Lower Farm Caravan Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely well equipped site, but noise from farm buildings

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring in our motorhome, to walk on Cranborne Chase. We could not fault the pitch and the facilities, as per previous reviews, and our first night was peaceful and quiet, as expected. However, the following morning a continuous industrial noise started from one of the farm buildings just the other side of the hedge. This started up again in the evening after our return from walking, and the noise then continued right through the night. Consequently we had very little sleep at all on our second night. It could be this is an unusual occurrence, but if you are going here for a peaceful and relaxing stay in the countryside, we would suggest calling and checking this.

4Mike

Reviewed on 11/07/2023 20:57

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and Quiet Achieved.

Little gem of a site set in a rural and very historical area. A walk down a very quiet road brings you to the next village with an excellent pub for food and drink. You can tread where Roman's went before on the preserved Roman road. Very friendly and helpful owner who gave us a good information pack for walks in the area. We were here in February with minus 7 temperatures overnight and there was still working water taps. A great surprise was the electric. It is metered and in our motorhome we used less than £5 in our four night stay. Would definitely recommend this as a place to come and totally relax.

AvalonAdventurers

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/02/2023 13:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A quiet retreat

The site is located in a quiet area in farmland on the edge of the village of Gussage St Michael. It had all the facilities we required, waste, recycling and water. We loved our two night stay, quietly watching the birds flying around. There was a bridleway right next to the CL, plus other footpaths in the village, and I took our dog on a different walk each day, the wild flowers, butterflies and the views were superb. We walked on paths to The Drovers Inn in Gussage All Saints, and back along the road, which wasn’t busy. Ann was friendly, helpful and well organised. We look forward to a return visit.

Lindddy

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2020 10:33

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful stop over to South West.

I've chosen the worst weekend to start my south west tour with severe weather warnings and gale force winds but I chose a great site to stop over. Ann was helpful in suggesting a more sheltered pitch and where to walk. I found an old Roman road and fantastic bridleways and wish I was on horse back for canter. Excellent free WiFi so didn't bother with the tv to save my electricity. This is on a meter that accepts £1 or £2 coins but I barely used any of the credit already there and only replaced a £. Very quiet and peaceful.

Dean Jan

Reviewed on 10/08/2019 13:00

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful escape

We decided at the last minute to have a one night escape and contacted Ann by email late on Friday about availability for Saturday. She replied promptly early on Saturday and as soon as my husband got home from work we were off. The site is only about 30mins away and we got there in daylight and were soon set up and enjoying a glass of wine. The site is easy to find and access. It’s nicely laid out with views across fields and trees. We enjoyed watching the antics of pheasants and a hare running around the adjacent field. The electric meters work well allowing you to choose whether or not you use the EHU. All the waste facilities and meters are contained in the little shed and having water and grey waste on the pitch is great. We thoroughly enjoyed our peaceful escape and will definitely be back, probably with friends or family.

CandB

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/04/2019 08:12

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lucky Days

Our Second time here, and we look forward to our next visit. Each time that we have been the sun has shone, this time some of the fields had more Cowslips that I have ever seen in one place. Over all we have found the site excellent value. My wife even saw a Bustard, and it landed on top of the caravan!!

wildlifewarden

Reviewed on 15/05/2018 22:04

52 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Muddy

A quiet CL with no traffic noise and good Wi-Fi included in the price. Mobile phone and TV reception were also good. The CL is a fenced off corner of an arable field which it overlooks with a communal strip of grass along its front. Farm buildings and a bridleway screened by hedges are on the other two sides. The CL is accessed by its own farm track with spurs off for each of the 5 hard standings. Each hard standing has its own electric hook-up, picnic bench and area of grass. 4 pitches are quite close to each other in a row at the back of the site and are alternatively serviced and un-serviced. The un-serviced hard standings are narrower and use their neighbours’ water facilities. The 5th pitch is serviced and sits on its own at the front of the site. As we witnessed, manoeuvring a caravan onto the far pitches can be a struggle when the adjacent ones are occupied with caravans and parked cars. With good reason the owner is keen to keep cars off the grass which is very soft and slippery in the wet. Our hard standing and the track were firm but when it rained their surfaces did not drain and turned to mud. Surface water flowed under the awning. It was too wet and muddy to put a mat down. This made getting in and out of the caravan and keeping it clean and dry on the inside a challenge. We used electricity to keep the cold and damp at bay which increased the daily cost of the pitch from £13 to about £17. There is plenty of walking and interesting countryside to explore from the site. Cycling on the quiet local roads is also a possibility. The pleasant pub in the neighbouring village of Gussage All Saints is within easy reach. A village shop is a 10 min drive away. Bigger shops are further afield.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/04/2018 18:05

69 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful

We only live 20 mins away but came here to try out our motorhome for the first time. What a beautiful place, so peaceful and lovely walks from the door. Extremely friendly welcome from Ann who showed us how the meters work, where the bins were and local information, all in a shed on the site. Nice lawned area where we were able to throw the ball for the dogs but as I say, walks from the site are plentiful. Only minor criticism is that although all hard standing we were unable to get our motorhome level, although this may have just been our pitch (no. 1). It wasn't drastic, just felt we were running downhill a bit. All in all a wonderful site, especially for walkers and dog owners. We have 3 dogs and although only 20 mins away will be returning to this site many times in the future.

ClubMember4BFCB8D201

Reviewed on 29/10/2017 08:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Total bliss

As all the other reviews have said this is the most tranquil place & we loved it. Ann & Richard were on hand if needed but left us to enjoy our weekend break. They live in a local farmhouse & said pop down if you need anything. This suited us completely. We were the only outfit on site so we had such a peaceful time, enjoying our time together. We are not avid walkers but the walks here are so easy & local that we ended up doing 8 miles a day & may even take walking up as our hobby!! We decided to keep the motor home on site for the whole 3 days & just take in the beautiful scenery. It was such a sunny & warm weekend so this really helped. Another member arrived as we left. As said before in other reviews it is clean & tidy & we loved the fact that it was level gravel/grass opposed to tarmac as this was certainly in keeping with the area. The electric meters are a great idea, .at the moment they only take the old £1 coins but we were told that the meters are being sent away to be updated to take the new £1 coins. Ann had a supply of coins so this was not a problem. There are a couple of pubs in the local villages near by, We walked to the Drovers in Gussage all saints & staggered back!!! There were no grocery shops locally but as we had taken enough supplies so this was not a problem for us, plenty if you drive We have been looking for a regular site to get away frequently & this site is definitely in the running. We will be visiting again very shortly to see what the area is like during the winter months. Thank you Richard & Ann everything was lovely.

DaveRuth

Reviewed on 13/10/2017 16:05

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great relaxing break

Writing this review whilst sitting outside on a warm peaceful evening after a wonderful few days on the cl. Site very clean and spacious the addition of a picnic bench on each pitch was a wonderful idea. Able to walk the dog straight from the site not going anywhere near a road. Being woken by the church bells in the village and the farm cows mooing rather than an alarm clock. Definitely a cl we will be returning to.

Wendymack

Reviewed on 28/08/2017 20:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer