Hawthorn Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect peaceful get away.

Just back from my third visit this year. Perfect basic CL with lovely views and beautiful surroundings. Close to Whitby, Staithes, Saltburn etc., lovely walks, plenty of pubs offering good food. Easy access and well kept grassy field, just what a CL should be.

Travelingphil

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/09/2023 21:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Saved by the views

A great place to stay, views, etc. There was no welcome and we never saw anyone during our 2 day stay. A dog barked in the house as we approached. A notice on the door asks you to put fee in honesty box. The septic tank was a hole with a tin sheet cover and no tap/hose to rinse. We had to scout around for a bin; no recycling. Fee increase of 20% from website. All felt a bit weird.

Response from the CL Owner:

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the site. Hawthorn Farm is first and foremost a working farm with a basic site available for caravans to pitch. It’s a simple site for those who just want a peaceful location with a great view. We leave guests to enjoy their break without interruption. There is a tap available at the septic tank, it may have been that you approached the wrong section of the tank. Thank you for asking about the possibility of recycling, unfortunately at this time we are unable to accept recycling beyond that of the farm house itself. We are hoping to provide at information sheet for those staying at the farm in the future as the owner is often out working on the farm.

M176097

Reviewed on 08/09/2022 09:03

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for Family Holiday

We enjoyed nine days here and would definitely recommend it. A bit of a bumpy drive but great grassy space, fabulous views of the sea and countryside around. Septic tank is down the track by the house, but easily accessible. Easy access to Saltburn for surfing and Whitby and lots of gorgeous coastal villages in between, especially Staithes, Runswick Bay beach was fantastic, especially for a late evening stroll. Saw the farmer once who was very friendly. Just what a CL is all about, thank you.

KateWorden

Reviewed on 19/08/2020 16:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Peaceful CL

This was a lovely CL for us. Grass was short, views were lovely. Site is surrounded by countryside yet only a few miles from lovely local beaches on one side (Staithes, Runswick Bay, Sandsend and Whitby and moors on the other side. Easy to level the caravan. Good TV signal for BBC channels but could not get ITV. Site is large enough and reasonably priced. The toilet waste emptying is a short walk away down a hill so we tended not to wait till it was too full. We have a reactive dog so were concerned about previous comments regarding wandering dog. The comments are fairly old and I can say there were no issues with a farm dog. There was a dog which stayed with the farmer/in the farm house a little way away from the site. There was never any dog wandering alone and no dog entered the caravan pitching area (other than dogs with caravanners). The entrance track is a single lane but it is not very long. We were leaving late afternoon so to avoid any issues my partner just walked up to the top of the lane to check there was nothing approaching then I set off. The site road is extremely quiet so it is highly unlikely you will meet another van entering/leaving. However, at the top of the lane the main road is straight with good visibility so no issues if you did have to wait for another van leaving the lane. The farmer was very helpful if needed but not at all intrusive. We are so pleased we tried this site and will definitely be back.

1Tracey1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/05/2018 21:13

18 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What CL's are all about.

If you want a quiet location, with sea views and convenient access to the lovely North Yorkshire coast, then this CL is perfect. 

Mickyc

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2015 20:35

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what we expected

What a fab site a water pipe an elson disposal point a sew view quiet and peaceful thank you

Billious

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2013 18:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great value bog-standard site!

Bog-standard site in pleasant surroundings with friendly owner. Fresh laid barn eggs at a very reasonable price too! Would like to have seen more of the fantastic view through the hedge - perhaps some of the bushes could be thinned? The member giving the negative review seems to have gone unfairly over the top - we found the dog friendly enough - however, it did foul the site, and marked it's territory up the side of one of our plastic chairs! The owner did make some effort to keep it away, but it needs to be fenced in somewhere when the CL is occupied.

Mothman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2013 17:56

65 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful place to be.

Just thought we needed to say that the farmer was in complete ignorance of the derogatory post left regarding his dog. Surely it was only fair for the person complaining to approach him so that he could take appropriate measures. We have just returned from a glorious week here and there was no evidence of a trailing water pipe. We also have two dogs and Laddie (the villain in question) visited us, usually twice a day, for a energetic game of fetch without any aggression whatsoever. As for the lack of amenities, what do people expect for £5.50 a night?

Boogleloo

Reviewed on 19/07/2013 15:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our stay

We arrived on site late afternoon on a sunny bank holiday weekend. The access road is a long narrow track which has no passing places. As you drive down you pray that nothing is coming the other way. We pulled onto the perfect pitch- beautiful views etc. However, firstly, this site has no electricity. Not really too much of a problem if you are equipped. Secondly the only drinking water comes from a dangling pipe which is where the owners dog, and presumably other animals choose to drink from. Not exactly hygienic. Our main problem with this site was the owners dog. We have two dogs of our own. They are well trained, caravanning dogs- kept on leads and expected to behave at all times. The border collie who lives on the farm came to greet us and appeared friendly. He wagged as our 12 year old son patted him on the head but then he turned nasty, he started baring his teeth and chased our son back into the car. This is not what you expect from any site. We cut our holiday short, found another CL and will not be returning.

WolfieMike1

Reviewed on 02/06/2013 09:44

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our perfect site

We have just come back from a fantastic week at this CL with gorgeous weather. The CL was perfect, a flattish field at the front, a bit sloping at the back, and the views through the hedge were out of this world, looking over the land to the sea near Runswick Bay. The CL owner, Mrs Bradshaw, was very welcoming and helpful. The site was about a mile from the small village of Ellerby where there was a bus every 30 minutes to Staithes, Runswick Bay etc. and the other way to Whitby. The lovely market town of Guisborough was only about 11 miles away and worth a visit. All in all a perfect site for us.

Marjohn

Reviewed on 12/09/2012 10:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer