The Knole

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Views

A nice site with easy access. It's worth spending a little time to work out where to pitch as there are a few slopes to contend with. The views make it all worthwhile though. EHU's are in the centre of the site so long cables required if you want to pitch towards to periphery. There were no problems with noise during our stay with minimal farm traffic. Elson disposal a little basic, lift manhole cover and tip directly into tank, but OK. 

AlanGL7

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/11/2014 21:32

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb site for access to the western edge of Dartmoor

The Knole is perfectly located for exploring the western side of Dartmoor. Predominantly sloping grass, there is an area of hardstanding just inside the site entrance which would probably be suitable for two caravans or motorhomes. At the far end of the site there are superb views through a gateway of Dartmoor with Widgery Cross/Brat Tor, Great Links Tor & Great Nodden easily identifiable. The EHU & water supply is located in a wooded area in the centre of the site, so long electric cables will be required if you decide to pitch around the edge of the site. However, the owners do have some extension cables if required. There is a very basic information room that also houses the recycle bins. Walking & biking from the site is easy with the Granite Way only half a mile away which is the old railway line between Okehampton & Lydford. Other trails also come through the area such as the West Devon Way, Two Castles Trail & the Dartmoor Way. On our walks we managed to find pubs on the entry/exit to the moors – those being The Fox & Hounds at Shortacombe; The Bearslake Inn at Lake Sourton [a superb thatched inn which we would highly recommend]; the Dartmoor Inn at Lyford. All were welcoming hostelries after time spent walking the tors & moors. There is a pub [The White Hart] and a newly opened [in 2013] post office/shop in Bridestowe village that sold all manner of goods and daily newspapers. There was some farm traffic noise at the end of most days but we didn’t find it particularly intrusive. We were visited daily by Rex the resident dog who came to play with our dog Louie. We saw Mavis & her husband on arrival and departure but they were always on hand if the need arose. The site fee of £12 per night was a fair one we felt. We have no hesitation in recommending The Knole for a relaxing stay on the edge of Dartmoor.

Pilgrimphil

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/08/2014 12:03

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just a lovely site

We have been here several times and it never fails to give us a great holiday, even in the occasionally suspect weather that is inevitable on the edge of the moor. A friendly welcome is assured both from Mavis and her site superintendent, Rex the border collie who will check all is well every morning. If you want to walk or cycle around the lovely Devon lanes this is a great starting point with easy access to the moor as well. Great value

ChrisnDeb

Reviewed on 30/11/2013 07:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site with Beautiful views

Arrived at site, called at the house to check about where to pitch,lovely warm welcome. Fantastc views, well kept grass and very friendly farm dog. Great area for cycling on cycle paths or bridle ways. yes there was a little tractor noise, but thats what we would expect in the countryside. hope to visit again.

Reviewed on 04/09/2013 16:54

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An Oasis of calm

We arrived after a long journey down to be met by stunning scenery and a very friendly welcome. We had the site to ourselves for the first few days and enjoyed the peace and tranquility. There was a little bit of tractor noise but nothing that was intrusive. My daughter enjoyed seeing the cows and sheep. The White Hart was very welcoming and we had a lovely meal. Local wild swimming spots were tranquil and surprisingly uncrowded especially Salmon Leap near Castle Drogo. Would recommend and hope to return. When we left there were five of us on site and we all had our own space and were not cramped in any way. Cant understand previous bad review can only imagine that there wasn't any consideration as to parking the caravans.

Mother Hen 4

Reviewed on 31/07/2013 12:33

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A stunning CL site

We have caravaned for years all over Europe but love this site so much we keep returning. The scenery is Dartmoor at it's finest and if you value privacy and peace then this is the place to go. We were shocked to read a poor review on Knole Farm making it out to be something it is not. There is plenty of space for five vans and it is bliss if you are on your own!! It is a working farm and that is clear in the Club write up, it's a bit like people complaining about church bells when they live next to one. Knole Farm is a gem, Mrs Bickle is too and we cant wait to go again. Thank you.

Paul Tyzack

Reviewed on 01/07/2013 14:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We loved it....

Despite the review from last year we booked all the same. Just had a brilliant week at the CL. The most noise we heard was from the sheep who graze alongside the site. Mrs Bickle was very helpful on arrival and we had the site to ourselves for the first 2 nights. Its very quiet & secluded with lovely views towards Dartmoor. Everything you need is there and even leaflets in the shed showing things to do in the area. The grass was tidy, the site was clean. One of the very best we have stayed at. Plenty of National Trust places for visiting and Lydford Gorge walks was really good. The pub at Lydford did a great lunch. Don't be put off by the grumpy person who "wont be returning" .... its well worth a visit.

henryfrombg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2013 21:53

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our Favourite Place

We have been visiting Knole Farm, several times a year, around 5 or 6 weeks in all, each year, for 8 years. We have never experienced any undue tractor or machinery noise, other than you would expect on a busy working farm. We travel 300 miles to stay on this site and really look forward to it each time. Mr and Mrs Bickle are very pleasant friendly people, and have always made us very welcome. They always keep the site clean and tidy, with the grass kept short and the grass clippings are all gathered up as well, (which we have not always found on other sites). There is a lovely view of Dartmoor from the site, which is nearby and easily accessible to walkers. Also the site is a good base for going off on bikes, down the lanes and along parts of the disused railway line. When we stay on the site, we feel very privileged to be there, and would not hesitate to recommend it.

2suffolkfoxes

Reviewed on 27/06/2013 14:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Its perfect!

We've visited The Knole CL for the last 3 years at all different times of season approx 12 times now! We appreciate it is a working farm and whilst there is noise this has never stopped us visiting the cl again. Many caravan club sites have been just as noisey with trains etc if not more so. The setting is perfect and we spend almost everyday walking and taking in the stunning scenery. We've always been made very welcome by Mr & Mrs Bickle and Rex the dog. We've recommend to several people and will carrying on doing so and visiting ourselves. Can't wait till August!

hobnobbiscuit

Reviewed on 01/04/2013 19:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We won't be returning

We stayed at this site for four nights in August 2012. Firstly, the positive: it is a most picturesque site: the grass is well kept and the hook ups are located amongst quite a few mature trees in the centre of the site. A long hook-up lead will enable a unit to move further away from other units that may congregate around the trees. There is a hard standing: I would say this can only accommodate one unit - two units here could well be not to the liking for most people. The lawned area has quite a slope and could be inaccessible to some vehicles after spells of wet weather. We have camped all over the country for many years in both tent and camper van. Our recent visit will rate as one of the few awful experiences we have had. On the first night there was only one other unit; for the following three days we were on our own. The first evening was quiet; on the third night we arrived back at the site at 11pm. On the second evening, for a couple of hours, we endured the sounds of a ride-on lawnmower that was cutting the lawns of the farmhouse, 50 yards from our unit. This continued after dark, past 9pm, with the ride-on mower entering the campsite to dispose of cuttings in another field. There was obviously some heavy work at the farm on the third day: continual sounds of machinery in the farm all day long, with four tractors with metal container-trailers banging over the uneven drive that passed two sides of the site. We went out for part of the afternoon. The noise, which was appalling, akin to the sounds of our council refuse dump, continued until 9.30pm. We timed the comings and goings: a tractor and trailer passed us 19 times in just one hour – a rate of once every three minutes. The four tractors and trailers finally left at 11pm. The same was happening on the following morning when we left. We do appreciate farmers have to work in the countryside whilst we just go there to get away from it all. We also appreciate that it is difficult time for the rural community and that this year’s bad weather has caused problems. I have no idea if the noise problems we experienced are on-going or that we were just unlucky. However, I am certain that the necessary noise from a working farm and the function of a CL are incompatible. We would have appreciated an apology at the time, if not a warning when we booked that anticipated noisy work could be taking place. We won't risk returning to The Knole.

andsally

Reviewed on 24/08/2012 08:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer