The Gables

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fully serviced pitches at a lovely location.

We had a welcome from Tony and Lorraine upon arrival who made sure we were settled in and aware of the metered electric. Each pitch has its own tap and grey water disposal on a hard standing. The added benefit of the Gables was the enclosed dog paddock where our greyhound was able to trot around. Lorraine provided details of local information should we have required places to visit . We made a visit to Tissington to see the Well Dressings , recommend at the correct time of year. This is certainly a CL that we would visit again as we had an enjoyable stay. Dave & Vi

Nicechor

Reviewed on 20/05/2024 22:43

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil with helpful hosts

We spent 3 nights on this fully serviced, hard standing CL site. The hosts were excellent, providing clear directions beforehand by email and a list of local amenities. They were also extremely helpful when we got a flat tyre with recommendations for local garages. The site is well located for Ashbourne and local cycling routes. Highly recommended and will be visiting again.

ClubMember4E256475E9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/10/2023 18:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Welcoming CL

We have just spent 6 nights on this fully serviced, hard standing pitch. Excellent site beautifully kept . Lovely welcome from Lorraine, supplied us , on line, all the information about the area, places to go, bike trails, walking trails, shopping etc. Lovely fish and chips from Queens , dont buy too much large portions.

srjones24

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 12:04

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful

What a warm welcome by Tony and Lorraine. An immaculately kept site, beautiful views and so peaceful. We have used a lot of CL sites but this is now one of our favourites. Our dog absolutely loved the dog walking field and the facilities are far superior to a lot of CAMC sites. We cannot recommend this site enough and will be back with friends

Stephen Plowright

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/08/2023 15:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL!

We have visited many CL sites over the years and The Gables is one of the very best. Tony &Lorraine are very friendly and welcoming but never intrusive. Our dog loved the enclosed dog field, and like us didn’t want to leave! Close to lots of lovely villages and interesting places, nice pub - shoulder of mutton nearby, plus fish & chip shop. Spacious pitches each with water supply & grey water disposal, site is so obviously well cared for and maintained. We will definitely be visiting again!

ChippyTea

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2023 14:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best CL sites you will find

Just returned home from staying 7 nights here for the first time, we cannot recommend this place enough. It’s a beautiful, well thought out site, very peaceful, an amazing fenced area for the dogs and the owners Tony and Lorraine were so very welcoming and friendly. Set in a beautiful part of the country. A short drive into Ashbourne where there are plenty of shops/supermarkets. Lots to do close by but yet feels like your a million miles away from anything. Super detailed email from Lorraine recommending places to go …. restaurants/cafes/shops etc we will most definitely return and can highly recommend. Fabulous.

Chris and Sally

Reviewed on 02/07/2023 13:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Van and dog heaven

What can I say, probably the best CL we've been to. All five pitches have hard standing, EHU, water and grey waste. Setting is idyllic with lovely views. Access is good from the main road and owners Tony and Lorraine are very welcoming and friendly. Plenty to see and do in the local area, good dog walks and a great, secure dog walking area on the site. Don't miss this gem of a site, we will definitely be returning.

ScreenName6BF2494919

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2023 17:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb CL site

Visited twice in May 2023 we enjoyed it so much. A great CL ste ,quiet and picturesque.Great facilities for dogs ,ours loved the long ,fully enclosed and well kept dog run. Lorraine and Tony will look after you as much or as little as you require. Great location to explore all the Peak District has to offer. Very relaxing,we will be back soon.Highly recommended. Peter and Marie

ClubMemberD06CFD29B9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2023 17:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cracking CL site

You’ll get a warm welcome at The Gables from Lorraine & Tony who are genuinely friendly but not intrusive. Information for arrival and for the surrounding area whilst on site was great too. A very clean and tidy site with a large dog walk opposite the pitches. Good walks in the area and a pub (Shoulder of Mutton) about 2 mile away that does good food. It’s definitely worth a visit if you wish to stay in Derbyshire and one we’ll definitely be revisiting.

Vantage19

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/05/2023 18:47

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best One YET ! CLINT says!!

This is a great CL with really friendly owners and fantastic facillities for dogs and people.We had a great stay and will be going back Lorraine and Tony go the extra mile for everyone that stays there We could not have been happier with our stay Dawn and Colin

ScreenName78094E06C5

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/05/2023 17:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer