Hempstead Hall

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Peaceful Setting But ......

Positives - Friendly welcome by the owner who shows you where everything is around the farm but didn't actually show us the cess pit. Lovely setting on a working farm along a half a mile lane with lots of activity on the pond. Negatives - If the CL site is full then the owner will find you a spot around his farm, beside a barn, or up on the path. We were on the CL sharing facilities with 11 units for several days (5 of us on the sloping CL and 6 scattered around the farm) and we felt the cess pit was extremely unhygienic given we are in the midst of a global pandemic. The cess pit in particular was far too far from the CL, having to carry the toilet canister through one metal five barred gate into a field of three donkeys and a pony (watching your step as you navigate around their poo), through another metal five barred gate into a secluded large lawned garden and then through a smaller five barred metal gate to get to the cess pit, certainly not ideal for anyone with mobility issues, two people we saw using a shopping trolley to transport their toilet canister and fresh water container (it's quite a trek to the fresh water tap and rubbish disposal too, they're in the farmyard and it's a steep walk back up the CL). The cess pit is a large metal platform with two hatches in it, one with a rope, you pull that one and the cess pit hatch opens a big tank full off the urine and faeces like an open sewer. The owner just pointed to the first gate, had he actually taken us through the three gates to show us the cess pit set up we would not have stayed. The rinse tap is on a wall by the back of a building. If the cess pit is full, as it was on the weekend of 11 units sharing it, then it is not a very pleasant smell at all and you have to be careful of splash back.

Leslie58

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 23:37

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site and good walks

Lovely walks right from the site. We walked into Holt Country Park, into Holt and to the North Norfolk steam railway. The other way we could walk to Baconsthorpe castle. Also not far away is the North Norfolk coast and Holkham Hall with its huge parkland and herds of deer. Lovely welcome from the owners showing us where everything was

susser

Reviewed on 05/10/2020 18:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

As other people have said this is a lovely, peaceful site with great surroundings. We could not stay on the actual CL but William found a space with ehu by a barn. Luckily it was well protected as it got very windy while we were there. We saw Hare, Muntjac and lots of birds. The chemical waste tank was nearly full so care was needed not to get splash back. I am told by my other, less sensitive nosed half that it didn’t really smell though. Will come back and hope to able to camp nearer the donkeys and pony next time.

Freedom2015

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/09/2020 19:28

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site!!

This is a truly awesome site for Peace, Tranquility, wildlife and Walks! Very friendly and welcoming owners too, i'll be using it again!! Regarding the Hold your nose cesspool comment here, i went in the hight of summer and it was in the Hight 20's and these was absolutely no smell at all.... See my YouTube video for a review and my thoughts.... JP https://youtu.be/1zyELAnLHKE

ScreenNameD02AEA0267

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 13:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Setting.....but.......

This site is beautiful and peaceful and secluded. Most of the pitches have a bit of a slope so levelling blocks requires.The owners are very welcoming and the site is only let down by the toilet dump which is a flap on top of a septic tank and a bit of a "hold your nose" job..........however we liked it overall.

Tincataylor

Reviewed on 31/08/2017 09:57

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site, tranquil, relaxing and our best ever CL.

We have been visiting this lovely CL for over 30 years now.The peace and quiet is unbelievable here and yet it is so close to the quaint town of Holt. Mr and Mrs Mack love to welcome us on arrival at the farm.The CL is next to the meadow where the Donkeys graze and we love to give them some carrots. We are not sure what a previous reviewer was on about as there are 5 levelish pitches next to the 5 hook-ups.The waste empting point is only 50 metres from the site (so no problems with flies or smell on this site) and not across 2 fields as they wrongly stated. The kitchen gardens at Hempstead Hall are well laid out and it is a joy to stroll around both them and the well kept farm and farm buildings.Looking forward to another visit very soon.

Wol and Lol

Reviewed on 17/05/2017 14:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gem of a site

Just returned from a great stay A beautiful location . As we wanted hardstanding we didn't have the such great views that those on the grass enjoy but we did have space and privacy , lovely flint buildings and a close proximity to the pond and kitchen garden , along with frequent visits by guinea fowl and ducks The welcome could not be warmer and we were invited to join them in the little bar in the farmyard on Sunday night along with others on the site and neighbours …. great to have a drink and chat Yes the cockerel is early and loud but it is a farm and just adds to the character … payback was peace throughout the rest of the day as probably the quietest site we have stayed on Great walks from site and loads of wildlife to enjoy We are already booked for our next visit ….!!

Wolfie13

Reviewed on 19/04/2017 20:46

50 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and Friendly CL for Adults

This is a delightful and peaceful site within easy access of Holt town. The owners Mr & Mrs Mack are very hospitable and the area for caravans is very spacious. However, it is hilly and levelling blocks are definitely required. Access is along a long single-track drive so early arrival must be avoided so as not to meet caravans leaving the site. This is a working farm and there is a large duck pond with many water birds, also animals, which makes it unsuitable for children hence the adults only rating. We have used this site many times now and are never disappointed.

Blincow

Reviewed on 08/09/2014 14:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Animals galore!

A really beautiful farm site - miles from anywhere, with lots of ducks, geese, chickens and donkeys. One small issue though - the toilet emptying is a trial. You have to drag (or carry) your cassette toilet through the donkey field (watch where you walk!) through two five bar gates and into the back yard where you open the septic tank lid and empty your toilet. The rinsing tap is then 20 yards away - so a few trips back and forth to that. Nearby Holt is a lovely town (expensive shops) and Sheringham Park is glorious. It's worth walking to the gazebo for the 360 degree view.

Kanda

Motorhomer from East Sussex

Reviewed on 24/04/2014 19:30

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely rural site

I've stayed here two years running and enjoyed it both times, even though it was very wet last year and sunny this time. Quite sloping but good scenery and friendly owners and animals and birds.

Ian2

Reviewed on 03/07/2013 22:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer