recently.

martyf

Reviewed on 22/09/2018 20:47

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One night stay

The access to the site is difficult but the information in the caravan club sites book warned us. Upon arrival we couldn’t gain access to the site due to a secure gated entry requiring a code. I saw a man cutting the grass and he gave us the access code. We did not then see anybody else again from the site. The walks from here are excellent. We walked in the woods and along the Camel Trail. Another member advised us of these walks. The facilities need some TLC. The location is beautiful.

SallyO

Reviewed on 06/06/2018 14:45

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Campervan Visit May 2018

Impersonal site - we never saw the owners to speak to, our only communication was by phone and was necessitated by the tripping out of the electricity supply to the whole site (?caused by the Electric Gate to site) both on arrival and during the subsequent night. Pretty location but the adjacent road is very busy although we didn't find the noise too intrusive. There is a pavement opposite the site entrance which can be used to give safe access to a footpath leading to the Camel Trail (not far to wheel one's bike). Pitches flat and surrounding grass well maintained. Water supply to pitch but no instructions re grey water disposal. Black water emptying point not used!

RichardLynne

Reviewed on 26/05/2018 13:00

53 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer