Smallcombe Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A last minute get away

Site is up a a typical Devon county lane, where large tractors with trailers navigate with ease, nice level hard stand pitches, with electric and water, a 25m cable is worth carrying, facilities are good, clean toilets and the best hot shower. It's the most peaceful setting over looking Dartmoor and you can only just hear A38, a little gem of a site.

ScreenNameA214DE4268

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/03/2023 21:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing Stay

We have just returned from a 4 night stay here for the first time. It is a very well maintained site with clean showers and toilets. Outstanding views across Dartmoor with ease of access to it's local attractions and also to the beaches of South Hams. We received a warm and friendly welcome and otherwise were left to enjoy our visit. A very peaceful and relaxing site at which you can easily escape from it all, although WiFi access is also good! A traditional village pub is within a short drive from the site. Please do not be put off by the narrowness of the lane on the approach to the site. We would definitley recommend this site for exploring Dartmoor and South Hams and would certainly come back here.

farmerharmer

Reviewed on 05/06/2022 18:57

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site in great l9cation

Ideally situated for exploring South Dartmoor. Very nice site, good views, well maintained, good value laundry, owners very helpful. The only snag is that last 3/4 mile which others have commented on. The road is single track and the "passing places" are suitable only for off road vehicles (at least in winter). On arrival we simply prayed! On departure my wife ran ahead to the T junction ready to hold any oncoming traffic. In the 12 days we stayed we only met oncoming traffic a few times, luckily only tractors or other SUVs. There is a large layby right next to the T junction, so if we visit again I will park there and send my wife for another run! Another thing to be aware of: if you are approaching from the south, the exit slipway from the A38 is very short and has a very tight turn. It is also hidden just over a summit. You need to slow down considerably before the junction actually comes into sight, especially if towing.

OldNick

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/01/2022 16:30

10 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet and relaxing

I stayed here in August and was delighted. In booking it, Angela patiently answered all my many and varied questions. The site itself has glorious views. The traffic noise might be intrusive on a long stay, but I wasn't affect by it. The toilets and showers are very clean. The showers were spacious with lots of hot water. I didn't use the wash up room, but this was very spacious too with a washing machine. Wifi worked really well.

AliAndRon

Campervanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 14:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Relaxing Stay

A very narrow road leads fom the A38 to the site, would not recommend 8ft wide caravans, passing places are few and far between. This well looked after 5+ van site has helpful owners, it has a water tap to each pitch and all have lovely views across to Dartmoor, Recycling is in operation. We did not use the showers housed in portacabins so cannot comment but they looked adequate, toilets are clean. In the wooden hut there is information, a sink with very hot water and washing machine charge of £2 50. Tv reception and on site wi fi is good Lovely places to visit close by.

gandry

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2021 11:28

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL!

A super CL set in awesome countryside. The WC / Showers were immaculate, with piping hot water. A small dish wash area is also available. WiFi was great - an added bonus for our teenage son! A 7 night stay flew by. The last 3/4 mile tow to the site is a little hairy. Contrary to other reviews, we did meet other vehicles whilst towing. It is a very narrow, bendy single track Devon lane. My advice is just pray! Most pitches are hardstands - ours could have done with some weed clearance / treatment. There were 6 vans on for a few nights, though one may have been seasonal, it was not separated. Separate tap for each pitch, but you need a good long hose it you want to permanently connect. A38 road noise is barely evident. Beware of the farm dog....she is lovely and friendly, but will have your bin raided if left out! Access to local area is very easy - suggest go back to the A38 and drop to South Brent junction to get to the Totnes road, rather than do the country lane shortcut. The butcher in Dartmouth was a trip highlight - amazing sausages!!!! (Spanish Chilli!) Pub in Rattery is a 25 min walk - very nice. We didn't eat there, but did enjoy a couple of drinks in the garden. For £15.00 per night - a must!

aalg425

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2020 08:03

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site with outstanding facilities and location.

Booked as a last minute replacement for a CL we didn't notice had no loos or showers, this was a real gem of a discovery. The views and spacious pitches are fantastic and it is incredibly peaceful. Yes you can hear the A38, but no more than a faint hum in the distance if the wind is in the right direction, not something I consider detracts from the positives of this CL. The professionally made self contained toilets and shower are exceptional and very modern with plenty of space, better in some ways than large site blocks as they are private and clean. Although we are quite local to this site it made a superb and peaceful break. Plenty of shops nearby at Buckfastleigh and Totnes and loads of excellent pubs nearby if you decide to eat out. Highly recommended.

Rolos mum

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2019 16:14

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem

We have just returned from this little gem of a sit having spent 12 wonderful days here. The owners Mr and Mrs Smerdon are so friendly and accomodating even down to asking whether we would be disturbed if the grass were to be cut on a Sunday afternoon. The 3 toilets and 2 showers were kept very clean even though one of the showers is a bit antequated. The access to the site for the last 1/2 mile is a typical narrow Devon lane with passing places but is not that well used in fact in all the journey's we made to and from the site over 12 days we never encountered another vehicle. The views over towards Dartmoor are splendid. We will definitely use this site again.

Ember100

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2019 15:00

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Shame about the A38

Very welcoming owners who put themselves out to accommodate us when we decided at the last minute to stay an extra night. Level hard standing with grass (cut and collected) to the side. Excellent, spotless loos with plenty of spare loo roll, cleaning materials, hot water, hand soap and wonderfully, paper hand towels! The shower may feel a little rustic but it was clean, wonderfully HOT and free flowing. Plenty of hooks for hanging up clothing, towels etc and 2 mirrors! Site on top of a hill looking across the valley. Wonderful views so pretty. Local lanes very narrow so take it easy but some big caravans there so obviously possible. Excellent centre for touring. So many places of interest within a few miles. Sadly the A38 lies in the valley so there is road noise. If this doesn't bother you then I can highly recommend this CL.

Alibongo5

Reviewed on 25/09/2017 10:17

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

CL at its best!

The best CL, we have had the pleasure in staying at!! Lovely spacious pitches, with superb views, and birdsong from dawn to dusk. Very distant road noise, and yet a stones throw from the main A38. If you take the turning too early, its up hill and down dale...if you don't it's literally 4 mins off the main road. The lane has a few passing places, and you would be unlucky to meet another outfit. This is a gem of a site, and may regret telling all....but feel one has to share! Two large toilet cubicles should you need-but great to have water and electric on each pitch. The site is beautifully clean and the owners on hand if needed-but not in your face. We WILL be back, as it is close enough to us, to make our second home! Real pleasure!

Wason and Wife

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2017 14:29

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer