Clumber Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely but flawed ….

This is a lovely location, the pitches are huge, the facilities 5*, the walking is excellent ( about 5 miles takes you a full circuit of the lake & back to campsite. However it is isolated and there is zero phone signal. None. Which would be fine except the wi-fi is unusable - very, very slow and throws you out frequently if you can get logged on at all. We won’t return until this is resolved. Which is a shame.

T55ddy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/03/2024 18:26

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Technological black hole!

I wholeheartedly agree with the previous reviewer regarding the total lack of mobile phone signal and consequent absence of 4G (mentioned in the site details both in print and on the website), the unusable WiFi and the poor TV signal in parts of the site. Whilst TV boosters are available via the electricity bollards as in many other sites greater emphasis should be given to these shortcomings in site details. In all other respects this is a beautiful site with first class facilities in a very attractive location but given the pitch fees we are now required to pay I believe we should be able to take full advantage of the facilities the Club boasts. I won’t be returning until these deficiencies are resolved.

jayaretee

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 19/03/2024 18:34

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Could be so much better

We don't use club sites very often as we prefer to use the CL network, however we booked two nights at Clumber Park in Feb 24. The site is kept in tip top condition and the cleanliness of the facilities are a credit to the wardens. Clumber Park itself is beautiful. We took our bikes and cycled the short distance to the NT park. We just had two major frustrations. There is no mobile phone signal (for any network) so the reliance on the WiFi is obvious however the service is very poor. In many instances we were unable to log on and even when successful it drops out constantly. The second thing is that there are aerial issues which means that your TV will not work. The good news is that there are aerial boosters you can plug into. All you need is a 20 metre aerial cable. These can be bought for £15 at reception. It feels like the club is profiteering from the situation (so we didn't buy one we read books instead). What the club could do is make the situation clear when bookings at this site are confirmed so that if you already own an extra long aerial cable you can bring it with you. Alternatively operate a loan with refundable deposit for a cable. These things just make you feel that making money is more important to the club than caring about the members experience.

Culcheth Mackem

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/02/2024 08:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful location

Stayed a week recently. What a beautiful location and site. Loved the dog walks around site. Lots of woodland paths. The walk to Clumber park via the lake is a gorgeous walk. The site has obviously had some money spent on it. Facilities are very up to date and clean as always expected on a club site. The wardens about work hard. It Is always such a shame to be greeted by a warden who would obviously be somewhere else with customer relations far far away from their radar. Thought the club had weeded out the grumpy wardens. There is a lack of Elsan / toilet waste service points. It was quite a walk with a full toilet to the nearest point. Seems a shame this wasn’t sorted with the upgrade. The WiFi is laughable! I purchased the premium WiFi at £15 for the week and spent more time trying to log on and being timed out than I did using the web. Absolute waste of money. What makes it even more ridiculous is that the national trust (1 mile down the road) have free and very fast WiFi without any issue. Why the club can’t get WiFi right I don’t understand. I had a great week and would recommend this site.

Cliveybee

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/02/2024 20:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely beautiful.

This was one of the best sites we had been too. Beautiful site, clean updated facilities and very friendly staff. Such a quiet place to be. Perfect park for children (also looks recently renovated). We can't wait to come back.

ClubMemberE3E7911A6A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/12/2023 13:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stop

We stayed for one night as a break on our way from Essex to Yorkshire in early October. The site was busy but we found a quiet serviced pitch backing on to the woods. We heard Tawny Owls in the night. The new facilities are very good and up to the usual standard of cleanliness we expect from Club sites. We wish we could have stayed longer so we could have walked to Clumber Park. We hope to be back soon.

RichardandNicki

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2023 14:30

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely Stunning

Very simply. The BEST site we have ever been to. Can’t believe we have never been. The site itself could not be any better and the location is simply perfect. The only improvement could be phone signal as there is none. However, not sure if you have any control over that. We only went for a weekend break but we could easily stay. If you like peace and quiet and enjoy the outdoors you could not ask for more. We have stayed at more picturesque sites with mountains to hike/view. However, you are literally in a forest with plenty to do. You can literally walk out the site pick a direction and walk for miles in the forest and never pick the same route twice. There are miles and miles of beautiful surroundings. The walk to Clumber Lake is a lovely walk and the gardens/history surrounding the park/estate is great to learn about. I cannot imagine staying at a better site and happy for anyone to provide a better place. I guess many people have different opinions and interests but to for us this is just ideal in every possible way. Can’t wait to go back.

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site if you want to be out of contact

Visited this site for the first time at the end of September. Great location, facilities first class, pitches generous and plenty of grass. Only reason we’ve not given it 5 stars is because lack of wi-fi and there is no mobile signal. Ok if that’s for you but we do like to stay in touch, check the weather etc. Please CMHC let’s get these rolled out.

Andthedogmakes3

Campervanner

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 15:49

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

OK for a stopover

We used this site for a stopover on two legs of a northern trip as it is conveniently located close to the A1. The site was busy as many others there were also on a one night stopover. As we use our own facilities I cannot comment on those on the site. Clumber Park itself is attractive for walking and cycling and there appeared to be good facilities for families but we would not choose it for a longer stay.

AlanF100

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 14:34

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of our favourites !

This site is now on our "one of our favourites" , location is great especially if you have a dog , which we do . Facilities new and modern , site kept very well and looks appealing , plus pitches are good. As others have mentioned wifi is awful and as tv signal is bad too , as the nights draw in , better take a physical book to read at nights ! Made us laugh as warden said as we checked in "you have free or premium wifi , but they are both rubbish " and then proceeded to say " I wouldn't pick a pitch near the playground either if I was you" Noise from there didn't really bother us , only the fact that sometimes the kids went on rampage through the pitches and site whilst playing chase or something which sent our dog mad ! At night the site was so peaceful , and the nearby Clumber Park is fantastic we could walk around there for ages , the little community run pub in Hardwick is great too

bisto36

Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 20:59

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer