Aberbran Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely Fabulous

Stayed here over spring BH, it was so peaceful. A great welcome from volunteers Mark and Jayne day n arrival. The site is a former railway station and is long and narrow. It’s beautifully maintained and a credit to the volunteers who run it. The site is a mixture of grass and hardstandings all well maintained. Being away from the main road it was extremely quiet, only birds to break the silence! Brecon is about 10 minutes away, also the Brecon canal is great for easy walking. Also a short drive away are Crickhowell and Hay-on-Wye, both worth a visit.

Sioban

Reviewed on 03/06/2019 13:07

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful and enjoyable.

Just spent 14 quiet nights here again, needing a relaxing break. Had the usual friendly welcome on arrival. The site was in immaculate condition, as usual. There were numerous wardens working on the flowers on one day, obviously taking great pride in the site. Always a pleasure to visit here, and the wardens always have time for a chat, also recommending some first-class local eateries. We’re already looking forward to our next visit!

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Little Gem

I lovely gem of a site, all volunteers very pleasant and welcoming. No hesitation in booking again.

ScrummiCakes

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/05/2019 08:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful Bolthole!

A lovely peaceful site tucked away in the middle of nowhere and surrounded by fields of newborn lambs. There are no facilities other than electric here, and the tv signal is poor so it's probably not great for families. If on the other hand you want peace and quiet, it is just perfect! There is a bus stop half a mile away on the main road. To my delight I discovered that buses in Powys are free at weekends. The tireless wardens work hard keeping the site in immaculate condition. And talking of wardens - they are the friendliest, most helpful people you could ever wish to meet. Now I really hope that I haven't encouraged hoards of people to stay here as I'd like to keep this secret to myself!

catspyjamas

Reviewed on 31/03/2019 21:55

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Second stop of Welsh roadtrip

We first stayed here 2012 when we had a caravan and had a wonderful holiday one of the best we have had. The volunteer wardens were amazing. Now we have a campervan (Trigano Tribute) and this year for our two week hols are on a memory lane trip taking in a few new places aswell. We had just one night here 16th september. Again brilliant welcome from the volunteers fair play to them without them the site would close and it would be a sad loss. The wardens this time used to volunteer at Mildenhall so they had come a long way!! No toilet block on this site but still one of the best please dont ever close it! We will always come here when in the area.

rodencooke

Motorhomer from Clwyd

Reviewed on 30/09/2018 20:11

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

We stayed on this site for two nights recently and the wardens who were volunteers David and his wife were so friendly and helpful. The site is very quiet and tranquil we stayed on the platform where you have views across the valley. The site is an old railway station and there are photos in reception of the station in its Heyday. Thank you for a lovely stay.

ClubMemberE0057E0779

Reviewed on 17/09/2018 19:26

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Would not return to this site

This was the first site we stayed at on our summer holiday. We drove 10 hours to get there, so arrived later than everyone else. As it was the weekend the place was almost full so we ended up with what felt/looked like the car park. We asked the warden if there were any other spots available, he reminded us that he was a volunteer and didn't need the hassle. Most of the vans were only there for the weekend, while we stayed on till Wednesday. As we had an awning, it wasn't worth moving the van when site emptied. Our view was of the service point and what ever car was left there each evening. The car park was quite long, but oddly the cars always parked right opposite our van. On the day we left, I asked the guy who owned the car who had parked opposite us the previous evening (instead of beside his own van) if he could move it to make it easier for us to leave. His reply was the warden told him to park there and if I had an issue then I should take it up with the warden. Apart from that, it was a quiet, pleasant site, ideally located for exploring the Brecon Beacons. Unfortunately the attitude of the warden would put off returning to this site.

grahammurphy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 22:09

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pretty Little Site

We used Aberbran on our way to and back from West Wales. Site was easy to find and we had a warm welcome from both sets of wardens. The site itself is long and narrow with mostly grass pitches, some of which are on the short size. There is a pleasant short dog walk useful for first and last walks. We called in at the PYO just up from the site, which sells fruit, together with very tasty sausages, and has friendly staff . Brecon is an interesting town, useful map available at reception. We liked the site and would use again for a longer stay.

64 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant for relaxing its so peaceful and quiet

This site is a little gem. We stayed for 4 nights (were booked for 5 but our house alarm went faulty and we had to leave one night early). This site is brilliant if you want peace and quiet and see plenty of wildlife then this is a must. The wardens are SO helpful, nothing too much trouble and always with a smile. We forgot to take our National Trust book away with us and asked the wardens of any local properties to visit. They went out of their way to find out the details for us and we had a great day out. The site is beautiful with plenty of flowers displayed and well looked after, also the site is pristine, and the facilites immaculate. Our pitch was really good too and we had views of the Welsh hills and watch the red kites. Pure bliss. Well done Aberbran.

thedorsetbunch

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2018 19:41

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Perfect ten days

The roads from Cornwall were all good, only a few yards of narrow road were encountered when reaching the site and this was not a problem. There were spaces to choose from and we opted to take a grass pitch on the slightly raised area which used to be the railway platform, behind which ran a scenic dog walk on the embankment. The pitch was really level and of a generous size, giving us lots of sunshine. If you re looking for a small, quiet country site, then this is it. We did experience Wifi dropping out occasionally so my phone used some data allowance. Our van is ten years old and has an omni- directional flying saucer aerial with no adjustment. Using this we were only able to tune in five TV channels with no BBC or ITV. This was overcome with the purchase of a powered indoor aerial which sat on a seat back in the window. We then got 25 channels. We were particularly impressed with the volunteer wardens who welcomed us to the site. They were Graham and Barbara Hall. Graham generously loaned us a TV aerial extension lead so we had more flexibility when positioning the indoor aerial. The Halls were replaced half way through the holiday by Nigel and Annette (no surname) and they too were extremely friendly and helpful. The Club is very lucky to have such good volunteer wardens to keep this site going. Every time we returned to site, they were busy working. Fortunately, the weather could not have been better and we were able to add an extra day to our stay. I would fully recommend this site to adults and dog owners, but feel it is a little small and lacking in facilities for children. I am sure that we will return to this site again as the surrounding Brecon Beacons are absolutely stunning!!

Merrittsman

Reviewed on 28/05/2018 17:42

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer