Upper Hawthwaite Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

Lovely CL set in delightful surroundings. Lovely views & nicely spaced pitches. Hard standings with ample grass in between. Spotless free loo & shower facilities. Following an accident departing from another CL the Johnson family, owners of Upper Hawthwaite, immediately came to the rescue in ensuring the damage caused to my caravan was made weather proof. Close to the village Broughton in Furness and routes to further afield. Lovely bakery, provisions store & pubs in the village. Would love to stay here again.

Zaffyann

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2021 14:08

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One to return to!

We found the site a real gem! The views are great; a choice of 6 pitches. One of the pitches does have a high hedge along one side however this screens you from the working farm area so it would be simple to move your unit around to accommodate the views should this be the only one left available. All pitches are hardstanding and although they are a little sloped, if you move your unit well on to them they do level out quite a bit. But I'd take your levellers then you can get your unit spot on. The grass area at the side of each hardstanding is plenty big enough for a decent awning. However if you have a huge awning I'd maybe call first and ask if you can have the largest slot at the end reserved; I'm sure the owners would oblige. The site is a working farm for agricultural vehicles but we did not find the noise intrusive at all and the site is wonderful and peaceful all evening and night.... the usual countryside noises of cattle etc. The shower and toilet were clean and very serviceable. A fabulous area for walking with many walks directly from the site; the owners have laminated copies of local walks which we found very useful. We really appreciated the helpful and informative comments which enhanced our enjoyment of the walks. Just along the single track lane ( 1/4 mile) to your left is an honesty box selling homemade biscuits, fudge, local honey and drinks. In the other direction (right) and down to Broughton Mills (right at the TJunction) is another honesty box selling eggs. Keep walking down to the mill and you come across the Blacksmiths Arms. This is certainly a site we will visit again.

Reviewed on 20/07/2020 12:00

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quite

Very quiet here, If want to sit in your caravan and look at the views forget it ‘ looking out of the van all you can see is a high hedge; our caravan door is on the other side so we could see the hills when open so long as no one is in the pitch beside you, Dog walking on site is not an option really but the road just outside the farm is relatively quiet. Shower room is quiet spacey and the shower is good and powerful however If you’re of a largish build it is quiet a small cubicle! We didn’t find the pitch sizes to bad but If you had a large awning you could find your a little to close to your neighbours . I’ve put a couple of pictures on caravan & Motorhome Facebook page just so you can see the view from inside the caravan

GANDALPH

Reviewed on 04/08/2019 12:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

lovely cl shame about noise from building work

stayed recently at Upper Hawthwaite and found actual site very tidy and toilet facilities immaculate. Beautiful views of the mountains. Only downside was the noise coming from building work at the farm. Pity, at times it was impossible to sit outside and relax.

yelmrap

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 17/07/2018 13:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely very quiet site

We really enjoyed our visit, very quiet site, often nothing could be heard other than a sheep baaa-ing in the distance. Spotlessly clean loo/shower room. Lots of walks from the site, Stickle Tarn was stunning and the pub at Broughton Mills is a great place to stop for a drink on the way back

GeorgeHes

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/07/2018 09:42

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site.

We have been to this site many times over the years. The new owners are maintaining the very high standards of this cl. A warm welcome from the young couple combined with the stunning surrounding scenery makes this one of our favourite sites.

sybonie

Reviewed on 26/05/2018 14:32

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Jewel!

The Caravan Club describe their CL's as their 'jewel in the crown'. Having stayed at a few, I can testify that there a lot of them are not, but Upper Hawthwaite certainly is a Jewel!

muso71

Reviewed on 20/05/2018 19:55

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal CL

We stayed at Upper Hawthwaite for four nights having selected it for proximity to the south western fells. What a lovely site; quiet, with stunning views of the fell including The Old Man of Coniston and excellent facilities. The shower even had a heated towel rail - a much appreciated touch. Nearby is an excellent inn. What more could we want? We’ll be back!

Judith60

Reviewed on 09/04/2018 07:17

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect!

This is the finest CL I have ever stayed at. Great facilities, very tidy, beautiful views, cheerful and friendly owners, and a lovely part of the Lakes with excellent Wainwright walks nearby. What more could you ask for?!

JohnGooder

Reviewed on 04/09/2016 15:57

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

IDYLLIC FARM SITE July 2016

Probable the best kept farm we've stayed on. Friendly welcome from Martin and Pauline. Absolutely beautiful position, as peaceful a CL you could find. Lovely pubs near by and Broughton for local produce and goodies less than 10 mins away. A great location for South Lakes and coast, will be back when next passing through. Phil and Nina.

gunnaigh

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 24/07/2016 09:08

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer