The Shieling

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It’s all about the pitch

Just returned from a 7 night stay, the site is in a great location and has a fabulous view. Definitely follow the owner’s directions as it is very easy to find if you do. Visited the Three Swallows pub a few times and found the food excellent, it is within walking distance but some of the lane does not have a footpath. I think my only negative was our pitch which was number 1 as it was close to the entrance and bathroom therefore everyone had to pass by to exit/enter or use the bathroom and didn’t feel as private as all the other pitches, I would love to have stayed on either 4 or 5 as they looked over the views and didn’t have anyone disturbing them, that said I would still recommend.

Gregorys27

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2024 11:27

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Shieling gives you a perfect feeling

A perfect feeling of peace and tranquility. Immaculate site, with spotless toilet/shower facility. Dog walk straight from the site entrance was perfect for our elderly girls. Lovely walk into Cley, recommend the Picnic Fayre deli, Cley smokehouse and if you are up for a longer walk, Cookies Crab Shop at Salthouse is fabulous. Beach walks all easy to access from The Shieling. We had a fabulous stay in August 2023, highly recommend.

Lady Penelope 35

Campervanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2023 22:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

We love Cley

We love Cley, we've been coming here for years so we might be biased but we're delighted to have found a handy camp site in our favourite area. The Sheiling is a small but perfectly formed site, with good facilities and in walking distance (ours, at any rate!) from two nice pubs. It's certainly not a flat site; once we'd pitched up in April we decided to leave the camper van where it was and just walk everywhere, but it's a great spot to walk from and to return to.

ScreenName0AAB5FF8E1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2023 15:23

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL site in North Norfolk

The Shieling is perfectly located for exploring the North Norfolk area. The site is well kept and although sloping, we had no trouble levelling our van. Mark greeted us as soon as we arrived and explained where everything was. The facilities are better than one would expect at a CL, having loo and shower unit plus books and DVDs to borrow whilst on site. The local pub is The 3 Swallows. Contrary to some previous reviews, we found it to be pleasant with friendly service and reasonable food. The pub has been under new ownership since November 2021 so this may explain the earlier poor reviews. The views from The Shieling are lovely, and the walk into Cley village is quick and easy.

Son0703

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2022 21:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delightful, friendly and peaceful

We have just spent a delightful week at The Shieling and have to say in our three years of caravanning (maybe that’s not long!) this is by far our favourite site to date. We have generally stayed on the bigger Club Sites before but find we much prefer the peace and informality of sites such as this. We were welcomed by Mark on our arrival and he directed us to our pitch - the last remaining one (of five) but certainly one of the best, overlooking beautiful countryside and with views across to the sea. There was quite a slope to the field but extra blocks are provided. The shower/wc was spacious and always spotless and everywhere was extremely well kept and cared for. We have an old dog so the adjacent wooded footpath was a blessing. We had supper at the Three Swallows on two evenings and had perhaps a better experience than some other reviewers - the food was excellent and the service acceptable. If and when we return to Norfolk, we will definitely book into The Shieling.

John and Ali

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 16:59

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The Sheiling - Excellent

We stayed for a week in June, the site is spacious away from the hustle and yet close enough to local facilities in Cley. The site sits overlooking miles and miles of quiet countryside. The Shieling is very well maintained including the toilet and shower room. There are no rules on site as such with the friendly owners simply requesting you look after your spot. A real chill out location. Excellent - recommended.

JohnShoesmith

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 21:11

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful, well-kept site.

We've just returned from a fantastic 4 night stay at this CL site. The site is quite large with very spacious pitches for five units and wonderful views across to the north Norfolk coast. The shower and toilet room is also spacious and is spotlessly maintained. For dog owners there is a track just by the entrance which goes through a wooded area by the site and leads to a network of footpaths across the beautiful, surrounding country-side. We received a very warm welcome from Mrs Randell and were able to choose our own pitch and reserve the pitch next to us for my brother, who was arriving later that day. Ramps are needed for motorhomes / campervans due to the sloping nature of the site. Lovely places to visit nearby but, as mentioned in another review, if wanting a pub, avoid 'The Three Swallows' just down the road unless lack-lustre, disinterested and unhelpful service is your thing! Would love to stay at 'The Sheiling' again when next in Norfolk and highly recommend!

MR DAVID P RICHARDS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 00:27

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site on the North Norfolk Coast

We have just returned from a lovely couple of nights away at this CL site. Upon our arrival we were made to feel very welcome by Mark and Lorraine. The site has beautiful views across the rolling countryside, towards the sea. It’s extremely peaceful and the sunsets were amazing. There is a spotlessly clean toilet and shower block and recycling facilities. The walk into Cley takes about 15 minutes along a quite road. We visited the famous deli and smoke house and walked along the coastal path into Sheringham (about 10 miles). Thankfully the Coastal Hopper bus offers an excellent service, so we used that for our return journey! There are three pubs within walking distance. The local, the Three Swallows, was disappointing with patchy service and food (perhaps we visited it on a bad day?) however we later enjoyed a few beers at the Wiveton Bell. The walk back from there is very idyllic and we saw a barn owl. We will certainly be back!

Suffolk John

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 16:32

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Full marks to the Randell’s

Just returned from a week here. Very impressed with the CL’s Covid regime with hand sanitizers available at all the relevant locations. We were allocated pitch 5 which suffers from a considerable slope both front to back and side to side. Mark was extremely helpful when I asked if I could reposition the van and came to my rescue with some levelling ramps. Site is sheltered with a wood on two sides, a high hedge on another and an open rail fence providing beautiful views across the valley in the Wells direction and the sunset. Site access is straightforward but care is needed on the suggested approach down the lane from Holt as the entrance on the left is set back from the road on a bend. We drove passed and had to turn round which caused some problems to local traffic! Would recommend particularly if you can secure one of the four pitches at the top of the slope.

tonytourer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2020 13:14

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

This is our second visit to the Sheilings; such a lovely cl with great views! Received a lovely welcome from Lorraine. The CL is very well kept and peaceful. Had a fantastic few days stay. Visiting Cley, Morston and Blackney. Recommend Wiveton Bell for a meal but you need to book before hand. Thank you for a excellent stay and see you in May next year. Sally and John

Sally Bretherton

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/10/2019 21:06

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer