Stackyard Nursery Caravan Meadow

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely break

Very efficient booking with Karen and no problems arriving quite late on a Friday. Pitch is perfectly level and well serviced with individual water and electricity. Owners are very friendly and welcoming. We will return .

ScreenName89D4BE6035

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 19:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Be aware! Road Noise!!

We used Stackyard Nursery C.L. in June 2019 and found Karon & Simon very welcoming and lovely.The weather was dry and sunny (mostly) and the site although flat is a bit rough in places. You have your own electric and water point & the grey water goes into the hedge (with the owners permission!) great for folks with bad knees! The toilet point is only 50 yds. or so away, although you have to unlock the padlock to open the gate first, but it's a bit of a rough emptying place & the water pressure is very low, making the whole procedure very slow. The MAIN problem with the site is the ROAD NOISE, which is only 20 yds. or so away from the vans. (The owners are aware of this fact.) A Hovis grain store is just down the road & the grain lorries start rumbling in at about 06.00 hrs until 2000 hrs. The local traffic is virtually constant. caused by 40 new houses being built 100 yds. away and the further increase in 30 or so other new houses already built in the village. All the traffic is using this quiet road as a 'rat' run because of the road works on the A14!! We know it's not Karon & Simon's fault, but it did spoil our holiday.

Harlyn

Caravanner from West Midlands

Reviewed on 20/11/2019 14:17

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely Spring break

We have just returned from a lovely, relaxing break at Stackyard Nursery. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed eating our breakfast outside this morning! Karon was very helpful with booking and was understanding when we had to cancel last weekend because of the strong winds. We found the site easily and Karon came up from the nursery to welcome us. The pitches are level and grassy with water and electricity to each one. The views are lovely over the surrounding countryside and we enjoyed watching the resident chickens and sheep. There is a little noise from the road at certain busy times - on Sunday there was no traffic at all. Just across the road from the site are meadows that we really enjoyed walking in and spotting birds. The village shop is easily walkable and Diss and Eye were a short drive away. We treated ourselves to a meal at The Walnut Tree, a vegetarian pub, and it was fab! Thank you for our stay and we hope to visit again.

TerryKW

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/03/2019 15:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

My favourite

I’ve become a regular and visit every month when I’m not at work, why ? Karon and Simon are wonderful, they welcome every arrival, ensure you are settled in and then leave you to enjoy, the rules are simple, respect each other and relax. Each pitch has its own water and hookup so if you want to put your outfit facing the sunrise, no problem, no military instructions, just be sensible. I have just returned today from a wonderful week, taking Sonia the Bassett with me, we both had a great time even when we got lost. I’ve been to many sites over the last couple of years, some better than others but all with little things that just irritate you, the most annoying being the feeling that somehow they are doing you a favour by letting you pay to be there, so when you find somewhere that makes you feel valued , treats you with courtesy and respect, it deserves praise, thank you Karon and Simon

flyme777

Reviewed on 23/07/2018 11:06

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely surroundings

This CL site is on the edge of a very pretty village and is easy to find. The 5 neat grassy pitches are in a row with newly planted hedges between them and each has their own water and electricity. The owner was very friendly when we made the booking. In the summer this site would be perfect, but just a word of warning for the winter months as you cannot use the laid out pitches if you're in a motorhome as you get stuck on the soft ground, although the Caravan Club directory says it's part hard standing and the owner made no mention of not using the marked out pitches. We mistakenly assumed the pitches must have plastic mesh under the grass.It was the first CL site we had visited and you live and learn. Instead, you need to park on the rough hardcore track that leads to the pitches, although if the maximum 5 outfits were there you would be hard pushed to fit in. The owner was not pleased with us and kept telling us how expensive it would be to repair the ruts left. A simple solution in the winter months would have been to string a rope across or place a cone in front of each pitch. There is also nowhere to dispose of grey water and we were told to drain it onto the hedge, although this would have meant driving onto the grassy pitch and I'm not sure how much soap and washing up liquid a hedge can take! We were staying for 2 nights but the owner told us, on arrival and after we'd paid, that the second night was going to be minus 9 degrees and icy. We later made the decision to only stay one night and then head for home, yet the owner was reluctant to return half the money at first.

Ray and caroline w

Reviewed on 17/03/2018 16:49

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hidden Gem

We really rate this site highly. It's a new one and the owners understand the needs of the caravanner who wants the basic facilities without any hassle. Each pitch is separate ,bordered by shrubs and with its own tap and hook up .its just on the edge of a lovely village with pub and shop.Karen the owner is welcoming and bubbly. Just wish we lived nearer. We'll be back.

lynny

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 18/06/2017 11:48

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Good Life!

We have just returned from a lovely short stay in Mendlesham. We live locally and took the opportunity to 'test drive' our new unit at Stackyard Nursery. This really is a beautiful site, well laid out with individual plots all with their own water and EHU. They all have unobscured view of the surrounding countryside. Karon and Simon are very welcoming and there is a farm shop selling good quality meat. There is also a beautiful nursery, with coffee shop and art studio under development (don't let this put you off camping as the new building is to the side of the nursery and does not detract from the views. We would wholeheartedly recommend this site if you enjoy relaxation, beautiful plants, flat cycling on quiet roads, woodland walks and a warm welcome!

JK7956

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 11/05/2017 16:37

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Good Life!

We have just returned from a lovely short stay in Mendlesham. We live locally and took the opportunity to 'test drive' our new unit at Stackyard Nursery. This really is a beautiful site, well laid out with individual plots all with their own water and EHU. They all have unobscured view of the surrounding countryside. Karon and Simon are very welcoming and there is a farm shop selling good quality meat. There is also a beautiful nursery, with coffee shop and art studio under development (don't let this put you off camping as the new building is to the side of the nursery and does not detract from the views. We would wholeheartedly recommend this site if you enjoy relaxation, beautiful plants, flat cycling on quiet roads, woodland walks and a warm welcome!

JK7956

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 11/05/2017 16:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for our first outing!

We came upon this site whilst looking for local CLs to try out our motorhome for the first time. We were pretty much first timers, other than a couple of times in loaned/hired vans. Karon and Simon were most welcoming and friendly, and the site was just what we needed to try everything out. There is a combination of hard standing and grass pitches (we chose grass, which was a mistake as it was a wet weekend! No worries though, as Simon gently pulled us out with his tractor!). There are, at time of writing, no toilets, but the othere facilities were perfect. They have a shop selling amazing produce - lamb, bacon sausages etc, so you'll be sorted for an epic breakfast, and there is building work on a new coffee shop in progress. A CL in its infancy, this is going to be a must visit when all the development is complete, and is still lovely as it is. We certainly plan to revisit when the weather is better, as its such a lovely place run by lovely people! Highly recommended!

Reviewed on 02/01/2017 11:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonderful start

I have just started my touring experience and chose this site as I knew the area. From the moment I arrived Karon and Simon were wonderful, helping me set up and offering advice, they are really wonderful people and the site is peaceful and immaculate, it was a fantastic start to my new adventures and I will be visiting them often, I am sincerely grateful for their hospitality.

flyme777

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 23:18

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer