Thatado Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Suburb and immaculately clean

We stayed here between homes and having just come out of lockdown. The site was immaculate with all hard standing pitches. The toilets were exceptionally well equipped with disinfectant wipes and bleach. No chance of COVID lurking here! Perfect for access to the Cotswold water park and Wootton Bassett is about 7 miles away, where provisions can be purchased. No local amenities but the standard of this site certainly makes up for it.

Said

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 22:11

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site for peace and quiet

Love this site. A quiet CL with loos, lots of space and beautiful countryside. Have been lucky enough to see deer, as well as fab bird watching. The road behind can be noisy but it soon blends into the background, counting the hay tractors in summer is a regular pasttime. The site is well maintained, and only a 15 minute walk to the local pub. Lovely owners who do everything they can to ensure your stay is perfect.

Dottydingle

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2020 18:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good 2 night stay after lockdown

Our first trip after lockdown was to walk the Thames path. We stayed at Thatado for our first 2 nights. Easy communication, and well spaced pitches allayed our fears. We were surprised to find the 2 simple loos open. They were spotlessly clean, and amply supplied with antibacterial cleaning products so you could sanitise it after you had used it. Everyone was very careful about distancing etc. Level pitches, with hardstanding, EHU and lots of empty grass for chairs etc. Some road noise at rush hour but quiet at night. We thought it was excellent, and good value. Thank you! .

Nomadmum

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/07/2020 16:47

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little CL.

Great little CL. The toilet block was a bonus as we had visitors on one evening!. The adjacent road can get a little noisy but nothing too bad. Great hard core very level (side to side) hard standings. Plenty of space between 'vans. Grass kept nice and short too. We will definitely be back when staying in that area.

MJG1959

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/05/2019 11:01

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Cl

Just spent one week here in a bitterly cold February! 16 amp hook up was nice as heater was used a lot. Nice friendly welcome from the owner. Good wide access from the road onto the site. Hard standing on all pitches, and we liked the open ness of the site looking out over fields. As already said, walks around the water park, and a hidden gem for us was the village of Aston Keynes, just a few miles up the road, with a shop and pub, but a lovely unspoilt Cotswold village off the tourist trail. An indoor market by the greyhound stadium about 25 mins away, had a cafe that did a really nice cooked breakfast at a good price too. There are 3 cafes there, the one we visited was on the right as you enter, entering on the left entrance. Royal Wooten Bassett has a good butcher shop and greengrocers, while Cirencester has a Tescos, Lidls and Aldis. I agree that the chemical waste point is one of the better ones I have come across. Yes, a bit of traffic noise at busy times, but not enough to stop us visiting again. One thing they don't advertise, and was a pleasant surprise is that you get 7 nights for the price of 6. Not sure if this is just a winter offer or not.

clifff

Reviewed on 16/02/2017 19:51

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

Had to be let in by the owners but that was due to me not understanding the instructions. Lol Lovely site and all the facilities needed for us. The toilets were actually heated

HazelB

Motorhomer from Clwyd

Reviewed on 11/12/2016 15:43

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

slightly disappointed

This site has a number-coded lock on the gate and the owner said she would text me the code before I arrived. This didn't happen, so as there was already a van in the gateway when I arrived, I was left partly blocking the road while I phoned her. The pitches, while hard-standing, were shaped such that an awning would have been half on grass and half on gravel. The loos were fine, but all in all, we thought £12.50 was the maximum we would have been willing to pay, so now that it's gone up to £15 we won't be going back.

LexiLexi

Reviewed on 23/09/2016 13:18

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice Short Break

Thatado Farm is a very pleasant CL on the Wilts/Glos border, roughly half way between Royal Wootton Bassett and Cirencester, both towns having much of interest to offer.  There are 5 generously sized hard standing pitches, each with 16A hookup and water points within easy reach. There are also separate toilets for gents and ladies. As has been said, the owners don't live on site but they meet you on arrival and give you a key for the padlock on the gate which gives good security. Although there is some road noise at busy times it's unlikely to spoil your stay. You are basically surrounded by field; there is a designated dog walk, but we were told that the dogs were welcome anywhere on the surrounding 20 acres. In addition to the two towns already mentioned there are many walks around the nearby Cotswold Water Park and the ancient town of Cricklade is about a 10 minute drive away. One thing to note about this site is that there are no shops or a pub within walking distance. That might be a drawback to some but a big plus to others! It's never going to win prizes as a holiday destination, but for a short break in the area Thatado Farm is ideal!

moulesy

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 24/05/2016 17:29

28 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely weekend stay

Just spent the May bank holiday weekend here. Excellent CL, completely level and all gravel hard standings but surrounded by grass so great for the dog. Kelly was waiting for us when we arrived, very friendly welcome and given our own key for the gate. I'd echo what others have said about the road noise but it's not intrusive and has the advantage of making it really easy to find and access. Thoroughly recommend this CL 

garethdeb

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/05/2016 16:06

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

November stay

We can thoroughly recommend this new CL site and echo the comments of the previous reviews. Even there was road noise it was not intrusive in the least. We particularly liked the gated access, and the owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. Pitches are a good distance away from each other with grassed areas between each pitch, even with a porch or awning up. Due to the high winds forecast we decided to leave early which was a shame as we loved the privacy and quiet. Apart from the towns mentioned in other reviews a short drive away is the lovely Lydiad Park. excellent for long walks, dogs, picnics and kids! For photos of the site please visit our web pages http://shelbeysadventures.weebly.com/

Taxidad

Caravanner from Norfolk

Reviewed on 15/11/2015 14:44

18 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer