Quarryhill

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem of a CL

Would highly recommend that you ignore your sat nav and approach the site from Blairgowrie. We came from Dunkeld and my wife superbly negotiated the very tight turn into the entrance. Not for the faint hearted. The site is very tranquil, with an easy pace. We were fortunate to visit whilst the Ewes and their lambs were in the field behind the site. The welcome from Sandy was very helpful, but not over intrusive. There is plenty of information available on places of interest to visit. Would recommend a visit to Meikleour to view the beech trees that are the highest and longest in Britain. Also please visit Dunkeld, plenty of history here and wander up to the Hermitage. If you fancy a fantastic meal, then please head to Little's in Blairgowrie. The fish restaurant resides in a former church.

Freedom Freddie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2024 17:52

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spacious and welcoming

I was made to feel immediately welcome and helped to make sure I was settled on a level pitch.The grounds and views are lovely, and the wild meadow and woods full of colour and grasses. My border soon found his feet, and the site dog walk was through well kept headlands and woods. Distant hill views stunning, everything you might need available in Blairgowrie. Access to basic toilet might initially be a bit daunting, but personally the swooping shallows tending their young in the barn more than compensated. Informative and friendly owner, who made a point of checking I had all I needed.

ClubMemberC03F299573

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/07/2023 06:55

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

5 star site

The warmest welcome and most attentive site owner, Sandy couldn’t do enough to ensure we had the best stay. We spent a week on a grass pitch which wasn’t over looked and had a lovely outlook over the wild grass area. The site is very large and extremely well kept. The dogs loved the walk that included a small wooded area on site and they were made welcome. Would love to return if we travel back up to Scotland and can highly recommend this site. Thank you for a lovely week.

Linds dog lover

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2023 18:53

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Site on a working farm, has cracking views and good walks in the local woodland.

We enjoyed our 3 night stay on this unpretentious CL. There was a warm welcome from our hosts and basically everything we needed was easily accessable and ready to use. We were parked on the grass field which was one of the most level pitches we had during our 3 weeks in Scotland. The site owner prepared an A4 page of local attractions and other places to see, eat etc. which was very welcome and very useful, we wouldn't have found many of the places we visited without his help. We didn't use the toilets and washing facilities on site due to the Covid pandemic so are unable to comment on them. If approaching from the A9 the site entrance has a very tight left hand turn it is better to drive past the entrance go a further 100 metres to the entrance to the Hotel on the left and do an easy U turn in that spacious entrance and then approach the site from the Blairgowrie direction.

Biker Family

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/08/2022 15:38

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site and one to return to

We had the place totally to ourselves and it was magic! The views all around the field where we were pitched are glorious. There were some hardstanding pitches but we much preferred our spot. My review dropped one star in ‘Overall rating’ because there is only one toilet and basin and the access to these could be quite tricky for anyone with mobility issues; however the facilities were perfectly clean and well-supplied with toilet paper, soap and paper towels. This is a working farm and, for us, the facilities were part and parcel of that and more than acceptable.

ScreenNameD3094E517A

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2022 19:03

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pricey for CL in its current state

First time visiting here. Nice location and peaceful What let it down for us was the upper price range for its current facilities. We were £28 for family of 4 in a motorhome with an awning. Not usually charged extra per person or awning on other CL we have visited. Seemed to have lots more than the usual 5 on site. Each pitch had electric but water tap on the pitch was unusable and was told to drive to drinking water tap (after we parked up and levelled van on blocks!) Also no waste on pitch and grey water disposal was around a very tight turn behind the ruined barn making it not very easy to drive to in a motorhome The ruined roofless barn was making an otherwise nice looking site messy and not very inviting. Another caravan resident was enjoying telling us what we were doing wrong which made us feel not too welcome. It's a shame as like the wee walks around we had but at this price tag I would be expecting a little bit more ease of stay.

Josh Hadden

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 20:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable break

We were a little worried about previous rather negative reviews but we enjoyed a 2 night stay. Warm welcome from our hosts and basically everything that you would expect from a CL site. If approaching from the A9 it is better to drive past the entrance which is a very tight turn back on yourself.Drive some 100 metres further to the Hotel on the left and do an easy U turn in their entrance and approach the site from the Blairgowrie direction.

webby1953

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/09/2020 19:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don’t expect to get a hardstanding pitch at this CL site.

This CL site advertises that all 5 pitches are hardstanding, so we duly booked a hardstanding pitch a couple of months in advance. On arriving at the site we drove onto one of the two vacant hardstandings. We were soon accosted by a warden / owner telling us that we would have to move our van onto a sloping grass pitch as all the hardstanding pitches were reserved. It soon transpired that the reason we were being put on a grass pitch was because we were only staying for one night and that basically we could take it or leave it. At no time during the advance booking process were we informed that we may be put on anything other than one of their 5 hardstanding pitches. I find it incredible that the Caravan Club allow this kind of blatant misrepresentation by a CL site.

RosyRabbit

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/09/2020 21:00

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not really a CL.

Not at all as advertised, the main issue being that there were at some times 6 units on the ‘CL’. Warden not there when we arrived and phone number given not answered so we chose a pitch. When she finally arrived we were informed that she had planned to put us “on the field” I.e not on the ‘CL’ which had 6 hardstanding pitches but on the field adjoining field not on a hardstanding. There were 4 additional units on here. Several of the units were occupied by noisy men, clearly friends of wardens husband. Our potential nice view was spoilt by a ‘seasonal’/long term touring caravan pitched on ‘the field’ caravan immediately in front of our van The route to the toilet was through an area akin to a bomb site, dilapidated building with no roof but water streaming through the remaining first floor floorboards when it rained. Trip hazards everywhere, infrequently cleaned toilet. The final insult was that we were charged £14 per night not £12 as advertised on the Caravan Club website. Caravan Club should act against CL owners who flout the rules.

Millys wheels

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 09:59

17 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good quiet, level site and very helpful owner

I booked this at very last minute for one night but being mid week and October it was fine. Owner extremely helpful and made sure I was happy with my pitch and offered to help with ramping if necessary (he even had ramps, though I had my own) I was fine without but being a solo travel the offer was much appreciated. I didn't use hook up but it was available and there was a tap nearby, plus a range of recycling and rubbish bins. There is a loo within the rather ramshackle old farm buildings; I didn't see any shower but that doesn't mean it's not there! Loo was clean, dry and had paper etc. Oh and although I see that the listing here on the website says it is only open til 1st November, I had asked the owner and he said he is open all year.

jehpesto

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/10/2018 14:24

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer