The Meadows

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely campsite

What a gem of a campsite owners couldn't of been more helpful from making the booking to leaving even on the morning of departure they came and thanked us and wished us safe travels counting down the days till we come back Matt n Helen williams

47xx57

Campervanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 22:03

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Such a tranquil site, loved it.

We stayed here 2 weekends running when we were down to explore the area. Such a warm welcome by Helen and Jon, the pitches were all hardstanding and well spaced out and such beautiful surroundings. The set up on site is great and all facilities are very well maintained and clean. Even the toilet waste was easy and ideal set up. We loved our stay and would highly recommend this site. Some roads are narrow on approach so just do your research and get best access to site... But the time spent on such a tranquil site will be worth it. Thanks Helen and John for making our time on site so welcoming and peaceful.

Taxi4JonSon

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/05/2021 22:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A hidden gem CL

Our 10 day holiday staying at the Meadows CL was excellent :) The owner Helen met us at the entrance and walked down to the CL field to show us the pitched. All 5 hardstanding with room for the car beside and an awning on the grass. Great views from these spacious electric pitches. Water and Elsan within easy reach. There are a number of dustbins (emptied and new bags in daily) to allow for recycling. The welcome pack explains the split. The toilets and showers were currently closed for C19 safety (we were aware of this before booking). We had a water leak - Helen to the rescue with mop, bucket and towels. Thanks Helen :) Pub in walking distance. 10 minutes drive to Babbacombe. Best route (the typical area local roads are narrow) is provided on the website (http://meadowscaravansite.co.uk/) or contact Helen.

sheilaandandrewp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2020 20:43

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Other site owners could learn alit from this site. 5 star pluss.

dont be put off by the industrial site type entrance , you pass through this and turn into the most beautiful CL site. Immaculately kept Small pond in the site and a much bigger one above , which we were told our dogs could swim in. Dogs don’t have to be teathered , just under control. The owners have a black lab who pops by for a chat . Everything is right about this site, the grass is cut, the waste bins are all built into cupboards, no traffic, no aircraft, just birds singing. There is a shower and loo for your use kept locked and a key given to you on arrival. They are modern and spotless. The owners are just lovely people . And work hard to provide a wonderful environment. Only thing you could improve in is to fence off the view of the caravan storage area but when the shrubs grow up you won’t see it. I highly recommend this site . It’s the best kept one we’ve been on in 20 years .

Dolly605089

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/05/2019 08:02

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and beautiful

We arrived at the site to a lovely warm welcome from Helen the owner she gave me a welcome pack and then came down to the site explaining we’re ev was and left us to set up this is a well kept site hard standing and plenty of room and grass around the pitch the road down to the site is a little tight but not a problem we have been down tighter ones this site is in a little hamlet peaceful and to site and here the birds was a dream you are only 10 mins from the places of interest and lots to see and do this is our 1st vist and it won’t be our last thanks the Helen and John her husband who never stopped working lol and not forgetting Harvey the dog who came to see us every day and our puggies loved him till next time thank you

pugmad

Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 09/09/2018 21:12

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

With 10 hook ups this really is a commercial site

First our three moans. This is not a CL. We booked for the CL but found on arrival that the CL field, with its 5 hard standings, was full. We were located in the field that you drive through to get to the CL field. Here there are 5 more hook ups so it’s not an overflow site. This caravan site, therefore, takes 10 vans not 5 and as it was almost full most nights it should be considered a commercial site not a CL. Our second moan is the approach. The lanes are very narrow, winding, steep and most passing places are only big enough for cars. If you were to meet another vehicle towing a trailer then you could be in a lot of trouble. There was a lot of straw by the roadside suggesting that just a few weeks ago this access would have been very busy with tractors and trailers. Our third gripe is about Harvey the dog. He’s a very nice dog but he’s allowed to roam the site and seemed to arrive at our van every time we lit the BBQ. Not a good example when club members are meant to keep dogs on a lead. Also, when you can’t see your dog you can’t see where it’s doing ‘stuff’. Now the good bits. Very nice helpful owners, lovely surroundings, excellent toilet and shower block but to pay another £1 for a shower seemed a little tight when you’ve already paid a hefty £18/night. The owners were also very understanding when we had to return home early. However, we won’t be back for the three reasons mentioned.

sadlybroke

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 16/07/2018 07:30

57 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The meadows

This is a lovely site. Beautiful surroundings. We had a very warm welcome. The toilets and shower were spotless.

ralphandshirley

Reviewed on 14/06/2018 22:05

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Hickeys Adventure

What a fabulous CL this is. We arrived here on the 10th April 2018 after a 6 hr drive in the pouring rain and it was still coming down. Helen the owner gave us a warm and friendly welcome and information of where everything was and left us to set up. We managed to get the awning up in between showers and that was our set up for the next 17 nights The toilet block is immaculate 2 toilets and a shower ( £1 per shower ) The drinking water tap is the best we’ve ever had sensible hose attached didn’t drip and was so fast it took only a minute to fill the aqua roll Helen and John were very accommodating Even did some washing for me at a small charge which I was so grateful for as we were they’re for almost 3 weeks They have a beautiful black Labrador called Harvey who came to visit us every day. We would definitely go back to this CL We had a brilliant holiday Thank you Helen The Hickeys and Bailey

Hickster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/04/2018 09:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

simply idyllic

What a wonderful site. Very friendly welcome from Helen, nothing to much trouble. The scenery stunning, the peace and tranquility just so welcoming. Very well cared for site with two beautiful lakes. Just perfect. This CL is all you could wish for if you are a caravaner, your own little piece of heaven. Thank you Helen, hopefully we will see you soon.

bladesy17

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2017 12:18

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charming Site

Once you get onto to the site it is a beautiful peaceful site. We used sat/nav and were taken down a very very narrow road which in a motorhome we did not think we could navigate (the over grown bushes we're keep hitting our motorhome).  We rang the owner Helen who arranged to meet us straight away and took is into the site a different way (it was still narrow but you had places to pull in if you met oncoming traffic).  The pitches are hardstanding and large and the bins, water and chemical waste are clearly marked and extremely clean.  There is a toilet block on site.  There is a large lake on site for fishing and a dog walk.  You can walk to a pub along the back of the site it will take you about 10 minutes.  We found that if you came out of the site and turned left it was a better road for the motorhome to get to the main road (you came out at Devon Motorhomes). The road was still narrow but we found that if we met on coming traffic they were more than happy to reverse and let us through.

Dieseldoris

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/09/2016 23:12

18 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer