Rhodeside

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasurable Stay

As long as you follow the detailed directions to the letter you will be able to find the site very easily. Access from the M4 is good. Mr Deacon welcomed us onto the pitches when he saw we had arrived. He was very pleasant and friendly. The water facility and electric on each site made hooking up very simple. The toilet waste disposal was vey clean. There are a number of recycling boxes. The grass was short and the hardstanding areas although just the width of the caravan were fine. It was very quiet and peaceful at the weekend. The road noise on a morning on a week day was heavy for an hour but quiet after that. There are some pleasant places to visit around the area. We would come again if visiting the area.

eberneezerscroooge

Reviewed on 25/04/2024 10:37

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL near to Newbury

We stayed at Rhodeside for 3 nights on our maiden caravan voyage having come straight from the dealer in Somerset. We wanted somewhere close to home so we could check everything out but having the fallback of returning home to retrieve any forgotten items! From initial contact to being on the site, we found Bryan quick to respond, friendly and helpful. As stated, the pitches have a level of hardstanding, own 16A EHU and water tap. There is also good quality wifi. There is a little bit of road noise but living in a large town it was more like peace to us! The road is not that busy, and you are as likely to hear cyclists and horse riders using the road as cars. There is a well-stocked Co-op store a 20-30 minute walk away. The nearest pub is 5 minute's walk with another next to the Co-op. Plenty of waking opportunities straight from the site, which kept the dog happy!

EarleOfBerkshire

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/04/2024 14:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful friendly site

Stayed here one night in transit on way back from France to Yorkshire. Will stay longer next time. Very warm welcome from Brian, site owner and raconteur. Lovely spacious field, with some hard standings. Water and electric for each pitch. Beautiful horses in the adjacent fields. Wi-Fi second to none anywhere. 210 mps all over the site. Facilities and environment far superior to many more expensive sites. This site embodies the ethos of camping, sociability, helpfulness and hospitality . Village Pub is down the lane, 5 minutes walk. Great. Couldn't fault it.

bullfinch

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/10/2023 14:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

STOPOVER

We stayed over on our way to Cornwall, access from the A34 is good, the junction from the M5 to the A34 can be busy, be careful using sat nav, follow the directions in the club book. excellent space with blocked hardstanding's and free wi-fi with individual water and electric will use again

grandad2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/06/2023 16:45

26 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little Gem

Tucked away in a beautiful village of Curridge on the edge of the Berkshire Downs yet handy for Newbury and the surrounding area with easy access from A34 and M4 so perfect stopover for the South Coast, Ferries etc. Also very convenient for the Newbury snowbound and racecourse. Five pitches each with their own electric and water taps along with Fibre WiFi and good TV signal. All set in a glorious meadow with semi hardstanding and as a bonus the wildflowers and poppies were out. Very friendly welcome from the owner with plenty of advice on local shops and the pub is a five minute walk down a lane. We will be back.

Big Bruv

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2023 15:56

76 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site near Newbury Showground

Although we only stayed overnight for rest after the All about dogs show at Newbury Showground, we wish we could have stayed for longer. Such a beautiful location, peaceful and quiet. Bryan was welcoming, friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There is everything you would expect from a CL site plus free WiFi which we did not expect. My son loved running about in the field which was mowed short, this also meant our motorhome was able to drive through without getting stuck even after heavy rain this morning. I would highly recommend staying at this site, we will certainly be back again.

Klso

Reviewed on 17/04/2023 21:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL site with ehu and water to each pitch

We stayed here in June 2022 and thought it an excellent site. Bryan was very helpful, check in was easy and the site is well maintained and very spacious. Especially appreciated the water hook up, Bryan helpfully provided us with a fitting for our water pipe as ours didn't match. Would highly recommend staying on this site.

Keith Charters

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2022 15:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

This was our maiden trip, having only picked up our caravan a few days before. The owner is super helpful and welcoming, lending us a hand and tools to connect the gas. Each pitch has own electric and water with excellent WiFi. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and pleased to note the site is open all year.

ScreenNameA84DE8A555

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/08/2022 18:24

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Needed to stay near Newbury

And what a find - first class CL with everything you need. Didn't do much local stuff as we had commitments at Newbury Racecourse, however now that we know about Rhodeside we will return to enjoy the local environment, especially the local pub. Brian, our host, was amazing, did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and hassle free, can't thank him enough, he is a gem and his site is delightful. Thank you Brian. You must visit.

uwhomatter

Reviewed on 08/07/2022 19:04

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL

This site is wonderful, everything is spot on. We are sometimes put off by CLs which claim to be half an acre as you can seem to be hemmed in but I would say Rhodeside is more than half an acre and so well laid out that you have loads of space. Each pitch has water and wifi point. There is excellent recycling and the disposal point has been well planned for ease of emptying. One evening we watched a deer which had come into the other part of the field. Mr Deacon is very welcoming and helpful. A gem of a site.

Jasperbandit

Reviewed on 11/06/2022 09:44

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer