The Bungalow

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small Site Spoilt by Overcowding

Entering the site was difficult as the gate was closed and the rear of the caravan didn't clear the road whilst the gate was opened. The welcome was fine and we were given the option of where to park. We were the now the fifth van on site which filled the small site of a quarter of an acre site. The trouble started when a sixth van arrived the next day. The owner placed them between us and an adjacent caravan filling the gap and then asked us to move our hook up lead to another too far away for a standard lead to reach The owner didn't seem to understand that there is a five van limit and that there is a recommended distance between outfits to avoid fire risks etc. The resolution to the problem was to move the new arrival to the bottom of the site between two other camper vans to share the hook up point , but the three outfits were only a few feet apart. Having said all this, the site is conveinient to Durham and all the attractions and there is a bus stop outside the site with a 3o minute service Pity the site is not better managed and has obviously seen better days and could do with a bit of TLC.

MikeHinks

Reviewed on 26/06/2019 09:12

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

May break

Visited site for May weekend , pitched up on hard standing near to bottom of site, there is grass pitches too. The owner welcomed us and told us where to find everything. There's some road noise from nearby main road but it's handy for visiting places around the area and not too far away from a supermarket and Brewers fayre. Hope to visit again soon.

mwatret

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/05/2019 18:40

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great for visiting Durham

We did an East Coast tour in May and June 2018 and this was one site l was not sure of. Easy to find but the new club sign is very missable. Seems to blend into the background unlike the red pennant. Site is as described by others. Great for visiting Beamish some 8 miles away. A fantastic centre. makes the Black Country Museum look small. The pathway out of the bottom right hand corner leads to miles of footpaths, the dog loved it. Owner and family all live in adjacent bungalows and there is always someone about. Bit of noise but not at night. Park and ride a few minutes away but Durham was a little disappointing. Perhaps because we had the dog with us and couldn't actually get into attractions. One site for next time.

peatman

Reviewed on 21/06/2018 12:39

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Basic sloping field by main road

Basic, sloping field right beside busy road. We visited early April 2018 and the very wet weather had made the grass area unusable. It also made it difficult to get close to the services as surrounding land was very soft. Owner was very friendly and helpful. We found some hard standing to park on with ramps and it is OK for a single night. Not sure I would use it again.

crumblygappers

Motorhomer from Morayshire

Reviewed on 03/04/2018 19:35

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What you would expect for nine quid

I basically agree with the other half dozen previous reviewers. Wecomed and shown where things were as soon as our wheels stopped rolling. Toilet clean, hot and cold sink in same room. Some road noise at peak times, and some dog barking, but you get that wherevever you go, especially if prowlers are likely near your property. Very handy for visiting places of interest without putting too many miles on. Good value for £9 a night.

faz726

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 03/09/2016 15:09

24 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site for short stay

Stayed here a couple of nights and found it ideal. We didn't use the wc so can't comment. The site is slightly sloping but there are blocks about to use if required. The service point is adequate and the grass was reasonably short. There is a park and ride just a short drive away and the site is just off the main road so good access for travelling around. There is a large supermarket with fuel about 3 miles away. Very helpful and chatty owner and for the price, overall great. The only downside we found was, a car and caravan can't wait on the entrance drive to open the gate without hanging out onto the road, this was worse when leaving as I had to park on the busy road till my wife had shut the gate. We would use this site again.

spudlylight

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2016 17:54

38 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

like it

after reading some of the review i was not sure if i made the right move when i booked. After staying for 14 nights and found in a very nice site to stay. The noise from the road ? (did not both us, at night very little) enjoyed the stay as we went back againe after 2 weeks. Looking at it for next year.

gtalbott8944

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/10/2015 14:24

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Value For Money

You can see the CL sign from the main road. You can use Sat/Nav to get you there. The site is sloping and levelling blocks are a must. There is a toilet on site but we did not use this. There is a public right of way next to the site and it is a nice dog walk across the fields. This takes you to the main road and if you cross the road there is a pavement to walk on back to the site. There is a bus stop just outside the site and a regular bus service into Durham. The drink water and chemical waste are in the bottom corner of the field and perhaps would benefit from being slightly screen off. There is some road traffic noise however I think this is reflected in the price. Well worth a short stay.

Dieseldoris

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2015 15:39

18 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What more can you ask for??

An excellent CL. Been rolling for 15 years and this is as good as it gets. Well maintained site, good rates and friendly owner. Site is nearly level and there are some blocks to help supports in rear hedge. This is part of the charm of a CL am very surprised at some of the whiney comments - if you want spirit level flatness go to a hard standing on a club site. For me its CL's every time and this is a very good one.

WilliamonWheels

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 17:13

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Durham on a budget

Taking the grandchildren to a CL with no shower was a risk but they loved the space to run around. The site details should say levelling blocks required you most definitely ned them. Fortunately I found some blocks of wood in the hedge which I left for others to use. The ground slopes in two directions and we could have done with a ladder to reach the caravan door. There is road traffic noise but you forget it after a time. Superb location for visiting Beamish and Durham.

Floridians

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2013 16:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer