Weston Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic !

Absolutely fantastic little site. It's far too cheap ! We paid them £10 a night, anything less would be an insult. The site sits on the river Avon. There are 3 pubs within walking distance. All the surrounding roads are nice and quiet so easily able to cycle too. Stratford upon Avon is easily accessible walking or cycling. Farm shop just around the corner. The owners are so friendly and welcoming.

Yappieone

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 16:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and well cared for site

Lovely cl on the bank of the river Avon. Pitched up right next to river and able to sit watching the barges and canoes go past. Peace and quiet on the site but with easy access to Stratford on Avon. Farm shop on site and easy walk into the village.

mawig

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/06/2021 15:54

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent !!!

They say, " The clothes maketh the man ". Well, it's equally true, " The owners, maketh the site ". Our first time here, for two nights, and our first encounter with Richard and Philippa. These are fine people, of great humour, and an easy going spirit. We immediately had the feeling of being welcome, like long time friends. We were offered advice on walks and the area, but as we were quite local, we knew it well, and our intention after working hard all week, was to do nothing. So much so, on a later encounter with Richard, he'd noticed we'd moved. Our chairs !!! We were permitted to pick our own spot, which was easy, as anywhere would have been enjoyable. We'd read other reviews, as one does, and found the site to be as great as described. We sat outside the first afternoon/evening, it was becoming chilly as the day faded, but we were well cladded with clothes and enjoyed very much, the peace of the place, and it's clean air. The second day, breakfast outside, and a small picnic with a drink at the river bank, where it's possible to fish for £1.50, I believe. Many other sites, charge £5.00, and more. We shared some banter with passing river-going adventurers, and friendly neighbours, then the picnic continued into the evening, back at the Motorhome. Where we slept very well, on both nights, with zero disturbance. This is a really beautiful setting. Some may point out limited amenities for information, quite rightly to help others choose, but to have fresh water and emptying facilities, nowadays, is all one generally needs. Coupled with the open personalities of Richard and Philippa, and the lovely setting, it made us want more. Being fairly local, we hope to visit many more times in the future, when space is available. My Wife and I, really enjoyed our stay. Excellent !!!

Eugene and Karen

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/04/2021 11:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our perfect t site

We came for 2 nights and stayed for 4. Emptying and water are the only facilities but we have everything else on board. Right by the river, boats passing through, lots of birdlife . We loved it ,so peaceful and the owners are very friendly. We will definitely be back

LynBob

Reviewed on 18/09/2019 13:14

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Glorious CL!

We visited this CL last weekend and absolutely loved it so we returned this weekend. We got a warm friendly welcome from Richard on both occasions. The location is amazingly peaceful with wonderful views of the river Avon. It is not often these days, even on CLs, that one can say there was absolutely no road noise but it is true, just the occasional tractor in nearby fields. There is a wide variety of birdlife to be seen ranging from herons, woodpeckers and treecreepers to, if you are very lucky, the blue flash of a kingfisher. We even saw a flock of thrushes today, a sight we have never before witnessed! We walked part of the Heart of England Way one weekend then to Barton, the opposite way along the river bank this weekend, the scenery was spectacular. We also encountered some friendly folks who were travelling along the river itself. We recommend a visit to the butchers in Welford on Avon, just a ten minute walk away and also a visit to Richard and Philippa’s farm shop. We bought some lovely fresh vegetables, Bramley apples and eggs, delicious. Thank you Richard and Philippa for a truly relaxing stay on both occasions, we will definitely be back to visit again!

CB999

Motorhomer from Warwickshire

Reviewed on 16/09/2018 19:37

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful spot

Check when you book if you’re going into the CL or the rally field next door. The rally field is pretty uneven and a motorhome will want to go on the left side. Easier in other areas for caravans. The owner was friendly and kind but we had a run in with a rude, unpleasant man and his wife who obviously behave as if they own the site and bully anyone who gets in their way. We made the mistake of trying to pitch up on the same side of the rally field as them and got abuse and sworn at for blocking their view. I’ve never been spoken like that. The owner tried hard to please everyone at so we moved back to the CL. Lovely access to the cycle path to Stratford by going left out of the site. Welford is beautiful to and lots of little pathways take you along the river and through the village to Maypole. We had a fab meal at the Shapespeare Inn.

Liz Gibbons

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/08/2018 18:18

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Love this place

This has to be the quietest CL we've ever stayed at. Owners super friendly and helpful. Perfect for a bike ride off road into Stratford. We arrived when it had been raining and were a bit worried about getting stuck on the grass but it's very well drained and had no problems. I'm guessing if we did get stuck the owners would have pulled us off with their farm vehicles.

Reviewed on 12/09/2017 09:39

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Riverside Location

We stayed here for 2 nights in early July and found it a great location for exploring Stratford-upon-Avon which could be reached by bicycle along a former railway line. Stratford itself not very cycle friendly but everything was in walking distance once there. Whole area good for cycling. The site is adjacent to the River Avon and it was interesting to watch the boats going by. The owner also has a farm shop with lovely fruit and veg.

patronk

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/07/2016 16:03

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little overcrowded?

We recently stayed on the camping and caravanning site next door and owned by the same people. In fact, as a rally was due on the caravan and camping site, we were offered a pitch on the caravan club site even though they didn't know we were members. When we looked we saw that there were already 10, yes 10 outfits on the site. If you consider this site, and would like some space, I would suggest you check how many rigs are booked in.  

Polis

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/05/2015 08:04

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Geese and quiet.

Access to Weston farm is easy via wide lanes that have few complications other than the odd cyclist and the occasional horse rider.  Directions are from Stratford but travelling from the northwest it is possible to cross the Avon at Bidford and Binton(?) where the bridges are limited by weight (10 tons) and not width.  These routes are very picturesque.   We were spotted by the Bluck family within 5 minutes of our arrival... I suspect it was because we passed their homes - rather than by telepathy or CCTV.  Thus we received a warm welcome with information about local walks and pubs… and the likelihood of floods.  We didn’t bother with the walks and we were not flooded.  More about pubs later… The site is a perfect, vast grassy square with a 100 sq m “apron” of hard-standing by the gate.  The CL slopes gently to the Avon which was, during our stay (Feb ’15), flowing faster than I can run.  I imagine that many a football has rolled into it and been swept away.  The site is mowed by 22 Canada Geese which do a much better job than a conventional mower or sheep.  Two or three times a day they nibbled their way in ranks up to the caravan and then  marched back to the river… only to be swept away in the current.  Shortly after they disappeared, they would re-arrive in honking squadrons that landed on the water, disembarked and resumed grazing. The site has practical and fully functioning facilities.  The taps are at a sensible height, the sluice is at ground level with only a dustbin lid to lift. The bins are clearly marked.  It is a 60m walk to the taps and sluice – further if you pitch up on the river bank.  I didn’t try the TV signal (no electricity) but Radio 4 came in loud and clear.  The 3 network was hopeless and registered “nil” for the 4 days that I was there.  02 was better with enough signal to send/receive texts and receive data (just)… but hit-and-miss with phone calls. If you want a unique pub experience, try the Fleece at Bretforton.  Its about 20 minutes south by car.  It has good ales and ciders and a good menu.  It is also the only pub in the UK owned and run commercially by the National Trust.  It is a hub for folk music.  It has an annual asparagus festival in May. It has various devices for trapping witches.  During my stay it had a gathering of melodeon players who were outstandingly good (noisy maybe – but good). I loved Weston Farm.  It snowed, it froze and I used 6kg of gas in 4 days.  But I’ll definitely go again.

Vernon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/02/2015 19:17

21 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer