Smugglers Rock Country House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely coastal site

We stayed here for 9 nights in May. The site is well situated and extremely well maintained. It is only a shortish walk to the National Trust centre in the village and to another tea room further on. Relatively easy access to Scarborough, Whitby and inland. Very easy access to the lovely Cleveland Way (aka KC3 path). The pitches are large and fully serviced. Recommended.

ClubMember0FD6B1ADB3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/05/2024 09:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A perfect site for exploring

Sharon and Mike are so accommodating, we always feel very welcome and the site is kept immaculate. We love the location as we can access the great cycle routes and walks, there are great places to visit in walking distance including Boggle Hole, Robin Hoods Bay and Ravenscar. The WiFi is very reliable and is a useful addition and having our own water tap and waste pipe makes life a little easier.

Fleep

Reviewed on 26/05/2024 18:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful Retreat

Our second visit and not our last, don’t change a thing with the exception of maybe a pot wash for BBQs, not a criticism though. You have created a peaceful haven for us. Thank you so much and see you again. We named your robolawn mower ‘Sir Killalot’ hope you don’t mind.

M3M

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2024 10:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for cyclists and walkers

About half a mile outside of Ravenscar centre this is an exceptionally presented and well-run site with easy access. We appreciated the location for easy access to the long-distance off'road cycle route (the Cinder Track) between Scarborough and Whitby, being located exactly midway between the two towns. This track is doable even with road bikes, easy with slightly wider tyres. Close too to the coast path for lovely coastal walks to the south, or Robins Hood Bay to the north. Note, no provisions available in Ravenscar itself so come stocked with sufficient bread and milk for example. The site owners have a great system of communication with guests before, during and after the stay making us feel very welcome and cared-for.

BrianAJohn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 10:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Pitch Up and Relax!

Quiet and peaceful, well tended and cared for caravan pitches by 'Merv' the robotic mower. Didn't met the owners until near the end of our stay as everything was done via the efficient website and booking platform, but we knew they were there if we needed them as they emailed just after arrival checking everything was ok. Was a nice refreshing change not to have to go knocking on doors trying to find someone to let you know if they wanted you in any specific pitch or not. The site is basic as in no toilet/shower, but each pitch is fully serviced with a tap of it's own and waste pipe to hook up to your van to save you filling and emptying barrels. You would just need your own fresh water hose and fittings for your van or barrel if you want to have the full easy life so to speak. There is also excellent Wi-Fi on site that you pay £1 a night if you want it. Pitches are all grass, marked out with little green flags to site your van which are where the grass has been reinforced underneath. We had torrential rain and high winds for the first half of our stay but the ground drained well, and it is so sheltered that you would not have known it was blowing a gale. Plenty of walks from site and one of the most peaceful we have stayed at. Highly recommend.

onthego247

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/10/2023 11:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An absolute gem of a CL

One of our favorite sites, it is very well kept and has water and grey waste point at each pitch. We always receive a warm welcome to a lovely peaceful site with beautiful sea views. In easy reach to cycle either to Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay or Whitby along the Cinder Path. Great area for walking and sea swimming and after a busy day there is great for reception on the TV or really good WiFi. Amazing seal sanctuary at Ravenscar just down the road. Thanks for another lovely stay.

Fleep

Reviewed on 02/10/2023 09:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal site for us

The site is immaculately kept and well organised. It is very quiet and peaceful and in a beautiful location. As a site it fulfills all of our requirements. Mike and Sharon are very helpful and always pleasant. We always enjoy our stay, return regularly and will be returning again next year. Thank you for our ideal getaway.

Steve and June

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/09/2023 14:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well kept CL

Very well kept Cl peaceful except for the odd car and tractor passing by. Dog friendly with plenty of walks to exercise the dog. Owners friendly without being intrusive, large pitches for caravan awning and car and picnic table if you need it Local tearoom (seasonal) about a mile walk and a couple of pubs within a ten minute drive Will definitely be returning to this site

GASTECH

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 14:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

There was no contact with the owners face to face but messages asking of our well being were received and if we needed anything. The website was fully comprehensive referencing eateries , beaches and places of interest , any questions that were asked were answered promptly. If you like takeaways you do have to travel , 20 to 30 mins . The site was immaculate , short grass cut by Merve the robotic mower . Fully serviced pitches even waste pipe supplied .Peaceful site with the sea in the foreground loved it , Will return .

srjones24

Reviewed on 18/08/2023 14:31

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer