Clumber Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Could be so much better

We don't use club sites very often as we prefer to use the CL network, however we booked two nights at Clumber Park in Feb 24. The site is kept in tip top condition and the cleanliness of the facilities are a credit to the wardens. Clumber Park itself is beautiful. We took our bikes and cycled the short distance to the NT park. We just had two major frustrations. There is no mobile phone signal (for any network) so the reliance on the WiFi is obvious however the service is very poor. In many instances we were unable to log on and even when successful it drops out constantly. The second thing is that there are aerial issues which means that your TV will not work. The good news is that there are aerial boosters you can plug into. All you need is a 20 metre aerial cable. These can be bought for £15 at reception. It feels like the club is profiteering from the situation (so we didn't buy one we read books instead). What the club could do is make the situation clear when bookings at this site are confirmed so that if you already own an extra long aerial cable you can bring it with you. Alternatively operate a loan with refundable deposit for a cable. These things just make you feel that making money is more important to the club than caring about the members experience.

Culcheth Mackem

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/02/2024 08:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful location

Stayed a week recently. What a beautiful location and site. Loved the dog walks around site. Lots of woodland paths. The walk to Clumber park via the lake is a gorgeous walk. The site has obviously had some money spent on it. Facilities are very up to date and clean as always expected on a club site. The wardens about work hard. It Is always such a shame to be greeted by a warden who would obviously be somewhere else with customer relations far far away from their radar. Thought the club had weeded out the grumpy wardens. There is a lack of Elsan / toilet waste service points. It was quite a walk with a full toilet to the nearest point. Seems a shame this wasn’t sorted with the upgrade. The WiFi is laughable! I purchased the premium WiFi at £15 for the week and spent more time trying to log on and being timed out than I did using the web. Absolute waste of money. What makes it even more ridiculous is that the national trust (1 mile down the road) have free and very fast WiFi without any issue. Why the club can’t get WiFi right I don’t understand. I had a great week and would recommend this site.

Cliveybee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/02/2024 20:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely beautiful.

This was one of the best sites we had been too. Beautiful site, clean updated facilities and very friendly staff. Such a quiet place to be. Perfect park for children (also looks recently renovated). We can't wait to come back.

ClubMemberE3E7911A6A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/12/2023 13:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stop

We stayed for one night as a break on our way from Essex to Yorkshire in early October. The site was busy but we found a quiet serviced pitch backing on to the woods. We heard Tawny Owls in the night. The new facilities are very good and up to the usual standard of cleanliness we expect from Club sites. We wish we could have stayed longer so we could have walked to Clumber Park. We hope to be back soon.

RichardandNicki

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2023 14:30

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely Stunning

Very simply. The BEST site we have ever been to. Can’t believe we have never been. The site itself could not be any better and the location is simply perfect. The only improvement could be phone signal as there is none. However, not sure if you have any control over that. We only went for a weekend break but we could easily stay. If you like peace and quiet and enjoy the outdoors you could not ask for more. We have stayed at more picturesque sites with mountains to hike/view. However, you are literally in a forest with plenty to do. You can literally walk out the site pick a direction and walk for miles in the forest and never pick the same route twice. There are miles and miles of beautiful surroundings. The walk to Clumber Lake is a lovely walk and the gardens/history surrounding the park/estate is great to learn about. I cannot imagine staying at a better site and happy for anyone to provide a better place. I guess many people have different opinions and interests but to for us this is just ideal in every possible way. Can’t wait to go back.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site if you want to be out of contact

Visited this site for the first time at the end of September. Great location, facilities first class, pitches generous and plenty of grass. Only reason we’ve not given it 5 stars is because lack of wi-fi and there is no mobile signal. Ok if that’s for you but we do like to stay in touch, check the weather etc. Please CMHC let’s get these rolled out.

Andthedogmakes3

Campervanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 15:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

OK for a stopover

We used this site for a stopover on two legs of a northern trip as it is conveniently located close to the A1. The site was busy as many others there were also on a one night stopover. As we use our own facilities I cannot comment on those on the site. Clumber Park itself is attractive for walking and cycling and there appeared to be good facilities for families but we would not choose it for a longer stay.

AlanF100

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 14:34

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourites !

This site is now on our "one of our favourites" , location is great especially if you have a dog , which we do . Facilities new and modern , site kept very well and looks appealing , plus pitches are good. As others have mentioned wifi is awful and as tv signal is bad too , as the nights draw in , better take a physical book to read at nights ! Made us laugh as warden said as we checked in "you have free or premium wifi , but they are both rubbish " and then proceeded to say " I wouldn't pick a pitch near the playground either if I was you" Noise from there didn't really bother us , only the fact that sometimes the kids went on rampage through the pitches and site whilst playing chase or something which sent our dog mad ! At night the site was so peaceful , and the nearby Clumber Park is fantastic we could walk around there for ages , the little community run pub in Hardwick is great too

bisto36

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 20:59

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A favourite of ours

We've been coming to this site for a few years now. It's an hours drive for us, and the only site we know of that has a secure secure bike lock up. It's peaceful (in some areas of the site) and in the middle of the forest. We like the additions since we visited last year, which is a seating area near reception, so that members can eat outside if they've purchased a meal from one of the visiting food vans. Clumber Park itself is beautiful and it all helps to create a relaxing weekend so we'll definitely return again soon. What I cannot give a positive comment on is the wifi - like many others. It is frankly diabolical. Before the "upgrade", if we purchased club wifi it was ok - not fantastic, but we could browse, be contactable and make wifi phone calls. The "premium" service doesn't even do that - and certainly nothing like what the club says it should do. It's slow, drops out and at £5.00 per day it's a rip off. After my 24 hour period had ended I decided to use the free wifi, which you can use for an hour at a time, and it was much better actually. You still can't make phone calls easily, but it's better than the so called "premium" service and you can get onto sites such as social media. I have already emailed CMHC for a refund and my advice is to stick with the free wifi.

mazarnold

Reviewed on 10/09/2023 18:31

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

lovely site, lovely site managers, but let down by two factors

We've been visiting Clumber Park annually (except for 2020) since around 2010. Sometimes more than once - this was my second visit this year. I was there to race the 70 miles triathlon at Thoresby Park. I've left many reviews over the the years and won't repeat comments on the attractions of Clumber Park. In brief it's a lovely peaceful site. The present site managers are lovely and the whole, large, site is a credit to them. From my first welcome on this visit to when I called to say goodbye. But there are two aspects which make me reluctant to visit. The first is the lack of mobile signal or reliable wifi. As others have commented. My wife has limited mobility and wasn't with me for this visit (nor my visit in May where I camped here after competing in a similar triathlon in Nottingham). It is very important I can keep in touch. I can't blame the club for the lack of mobile signal. But from someone who has been a member for almost 40 years, the lack of usable wifi is inexcusable. I feel sorry for the site managers who was well aware of the position of course. (On arrival I was advised not to waste my money on the premium wifi.) The other issue for me is I couldn't visit with my wife because she would not be able to open the very heavy toilet block doors. The site managers have assured me this is being dealt with so I hope it may not continue to be an issue and we can both visit again. The new facilities are fantastic. I wish all sites were the same, excluding the heavy doors.

51 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer