Kendal Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a lovely site

What a lovely site, pitches in wooded areas, great location for a long stay in Cumbria or a stop over on route to north or south. We booked for one night and we're so pleased we extended our stay. As well as the above there is loads of history on site, old gun powder works, leats, other remains of a distant age. Site staff are excellent.

ScreenName86D29845F7

Campervanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2023 20:19

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely quiet site with lovely site managers

Mine was a two night stay for the purpose of visiting a local motorhome dealer and to run the parkrun at Fell Foot, which I highly recommend. There is little or nothing I can add about the site beyond what is stated in other reviews. The gardens and grounds at Sizergh are worth a visit. I last stayed at this site in August 2014. It has changed little from my vague recollection. Many of the pitches are potentially awkward for motorhomes due to the sloping ground. I hope it may be more useful if I focus on cycling from the site. I'll restrict myself to the one road cycling route I cycled during my brief stay. The ride is only 13 miles, all on road, the route for which can be found here: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/203655582 . The route is mostly on quiet lanes – some so quiet it would be unlucky to see any motor vehicle. Some of the lanes are in a poor state and an all road or gravel bike is ideal. A mountain bike wouldn't be out of place. This isn't an ideal route for a Tour de France bike !! The route has its challenges – one in particular. Mostly the route is fairly gently undulating. There are two slightly longer climbs, not steep, soon after crossing under the A590 at approx 3.5 miles. The route becomes a little more challenging after crossing the A65 at approx 5.9 miles. The first of two climbs isn't too steep and is followed by a short descent before a second, steeper climb to the summit of the route. The chances of meeting another vehicle here are close to zero and there is no shame in walking a short section. It is perfectly rideable except I rode it after heavy rain and strong winds during autumn and the lane was covered in sticks and slippery wet leaves. Due to concerns about traction (when I was riding a bike with slick tyres) I walked a short section. From the top of the climb there is a short steep descent ending in a T-junction with the B6254 at approx 7.3 miles. It is steep right to the junction and care needs to be taken as the junction is approached. Good brakes are required. From that point there is a fast descent on a good road surface towards Kendal and the rest of the route holds no challenges, except to be enjoyed. I hope someone may find this suggested route helpful.

Nunthorpe camper

from Cleveland

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 18:14

51 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location

This was our first time to this site and we were lucky to have lovely weather. The facilities are excellent and the the sites are very spaced out in little individual areas which is lovely and very private. It is very handy off the motorway and although there are potholes the access road is short. We visited Sizergh castle and went at 9am on a Sunday morning which allowed us to park easily in our motorhome and stay there for the day. As National Trust members parking was free. It is a lovely estate and castle with a variety of beautiful walks and a fascinating history, we would recommend it. We didn’t have a chance to try the other walks from the site as we had to continue our journey but we would love to return. Would recommend this site.

ScreenNameAB5039CC55

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/10/2023 21:14

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice Woodland Site

A lovely site set in one of the National Trust’s woodlands. (Our 3rd visit this year) Most pitches are between trees so there is lots of bird song all day long which is lovely to listen to. There are two toilet and shower blocks with lots of hot water, one is cleaned in the morning and the other one in the afternoon and both are cleaned to a very high standard. The grounds are also kept tidy by the Site Staff, although they are limited to what they can do with it been a National Trust Site. The site staff are all very professional and helpful and very knowledgeable about places of interest round and about. The approach road into the site does have a few pot holes, which are manageable if extra care is taken.

Bella2013

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/10/2023 21:51

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Really fab location

We were really surprised at the peace & quiet at this site considering it was still school holidays. Staff were very friendly & kept the site spotless including the shower block. We’d happily return.

ScreenNameC504D25551

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2023 14:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, great wardens

Second time this year we have stopped in Kendal o our way north. Though have been visiting the site since 1985! This year had an 8m xcel coachman and the wardens were forewarned so reserved a suitable pitch at the bottom of the site with easy access to get out. Lots of little areas within the trees. Facilities and site were spotless and the wardens work hard to keep them so. National trust have not maintained access road to the site so a number of potholes but CAMC have resurfaced the rest. National trust also have a no mow policy which restricts wardens cutting back areas of foliage though they do the best they can. Wardens are really approachable, know the area and know the site. First Class service. Thank you. We will be back.

The2Rentons

Reviewed on 10/08/2023 16:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

TREES ALL AROUND

Our first stay at Kendal was lovely. Once you realise every part of the site is picturesque with trees all around it doesnt matter which pitch you choose. Granted as previous reviews have mentioned there are a few potholes on a small section of the approach road but no worse than many main roads nationwide. A short easy walk to the farm shop and Sizergh Castle is an added bonus. Due to the terrain of this site it is quite a contrast to many club sites and well worth a visit.

ScreenName58A508A7BE

Campervanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 21:01

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Potholes? Yes, but just go round them!

We stayed at Kendal for the third time, in June. Yes the National Trust-owned access road has potholes, but if you just take your time and steer around them there is no problem. We love this site for the surrounding natural woodland with lots of birds and wild flowers. The walks to the castle and the farm shop, or by the River Kent are all really lovely. The staff are super. Just a handful of pitches at the higher end suffer from road noise, but it quietens down overnight. R&C

Rob2CathDavies

Caravanner from Clwyd

Reviewed on 22/07/2023 21:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Kendal

Site easy to get to from M6. Access road into the site is in really poor condition & very narrow. Pitches are being encroached from all sides by brambles, ferns etc & weeds growing through the hard standings.Being in a large wood it must be a nightmare to keep the flora & fauna off the pitches. Other than that a nice place to stay if you like the solitude. Toilet blocks spotlessly clean. Wardens very pleasant & helpful. Good roads to all the lakes. Some a little testing.

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Convenient stop off point

Super site. Stopped off en-route when driving down south and have stayed here a few times. Always receive a warm and cheery welcome from the wardens. Stayed in a fully serviced pitch and have no complaints. Short distance to M6 makes it convenient for onward journey

Chris2512

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2023 18:11

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer