Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice site but….

We chose this site specifically because of its convenience for visiting Ely and in that respect it is in a good location. We originally intended to walk from the site into Ely - following a track running parallel to the road to avoid the road itself. However, when we discovered the bus stop right outside the site it was too tempting and we took the bus instead. The service is not very frequent so you have to plan carefully - there was a copy of the bus timetable in the site information room. The site itself has quite spacious pitches with water taps easily accessible from most pitches - there was one right next to our pitch. The site is nearly all grass and level - there is one hard standing pitch. We went on the grass with our motorhome and it was fine. There is a small building with toilet, shower and wash basin - nothing flash but quite adequate and kept clean. Now for the moan. When we arrived, we went through a gate and across a small grass area before going through a fence into the CL - there is a sign on the fence indicating that the CL starts beyond the fence. The grass area between the entrance gate and the CL had other units on it - on one night there were three units there. This really makes a mockery of the 5 van limit on CLs when there are additional units on adjacent land, especially when, as in this case, the people in those units outside the CL use the facilities of the CL. One morning my wife had to wait to use the shower because it was occupied by somebody from a unit on the land outside the CL. This situation really detracted from our enjoyment of the site. If it was not for that I would definitely recommend the site but I hesitate to do so in the light of the extra vans.

Reviewed on

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

tapsandwashers replied on 19/09/2022 22:36

Posted on 19/09/2022 22:36

We are sorry that the extra vans detracted from the enjoyment of our site. It is very unusual for us to have three vans on our land (not the CL). Due to unforeseen circumstances and a mix up with the bookings (our family took bookings  whilst we were on holiday and we also took booking for the same dates - our mistake). Our apologies if this wasn’t explained while you were on site we thought we had informed everyone of the circumstances and we ensured we only had five vans on the CL.