Redcoat Orchard

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very good location, nice people but check the price

This is a very nice site ,the views are extensive, and a nice walk down the orchard brings you to the ponds and the summerhouses. Here it is nice to sit and while away some time down their. The windows could do with cleaning and a few friendly spiders, but deer and foxes can be seen too. The orchard has seen better days, but that doesn't detract from the view, but a shame it won't have a strong a crop of apples etc. The toilet block is clean, a good shower and equiped with toilet rolls. We were the only visitors on site, one night and it topped out at three vans, although there are some people looking after horses. However, the toilet roll magically disappeared whilst we the only visitors and weren't on site - somebody else must have been heavily using it. It is a shame that there weren't many visitors because this is a nice site, and the fact that there were no photos of the site may have a negative impact for people visiting. I studied google maps but that doesn't give the real idea of what the landscape is like. The road is not as bad as somebody suggested, we didn't notice it and remember you used it to get in. The road is potentially dangerous, but turn left out of the gate and wander 400 yards down the road utilising pavement and banks with a little on the road will bring you to the lane taking you to the 1066 way. This is a nice walk to Battle, but that will be 4 miles round trip. The only downer is the price, I know that times are changing and costs are going up. The other two people we spoke to who turned up also mentioned to us the price £25/night. Again the website stating £16 is way off the mark. Great little site, if you are prepared to pay the price you will enjoy it.

idristdragon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/06/2023 20:53

40 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely 3 night stay

We stayed on this lovely CL for three nights from 15th July 2022 and found it just about the prettiest that we have ever been on. As the owner states the views are stunning. Some of the signage is dated as is the toilet block but it all functions perfectly well. The two lakes are at the bottom of the Orchard and I found time to fish the left hand one from where I caught 6 decent carp the best being 9lbs. There is a charge of £5 per day. The location is perfect for visiting the attractions of Sussex with easy access to the coast. We visited Cooden beach and had a decent meal at the Star Inn at Norman's Bay.

cricketscotty

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 09:07

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Three nights stay

We were welcomed on arrival and taken to our pitch. As we have a motorhome, we were taken to a separate area from caravans as it was flatter. This meant that we did not have the same views over the orchard and we were close to a very busy road, which was quite noisy at times. The ground was not very well kept - I know you cannot help rabbits digging holes, but there was a distinct lack of grass in places and thistles growing. The shower block was very old and dated and the washing up sink just had cold water, which is questionable. We were disappointed that there was no longer a farm shop. This was one of the reasons we booked the site. The owner said it had been closed for a number of years, but it still shows on the description, a does the fact that it is a new site - it is definitely not a new site. In fact, we found it very worn and in need of some serious updating. The fishing pond is at the back of the orchard, down a very steep hill which is not easy to negotiate. The busy road makes walking anywhere from the site quite treacherous, however the bus does stop directly outside the site. A small information pack would be useful, like some sites give, with information about buses, places to see, nearest chemist etc. When questioned about bus times, the owner could give very little information. I'm afraid it is not a site we will be returning to.

Chalkiemerc

Reviewed on 24/06/2019 10:22

4 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable relaxing few days

Stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed the experience. Only two slight drawbacks which I would like to bring to the attention of fellow members. 1 At certain times of the day the road noise became apparent to us but in the main it wasn’t a big deal. 2 We booked this sight having read the owners description of their facilities in particular the Farm Shop. Quite disappointed to find that the shop has been closed for TWO YEARS. Surely by now they should have updated their information. Otherwise it was a lovely place, really tranquil especially down at the bottom of the Orchard by the fishing pools. Very handy for local tourist attractions.

Oldfield54

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/06/2019 06:42

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another several excellant stays this year.

Well , once again several nice stays at Redcoat. so caravan put to bed until April next year. Unfortunatly we had to cancel our last booking in October due to me having a bad reaction to the flu jab , but be warned Redcoat, we will be back.Many thanks to our hosts for making us feel welcome on our visits this summer. So in a nutshell, if you have yet to visit this CL, suggest you do so in 2019.

bepop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/10/2018 13:05

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chill

Came here with friends who had been once before. We did need quite a lot of wood under the steadies, wheels and jockey wheel to get us level and I had fears of us rolling down the orchard which is very steep. However, the view is stunning, we drove down to the ponds and summer house which is a must and it's so quiet down there. The noisy ones were the geese and Mr Peacock came to visit us twice a day to eat cake crumbs. I didn't use the loo though my husband did and said they were clean but you need to take your own loo roll. I didn't use the shower either but again my husband did and he said it was ok. Lovely place to stay and near to Battle, Hastings etc. We can recommend this site but as we have seen the area we won't be back as we want to see more of the UK. The Squirrel Inn is a must to go and eat. Their 6 hour slow roast pork belly melts in the mouth.

Nannab

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/04/2018 11:35

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pity summer had to end

Well thats it for another few months, just returned from a great week at Redcoat . We try to visit every month for a week, after all these years it hasn't lost its appeal. We both love it, really glad we found this CL. If you havn't yet paid a visit give it a try .

bepop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2017 11:29

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still The Tops

Have revisited several times since our last review. Still think this is the best CL we go to. Peaceful picturesque with a warm welcome , easy access close to all amenities what more could you ask for. Back in a couple of weeks or so then unfortunately we will be putting our van to sleep for the winter months. If you have yet to experience what this little CL has to offer, visit this season.

bepop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2017 14:44

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Best

After many many years of caravanning, & using CL sites all over the uk, we still love this one the best. Near the coast, fresh water fishing nearby or on site mixed with beatiful views & pleasant and helpful owners. What more can you ask for . Be back in a couple of weeks .

bepop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/05/2017 14:04

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautiful peaceful place!

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this lovely caravan site. Caravans are situated at the top of a raised field looking towards the valley and in the distance the castle at Battle. The field slopes downwards to a pond not visible from the top. This is reached on foot in between an orchard of apple trees. There is a summerhouse beyond the pond and to the right of this are trees which in a week or so will be carpeted with bluebells. A lovely couple run the site and leave you to your own devices, but are on hand if anything is needed. Toilet facilities have been upgraded in the last year to include two separate toilets and a warm shower. TV reception can be a bit hit and miss but this did not stop us really enjoying our stay. Within car distance from lots of pretty places such as Battle, Rye, Hastings, Eastbourne and Lewes and further to Brighton. Will definitely be back when next in the area.

adria542dt

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/04/2017 19:37

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer