Buxton Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Second visit and just as good as the first!

We stayed at Buxton for 2 nights at the beginning of June and met our friends who live in Yorkshire. This was our second stay. The first being in February with our VW Transporter camper before we upgraded to our new caravan. The site will always have a special place in our heart. The first time we were complete newbies and the crew had great fun in teasing us back in Feb - but we survived the wind, the rain and the snow and it was on this site we fell in love with the CAMC. The site is spotless, Tracey and all work incredibly hard to maintain these standards. Every inch of the site is meticulously cleaned and well presented throughout. The laundry room and wash up rooms are well equipped and the shower block is new and modern with basin facilities as well as large showers. The pitches are large and well positioned within the old quarry. The setting is simply stunning. When we returned in early June we were greeted with sheep and lambs on the road up to the site. Just merrily minding their own business but what a picture postcard view - absolutely breathtaking. The Peak District is one of my favourite places on earth. You can take a walk through the country park which brings you out at Poole’s cavern where you can visit the incredible caves. There is also a go ape in the country park if you age children who would want to try the high and low ropes. Once you get to Poole’s cavern at the bottom it’s about 10 mins walk into Buxton where there are so many great eateries and pubs that you are simply spoilt for choice. We liked the Sun Inn as it was dog friendly. The food is fantastic with great portions and a good range of beers. The park is a must do. There is ice cream and a micro brewery where you can sit outside and enjoy the sun (if it’s out) whilst you refuel. We will return in mid July for another 3 nights here because it is such a great base. We will probably go down the road to leek and explore Staffordshire this time around which is just 15 mins up the road. Thank you Tracey and all the crew who make this site so good.

Roy and Lyndsey

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2024 20:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely peaceful site

Lovely site in old quarry. 30 minute walk through woods to Buxton (elderly/disabled campers please note steep uphill walk on way back). While Buxton has some lovely historical buildings all worth visiting, the actual shopping street is very poor indeed. Was disappointed to see no bins at service points. Yet again, convenience to site wardens overrides inconvenience to campers. Otherwise, site and toilets maintained in good clean condition.

Alan Urquhart

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/06/2024 10:49

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

This is a great site for a peaceful getaway; we will be back next time touring in this area

ClubMemberB1C1F4B3E7

Campervanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2024 08:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Grateful for being flexible

Many thanks to the team at Buxton. we used the site as a station for a local squash tournament. They let us check out later and accomodated our needs having not booked it. If I was not able to, this would have been stressful and inconvenient. They went above and beyond! Very clean facilities, would definately return. Matthew Nott

ScreenName0CFE2F6F37

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/05/2024 11:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

I’d like to say thank you to the warden who l woke before 6.30 in the morning as l had locked myself (and dog) out of my van. He helped me get back in and was very, very kind and patient about it, especially given what time it was! Thank you so much. It’s a lovely site with great walks just on the doorstep too

ScreenName7E560806FF

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2024 11:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Weekend

My wife and I have just spent the weekend here. Lovely experience. Very clean and well organised site. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Generous pitches. Nice and quiet day and night. Short walk into town, where there are several parks. Very likely to return.

ClubMember02857E2F3F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/05/2024 14:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Spacious Site.

We stayed at Buxton for 4 nights to visit friends in the area. The pitches are fairly level, we were on service pitch 12 and needed a ramp to level us up side to side just a little. The pitches are hard standing and of a really decent size. Nicely arranged in alcoves with grassy areas about. It was quiet when we were there. One can walk up to Solomons Temple and in to Buxton though some may find the walk back a bit strenuous. There is a dog friendly taxi from Buxton I believe though we didn't use it ourselves. There are plenty of walks for the dogs from the site but in some places they really do need to be on a lead as sheep and lambs about. Perhaps not so good for children as there isn't a play area. Having a car would ensure being able to explore the area which is rather lovely. A very big thank you to the wardens who do run a small shop. I was able to buy some lovely bread rolls from there having forgotten to bring any bread with me. It is unusual these days so again the wee shop was much appreciated.

Catherine

Reviewed on 29/04/2024 13:57

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, our third visit.

Service pitch number 123 is a very nice pitch and in our opinion on of the best ones on site. The wardens are new to site this year and are all very helpful and friendly. My only gripe with this site is the toilet block and shower rooms. If you shower early in the morning as we do, do not expect any heating to be on. It was freezing, the outside temperature was winter like but they did not adjust any temperature inside to account for it. Everyday at least 3 showers, basin and toilets were blocked off. I would think so that they did not have to be cleaned. It was quite annoying having to wait in a queue one day to use to WC urgently just because they wanted to keep a few clean. Beautiful walks from the site and the best fish and chip shop called "Harpur's Plaice" about a 5 minuet drive from the site.

Gahoneys

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/04/2024 15:02

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We really enjoyed our stay here, the pitches are large and well spaced out. The showers and toilets were immaculate when we were there. The warden I met was very friendly and helpful. Contrary to other comments we found the site very dog friendly, there is plenty of opportunity to walk your dog off site, walk through the gate and you have 2 choices left or right both allow an off lead walk. The country park and Solomon's temple are both great for a brisk walk and Pooles cavern, a 20 min walk through the country park woods was very interesting and dog friendly with added advantage of having a very good cafe that served a great breakfast. We found Buxton like most towns in the UK these days, tired and struggling, so sad. We ate at Lucianos and would not recommend and at the Olive tree which we would, both in town. You need to pack essentials as no shop is really within walking distance. In summary, well kept site good for walking and for dogs, great get away for a long weekend.

Builder29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/03/2024 18:43

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site

Stayed here 21-25 March 2024. Had all seasons in one day Saturday!! Though this site never disappoints, with its lovely albeit wooded inclined walk into Buxton via Pooles Cavern ( nice cafe). Had lovely Sunday roast in town at Milton’s Tap ( halfway down Main Street) very dog friendly inside too! Site was extremely well kept as always, and a great friendly welcome from all… Love this site….

albielab

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/03/2024 14:34

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer