The Lodge

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent stopover site.

We stayed just the night, similar to others, very convenient when travelling from Scotland to Cornwall. As it was just the night then can't comment on local facilities, places of interest etc. There is however a cracking little nature reserve next to the site that's good for a wander. There is a toilet & shower block, very clean. Usual facilities for empting and filling, all good. Nice and level pitches. The warden met us on arrival, very friendly, all the relevant information provided. Would certaily recommend the site.

ScreenNameC00935E7D6

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/05/2024 10:03

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A gem

We stayed here for two nights to break our journey from Cornwall to Scotland as it’s about halfway. Conveniently close to the M6 and easy to access, but you can only hear a faint hum of traffic from the motorway, certainly not intrusive or disturbing at all. The access road that passes the site leads to a small industrial estate and is a privately owned road and rather potholed, but it wasn’t too bad. There was the occasional noisy passing truck. We were warmly welcomed by Jane and Brian, onsite wardens, who showed us where the facilities were. The toilet and shower block were kept immaculately clean (in difficult conditions - the grass was waterlogged and muddy after torrential rain). The hard standing pitches were spacious and angled well for privacy. Both Jane and Brian and owner, Dec, proved extremely helpful when we had a fuel “crises” after our arrival. Very much above and beyond the call of duty and very much appreciated. Thank you. There are a couple of pubs in the village: the Railway is within walking distance but had only recently been taken over and they weren’t serving food. Rather unwelcoming but it may improve (?); the Gresley Arms is about 5 minutes drive away up a steep hill. What a lovely pub: good real ales; friendly staff; great food; fabulous views; warm and welcoming atmosphere. We are very happy to have found this site and will definitely return as we travel between Cornwall and Scotland a couple of times a year.

ScreenName9ACF92CFEF

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/12/2023 11:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First start to Motorhoming

Our first venture out in the Motorhome, what a perfect first start. Communication with the owner was so easy. Wardens looking after the site were extremely helpful. Fabulous walks from the site around the beautiful Nature Reserve. The local Indian take-away delivers right to the gate and the food was amazing. The fish caught in the lake were in immaculate condition. Can highly recommend this site for the peace and tranquility.

ClubMemberB739EA41EC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/08/2023 11:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great welcome, great views.

On arrival there was s small area (around the toilet facilities) with hardstanding set in trees. We were lead through a gate and the surroundings opened up to a beautiful view over the fishing pond (free whole staying on site) and beyond to hills. The wardens looking after The Lodge, were extremely helpful and friendly pitching us in a delightful spot that ran along the back of various evergreen trees. The weather was a very mixed bag during our stay, but our location was close to the main shops and our friends who live in Stoke. The toilet block was immaculately kept with 2 toilets and 2 showers (fee payable for shower). On our last night we enjoyed a very tasty Chinese meal from the local takeaway only 2 minutes up the road by car. We would definitely return. Only point to mention is the lane leading to the site has a badly potholed surface. Extremely bumpy.

bigpolish

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2023 12:15

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Hidden Gem

We stayed at this site as a late decision stopover on our way back to Central Scotland from the Cotswolds. We got to Keele Services and realised we were too tired to drive much further having had a busy few days. We took the chance of contacting Wendy to see if they had a pitch available that night and she could not have been more helpful and accommodating. Once we got to the site, Brian the site manager was on hand and was absolutely charming, making sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The site is in a wonderful location and is extremely peaceful. We would definitely stay here again and would love to explore the area during our next stay.

ScreenNameD48C7305E2

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/02/2023 18:13

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site.

We have stayed at "The Lodge" on many occasions. It is extremely easy to get to being a couple of miles from the M6. There's a warm welcome when you arrive and a pitch is allocated. It's a very quiet and peaceful site with grassed over hardcore pitches which are nice and private due to trees screening the pitches. T

Ahkid994

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/09/2021 16:52

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Site

From the moment we arrived, we felt comfortable and at home. We had to stop at the nearby town of Alsager to visit a vet and while there got a curry and a shop! Close to the village and the nature reserve, a walk around the big lake is 1 mile, give or take! . Lots of walks in the area. There is some road noise, but only if you listen for it, but on the other hand it is a 10 minute drive off the M6, so a great stopover. Free fishing on site, with your booking and two bigger lakes you can day ticket, buy off site. Facilities are open... There was a party next door, but noise wasn't an issue for us. We'll be back! www.threegotravelling.com

sarahandric

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/07/2021 21:06

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Would have been great but…

Nice site with a good location and great for dog walks. Unfortunately there was loud music and shouting until midnight. Perhaps just an unlucky weekend, better on a weekday or out of season?

Mark Burton

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 07:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of my favourite sites

Brillant site, right next door to a nature reserve, our two dogs loved it, out 3 or 4 times a day, each time a different route. Facilities spotless and more importantly - OPEN. Pub food just around the corner which we ordered and collected, it was lovely. Must be a great site if you are a fisherman as two lakes within walking distance. Great but tragic story to the area. We will be back soon with friends and family.

Buggyman

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/05/2021 19:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A bit wet

Stopped here for two nights in mid-Oct on the way to the Lakes - £15 per night. There had been and was a great deal of rain so not the best time to visit. The Lodge Caravan Site as it is called comprises two areas. The first is the CL which is enclosed with trees. Each of its 5 marked pitches look inwards and towards an old pump house that has been converted into a well appointed shower toilet block. There is some hard standing and a track running through the CL into a much larger open area of gently sloping cut grass. Here the pitches are unmarked with no hard standing. They appear to be for seasonal use and have fine views of the surrounding countryside and an attractive fishing pond. Both areas are shown in the online description of the CL and have EHUs and a fresh water point. Due to the rain the track running through the CL was muddy and the larger grassed area was too slippery for vehicular use. We didn’t have good TV reception from our omnidirectional aerial. The CL and an adjoining nature reserve are on the site of the Minnie Colliery where 156 men and boys perished following an underground explosion in 1918. More detail on this and the area’s industrial past can be found on line. With only a day to explore we didn’t cover much. The village of Audley can be reached on foot in about 20 minutes where there is an assortment of small shops including two supermarkets. There are footpaths, a disused RW line and the adjoining nature reserve to explore which includes a lake. The area was quiet bar the distant hum of traffic from the M6 which is only a couple of miles away but out of sight.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/10/2019 19:15

72 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer