The Shieling

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful, friendly and peaceful

We have just spent a delightful week at The Shieling and have to say in our three years of caravanning (maybe that’s not long!) this is by far our favourite site to date. We have generally stayed on the bigger Club Sites before but find we much prefer the peace and informality of sites such as this. We were welcomed by Mark on our arrival and he directed us to our pitch - the last remaining one (of five) but certainly one of the best, overlooking beautiful countryside and with views across to the sea. There was quite a slope to the field but extra blocks are provided. The shower/wc was spacious and always spotless and everywhere was extremely well kept and cared for. We have an old dog so the adjacent wooded footpath was a blessing. We had supper at the Three Swallows on two evenings and had perhaps a better experience than some other reviewers - the food was excellent and the service acceptable. If and when we return to Norfolk, we will definitely book into The Shieling.

John and Ali

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 16:59

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Sheiling - Excellent

We stayed for a week in June, the site is spacious away from the hustle and yet close enough to local facilities in Cley. The site sits overlooking miles and miles of quiet countryside. The Shieling is very well maintained including the toilet and shower room. There are no rules on site as such with the friendly owners simply requesting you look after your spot. A real chill out location. Excellent - recommended.

JohnShoesmith

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 21:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, well-kept site.

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at this CL site. The site is quite large with very spacious pitches for five units and wonderful views across to the north Norfolk coast. The shower and toilet room is also spacious and is spotlessly maintained. For dog owners there is a track just by the entrance which goes through a wooded area by the site and leads to a network of footpaths across the beautiful, surrounding country-side. We received a very warm welcome from Mrs Randell and were able to choose our own pitch and reserve the pitch next to us for my brother, who was arriving later that day. Ramps are needed for motorhomes / campervans due to the sloping nature of the site. Lovely places to visit nearby but, as mentioned in another review, if wanting a pub, avoid 'The Three Swallows' just down the road unless lack-lustre, disinterested and unhelpful service is your thing! Would love to stay at 'The Sheiling' again when next in Norfolk and highly recommend!

MR DAVID P RICHARDS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 00:27

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site on the North Norfolk Coast

We have just returned from a lovely couple of nights away at this CL site. Upon our arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Mark and Lorraine. The site has beautiful views across the rolling countryside, towards the sea. It’s extremely peaceful and the sunsets were amazing. There is a spotlessly clean toilet and shower block and recycling facilities. The walk into Cley takes about 15 minutes along a quite road. We visited the famous deli and smoke house and walked along the coastal path into Sheringham (about 10 miles). Thankfully the Coastal Hopper bus offers an excellent service, so we used that for our return journey! There are three pubs within walking distance. The local, the Three Swallows, was disappointing with patchy service and food (perhaps we visited it on a bad day?) however we later enjoyed a few beers at the Wiveton Bell. The walk back from there is very idyllic and we saw a barn owl. We will certainly be back!

Suffolk John

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 16:32

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Full marks to the Randell’s

Just returned from a week here. Very impressed with the CL’s Covid regime with hand sanitizers available at all the relevant locations. We were allocated pitch 5 which suffers from a considerable slope both front to back and side to side. Mark was extremely helpful when I asked if I could reposition the van and came to my rescue with some levelling ramps. Site is sheltered with a wood on two sides, a high hedge on another and an open rail fence providing beautiful views across the valley in the Wells direction and the sunset. Site access is straightforward but care is needed on the suggested approach down the lane from Holt as the entrance on the left is set back from the road on a bend. We drove passed and had to turn round which caused some problems to local traffic! Would recommend particularly if you can secure one of the four pitches at the top of the slope.

tonytourer

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 09/10/2020 13:14

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

This is our second visit to the Sheilings; such a lovely cl with great views! Received a lovely welcome from Lorraine. The CL is very well kept and peaceful. Had a fantastic few days stay. Visiting Cley, Morston and Blackney. Recommend Wiveton Bell for a meal but you need to book before hand. Thank you for a excellent stay and see you in May next year. Sally and John

Sally Bretherton

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 02/10/2019 21:06

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Long weekend anniversary break! Perfect site

Absolutely fantastic few days at this wonderful find! From our first email to arriving in site, brilliant communication. The site itself was perfect, on arrival after about twenty minutes the site owner Lorraine came over and made us feel very welcome. The Randell’s have Got this just right.... the shower room is extra £1 but it has everything you need, even extra toiletries if you’ve forgotten anything! We’re great walkers and this site is just lovely and in a perfect location for Cley, where there’s the most gorgeous delicious deli ! Fish smoke house and pub for a swift pint on the way back! We had lunch at The Wiveton Bell which took us twenty minutes or so to walk to.. just lovely! Will we be back?. Oh yes! Thank you to The Randell’s ! We had a perfect long weekend Hope you have a well deserved break for winter.. see you next year! Lots of love from Ali & Steve Dyer And Brie the lab 🐾🐾🐾🐾🐾🐾

Lawshall17

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 22/10/2018 16:57

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We couldn’t ask for more!

This is one of the most peaceful CL’s we have ever stayed on, there is a road but no noise from it at all. Lovely views and the whole site beautifully kept - grass regularly mown so no mess in the van. The Randell’s have thought of everything to make their visitors stay easy and welcoming, even spare toiletries in the shower room if needed! Walking into Cley is only 15 mins, the deli there has lovely produce but there’s a Spar in Blakeney for general groceries. We discovered just before we left that the Budgens supermarket in Holt has a coin operated washing machine and tumble dryer which would be very useful for a longer stay. Thank you Mark and Lorraine for a wonderful two weeks.

Peterpam

Reviewed on 20/06/2018 12:27

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect site

We have just spent ten nights at this wonderful CL. The site is very well maintained with the use of toilet and shower (extra cost) available if needed. The walk into Clay only takes ten minutes or so, where there is a lovely deli type shop. We made good use of the coastal bus service in order to walk most of the coast between Hunstanton and Cromer. The area is simply stunning and peaceful. There are lots of walking, cycling, sea fishing, bird watching opportunities, we had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and to top it off it was sunny every day, what more could you ask.

JanetMelanie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/06/2018 18:48

15 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL site

We've just enjoyed a lovely week at this CL site. Really friendly owners, toilet/shower facilities were always clean and had little personal touches which made it like a private bathroom. Peaceful with lovely views, close to lots of local beaches, nature reserves, lovely for walking. We will definitely be returning to this site!

Richlisa

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 31/08/2017 07:47

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer