Ty Cerrig

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

My favourite campsite ever

We come here every year on our anniversary and for the price it is excellent value. We get to wake up in the morning and see the beautiful hills and countryside out of our window. There’s so much to do nearby and after a busy day we get to come back to a peaceful and clean site with good facilities to rest up. There’s hard standing and grass pitches with water and electric so you have all you need. Myfanwy is so welcoming and available for anything additional you may need. This site is well worth a visit. We love it and will continue to come every year.

Team Rainbow

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/08/2023 15:34

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and scenic

Lovely rural site for a restful and quiet five days in February. The site was easy to find off the main road and had everything we needed - EHU, tap on pitch, good recycling facilities and access to a shower and toilet. Warm welcome from Myfanwy and John who gave us useful advice on walks in the area. There are plenty of places to walk directly from the campsite - mainly kept our dog on a lead because of the sheep. It is a working farm so we enjoyed the sounds of the hens, sheep and sheepdogs at a distance and loved listening to the owls in the woods at night. Didn’t want to leave as it has been a great place to get away from it all (and we were lucky with the weather).

MrsSLW

Reviewed on 12/02/2023 10:50

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A peaceful, scenic CL with character in a beautiful location

This is a very scenic CL on the edge of a working farm. Easy to reach and find. The pitches are spacious and slightly sloping but easily sorted with levelling blocks. There are 3 hardstanding. WiFi is available near the farmhouse but chances are you won't get it on your pitch. Worth noting if you can't cope without it. We have EE mobiles and had a good signal. We don't bother with TV so couldn't comment on that. John and Myfanwy are pleasant, helpful and unobtrusive. The toilet and shower are clean and look perfectly useable. They are not far from the pitches but are up about 6 rustic stone steps with a hand rail. You need a torch if walking across in the night. There are fantastic dark skies here with virtually no light pollution. The WC emptying point is quirky to say the least. It is reached by walking through a small, level, grassy enclosed orchard where there are hen houses and rams. The rams just watch you and are harmless. You need decent footwear. The babbling brook/river is lovely to listen to. There are good recycling facilities and a picnic area where you can use the chimenea. The views are fantastic with forest and Cadair Idris in the background. A great location to explore South Snowdonia and the coast. You need to stock up well as there is no big name supermarket nearby. The Eurospar sells a good range of everyday and speciality items but is a bit pricy. OK for a few bits. We have had a lovely week here and would recommend if you really want to get away from modern life.

DEEDEE25

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2022 11:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very handy for Bala

We stayed here in July with our Granddaughter who’s 15 and loves paddle boarding so really good being so close to Bala and the coast is in easy reach. Nice quiet CL with friendly owners.

Jill and Steve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2022 16:24

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect location

We stayed here for one week un May 2022 We loved the location of this CL as it was perfect for visiting local area. We faced our caravan towards the field which was lovely. The site was full when we stayed but still plenty of room. There is a shower and toilet if needed on site too. The owner, Myfanwy, is lovely - very helpful and friendly and keen to make sure everyone is happy. If you have dogs, we discovered a perfect walk close to the site. Just turn left out of CL entrance and follow the lane to the dead end From there you can walk your dogs up the tracks off lead if needed.

SKIBBLE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2022 08:20

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, peaceful site

We have had a wonderful 2 nights at this site. It is so clean and peaceful. Also really good to have a fully serviced pitch To be able to sit outside our Motorhome and listen to the birds and stream going by was so relaxing. Myfanwy and John were very welcoming and helpful. There are some lovely walks directly from the site into stunning countryside. We bumped into a very friendly farmer, on the next farm up the hill who we chatted with for 20 minutes. Also good for cycling. We plan to return in the future for a longer stay at this lovely site. Thanks for being so accommodating when we had to cancel a day at very short notice, due to having a window broken in a accident shortly after setting off from our home. Becky and Neil

ScreenName8E6FEB7919

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/07/2022 18:43

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful site with a babbling brook

Just returned home from four days of bliss, this site is in a beautiful place and so peaceful Mr and Mrs Evans are so helpful lovely people very tidy and well kept , this site will definitely be on our return list . Thank you for making us feel so welcome. Carol and Grahame Chapman

ScreenName0F191AA1CA

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/03/2022 19:04

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Sheltered Site

Myfanwy was the perfect host. We were so impressed with how sheltered the site was that we booked in for an additional week. We had to spend two days in the caravan whilst three storms came across the UK. Apart from the occasional gust and obviously the rain we were oblivious as to how bad it was out there. When we emerged we realized how other people and places had suffered. Myfanwy checked on us and popped down once it was all over and bought us some fresh eggs from her chickens. We didn’t use ‘the facilities’ so could not comment on them but our pitch had water, electric and grey waste so it was perfect for us. The river that runs to the side of the road is idyllic and makes the site such a perfect setting. It must be fantastic in the summer months. Whenever we are in the area this would be the only place we would stay.

ScreenName5967629766

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/03/2022 22:34

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Wonderful Site By A Babbling Brook

A last minute booking made over the phone, the owner, Myfanwy came to find us when she arrived home after having told us on the phone where to pitch up. She was very warm, hospitable and welcoming, and we got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble. EHU and fresh water at the pitch head. WC and shower facilities are a short 30 yard stroll towards the farm house, however be warned access is only achieved via 2 short flights of exterior stone steps, therefore would not be suitable for some with disabilities. An extremely quiet sight although one of the neighbours clearly has barking dogs which can be heard in the distance but weren't enough to be a problem or keep us awake. We are really looking forward to a return visit when the weather improves.

ScreenNameB99A7B09FC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/12/2021 15:02

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

The perfect North Wales beauty spot.

My wife and I recently spent nearly four weeks in this idyllic location. The owners, Myfanwy and John are the perfect hosts. Once we had put the legs down and got the kettle on we walked the 100 yards to their farm cottage and were greeted by two of the nicest site owners we have had the pleasure of meeting in over 40 years of caravanning. Over the next weeks we often bumped into them as we walked to take a shower and they always had the time to ask if everything was ok and if there was anything else we needed; there wasn't. The site was impeccably maintained, the grass cut as soon as a caravan or motorhome moved on, the toilet and shower were cleaned every morning by Myfanwy and regularly inspected. The three off 240v power supply, drinking water and grey water stations were well spaced allowing the caravans a generous privacy gap. The Elsan point was around 80 yards away from the pitching area The location was, as per the title of our review, idyllic. The grass site layout was wide enough so that we could drive down the approach road, pick our spot, pull forward so the front of the caravan faced the panoramic view, unhitch and drive out forward, perfect. A large quantity of levelling and chocking blocks were available, yards from the pitches if needed. The view from the front of the caravan was beautiful. A lush green meadow spread out in front of us which formed the perfect foreground to the welsh mountains which gave a natural backdrop on the other side of the wide valley. Location was perfect for us, approximately half way between Dolgellau and Bala we had access to two beautiful complimentary Welsh towns. Eating out was a handy ten minutes to Dolgellau, weather you wanted a Pub Grub pie and a pint, a bag of chips in the old square, or a high quality restaurant meal this small town offered it. Barmouth was a short drive away along the Mawdach estuary (One of the most beautiful estuary drives in the UK we think) with many lay byes to stop at, admire the view and get out the flask. If you are interested in aircraft then this is your site. The Mac loop training valley is around 12 miles from the site, a short pleasant morning drive through the welsh valleys, take a flask, sandwiches and your camera. We saw F15's, Hawks, Ospreys, Texans, Hercules and many other aircraft in our several visits. Machynlleth is a beautiful market town again a pleasant drive away offering a good selection of shops, pubs and cafes within a typically Welsh stone town. We were scheduled to stay for three weeks but took an extra week on the spur of the moment ( we are retired) because we simply did not ant to leave. Very highly recommended. We will definitely be returning to this absolutely idyllic location. Highly recommended. Mark and Bev Jarvis

ScreenNameB8C3117D42

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/11/2021 08:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer