Hurn Lane Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A great family base to explore from

We stayed at Hurn Lane for a week's break in the summer holidays. The site boasted the usual excellent club standards of cleanliness, organisation and a friendly atmosphere. There were lots of children on site who the kids love to play with after our days out but everyone was in quiet and enjoying company in their awnings and caravans once the sun was down which suited us perfectly. Walking anywhere directly from site seemed a little too dangerous for our group of young kids so we used the site as a base and quickly discovered nearby places of interest to explore. Weston Super Mare had all the charm of an English Seaside town. We found it was crucial to check the tide times to make sure you go at high tide (unless your children are content to make sand castles without going in the water). We had a particularly lovely day by chance when we went to see the Weston Marine Lake only to discover it was closed due to silt. We bought some very reasonably priced crab lines from the lovely volunteers in the RNLI shop near Birkbeck bay and were directed along the coastline to the nearby Birbeck cove where the crabbing did not disappoint! Plus there was a wonderful Cove Cafe selling delicious ice creams with a stunning view too. The other gem of our visit was our 2 trips to Clevedon. What a beautiful town just north of Weston. The Victorian pier did not disappoint and the beach was a bonus as the perfect spot for some rock pooling. On our second trip we visited the Clevedon Marine Lake which was open and a brilliant community space which you can tell is loved and cared for by everyone. The children enjoyed trying out paddle boarding with the lovely couple from Supway Hire who really made our day by taking our 2 year old for a little ride as well. If you walk along the esplanade from the lake there are multiple cafes and a pub overlooking the sea and the lake. Really was food for the soul.

CARYANVAN

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 21:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Our fourth visit to Hurn Lane

Once again we stayed at Hurn Lane and were blessed with unseasonably warm weather. The site is conveniently placed and we are still finding different things to see and do in the area. Lastly the staff were very welcoming and helpful where needed

ChrisEastAnglia

Reviewed on 11/10/2021 10:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good location

Hurn lane is a very convenient location for us as we live only one and a half hours away . There are so many places to visit just a short drive away. Apex park is very nice and only 10 minutes drive.the site is so well run and is so neat, clean and tidy thanks to the wardens, Lorna, Glyn and the team who are all very helpfull . We have stayed 21 times so far which speaks for itself.

CATS2

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 18:58

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Somerset staycation

Just got back from 4 nights at Hurn Lane and had a great time don’t know why we have not stayed there before but will definitely be staying again in the future beautifully kept site shower facilities could be updated but kept very clean loved pitch 52 you are on a corner so not overlooked by anyone all pitches very roomy. Was worried about the narrow access to site after reading other reviews but was ok in September can imagine it is a nightmare in August especially with the other sites around you..

Angie2904

Reviewed on 28/09/2021 22:15

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautifully maintained site

Everything was spick and span at this site, reflecting all the hard work that the wardens do day in day out. The site is handy for the bus stops to Burnham and Weston, about 10 minute walk away and a 1/2 hour bus service in each direction. Lovely walk along the the prom and into the beautiful park, with a great snack bar located in the car park, in a tiny streamline type caravan, very reasonable prices and good food/drinks. This is also where the park run is located. Burnham is a nice compact town with lots of food and drink options. Only downside was the way a new arrival (not us) was 'welcomed', by a Welsh male warden. The offending arrivee had inadvertently driven to the gate, having missed the arrivals bay. The warden was most unwelcoming, barking orders to reverse his caravan unit into the arrivals bay, in a most unpleasant manner. Not what you need when, perhaps, you are tired after a long drive. Also, it would have been useful to have more information at the site regarding local walks and cycling, especially as NCR33 is right on the doorstep. But overall, a well maintained and cared for site

Ken1Dav

Campervanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 19:59

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant stay

Stayed her last week. Went for 7nights ended up staying for 12. This was our 2nd visit this year we love the site. Booked for 2wks nxt year. Great place to stay in middle for days out. We bin coming to this site for 15years. 😎👍

prestons

Reviewed on 25/09/2021 16:51

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Central location

Lovely site, friendly wardens and a good location for exploring the area. Only negative poor dog walking area and offsite lane unsuitable.

WeyValley

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 21:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing stay.

We have been to this site several times normally using it as a stopover when heading south. This time we arrived Friday at 4pm and had no choice of pitch, we we’re put on a grass pitch which was tucked behind the hard standings. In my view it shouldn’t even be a pitch. It was by a noisy drain manhole. It felt like you were overlooking everyone else. Once the awning was up we were fairly close to other units. Bearing in mind I’d booked this last year the pitch was more like something you would except if you were desperate to stay on for an extra night or something. The neighbouring site was noisy during the day. Admittedly not the clubs fault and all was quiet by bedtime. Used the toilet facilities on the Friday evening and thought they weren’t very clean. Button for the flush had the top missing. Mark’s all up the back of the door. Floor dirty. By Saturday they were even worse. First toilet had no paper then no soap in the dispenser to wash your hands with! Spiders everywhere! Ok the windows are open because of the COVID but there were cobwebs and spiders all over them in the cubicle I used. If I was new to the club I’d have been very disappointed with the whole experience. We had just had 6 nights on one of the clubs affiliated sites and it was spotless so it is possible!

mjwes

Reviewed on 19/09/2021 10:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful

Unlike the previous reviewer we were amazed at how peaceful the site is. We are on pitch 8 and yes there are static caravans behind us but didn’t hear a sound from them. Crows were far more noisy:-)) Yes the town is run down like many other seaside towns but the nearby Berrow beach is stunning and very safe if you have children. Spent the day in Weston- usual seaside attractions except the sea had done a disappearing act..so far out you couldn’t see it. Facilities a little dated but clean, wardens friendly, overall pleasant stay helped by very hot weather.

DavidandJanet

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/09/2021 11:52

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

VERY NOISY SITE

Very nice site wardens approachable and friendly. Well maintained pitches. No shop and nothing local. Nearest town very run down. Dog walk ridiculously small. Main gripe, before booking this site be aware that it is surrounded by holiday camps with no consideration to their neighbours. The noise is dreadful day and evening and into the night. We are unable to sit out at night as the noise from the adjacent holiday establishment is horrendous.

Poppyprincess

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/09/2021 07:40

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer