Plymouth Sound Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant site and fantastic wardens

We can’t seem to stop retuning to this site. We have a break for a year or so but seem to head back for more. The site is situated at the edge of the small village of Down Thomas and above Plymouth sound giving fantastic views. If you want a peaceful relaxing stay this could be for you. The village has a lovely pub that does brilliant food and is dog friendly. The sites kept beautifully and the wardens, Anita and Kevin are great if what you want is a warm welcome and great local knowledge. They ceaselessly seemed to walk the site with new arrivals giving advice on the suitability of pitches to match outfits but without pressure. We’ll definitely be back and hope to get yet another friendly welcome from Anita and Kevin

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

The main manager is great and was good to see him return I July apart from weather lovely stay

Great stay in July 2023 for birthday also good to see the return of regular manager and his wife who are hard working and nice people to have on site

bouncerdog1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2023 13:54

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Worst site I've ever stayed

DO NOT BOOK THIS SITE IF YOIU ARE LOOKING FOR SOMEWHERE TO STAY FOLLWING THE FERRY CROSSING FROM ROSCOFF TO PLYMOUTH. wE DID AND IT WAS A BIG MISTAKE! We stayed on this site in August 2023 for four nights after returning on the ferry from France. There was some confusion over the arrival times of the ferry in our booking confirmation. We checked with the Caravan Club before we travelled and were told that the times quoted for our journey to France were all in English time and the times quoted for our return were in French time. My husband checked this with the person when booking and was told that as we would be getting an hour back when docking so we would have ample time to drive to the site before 8pm and there wouldn’t be a problem. This proved not to be the case. The timing was in English time and we didn’t dock until 8pm. On arrival on the site the reception was closed and the note on the door said it was not manned after 8pm. So as to minimise disruption to other guests we proceeded to pitch on the nearest empty pitch to the reception intending to book in i the next morning. This is normal practice in Europe and Ireland. Very often they leave you instructions of where to pitch in an envelope on the door. The warden appeared 10 minutes later. He explained what had happened but he was very rude and shouted at us. He finally agreed we should continue to pitch and see him in the morning after my husband asked what he expected us to do. My husband had been really ill on the ferry and just wanted to go to bed not have an argument. The next morning we went to book in and they were both very rude to us again. It was only when my husband suggested that they refund the pitch fees and we go home that they said we could choose a pitch and tell them where we had pitched. We have never before encountered a reception like this on any other caravan site at home or abroad and it was in stark contrast to the warm welcome we received on all the sites in France. I enjoyed our stay in the area but not on this site and with hindsight wished that we had moved elsewhere the next day or gone home. We spoke to some other visitors from Germany who said they had encountered a similar experience. I feel this certainly not the reception we should be giving to our foreign visitors or indeed anyone else and is not what I would expect from the club. We pay quite a bit for membership and feel that the least we should be treated fairly and with respect.

Moderator Comment - Title Edited as original was too long

Maggiehan1

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 14:28

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great wardens

The wardens at this site were friendly helpful and engaging. They made our stay a pleasure. The site is smoothly run and clean. A warm friendly greeting awaits anyone arriving at this site. A huge thank you to the wardens who are an incredible asset to the club.

ClubMember876159CC9F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2023 11:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site and wardens and will definitely go back

Having read the previous review regarding poor access road, I was so concerned that I drove to the site without my 7m caravan to check it out. Having visited sites in the Lake District, my view is, what is the fuss about. There is a lane which is single track in parts, no need to put in my mirrors and fine to drive, and there are passing places both before and after these stretches. I found everyone courteous and willing to gave way. Arriving at site after 1pm allows any caravans to be away long before you arrive. The site is beautiful, with excellent views, quiet and dog friendly, though we don't have a dog. Dog owners must keep their dogs on leads and pick up poop, and there is an off the lead field where owners are still expected to pick up after their dogs. The site cleanliness is excellent, with the waste emptying and water facilities top notch. In the evening a local chap, often visits an adjacent field to exercise his Bengal Owl, he is incredibly friendly, knowledgeable of the area and professional in his handling of his bird, which is on jesses and a long chord that allows it to fly safely. He is happy for you to see his bird up close and take photos. There is an adjacent village with a shop and 'The Mussel' pub (5min walk), we visited early evening and had mussels which were excellent, and a drink, though I recommend booking, the campsite office had a discount voucher on offer. You can walk down the road to Bovisand Beach, however I was told the road down past the shop and then right at the coastal path is a quieter alternative, the walk back is all up hill. We walked through the village and followed signs to the coastal path at the bottom and then left to Wembury, this coastal walk is undulating but you have see views all the way. Excellent site and we will be returning.

Gary from Manchester

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2023 12:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Amazing Site and Best Warden on the Estate

Well we are coming to the end of yet another stay at this amazing site. Peace quiet and relaxation. Even when the weather isn't great the views make uo for it. Anita and Kevin are without doubt 2 of the best assets to Caravan Club as people like us travel all this way for a beautiful site that is kept in great condition and run well by two lovely people. They could not be more helpful with a their local knowledge which is so essential down here in the South West. It pains me to hear bad comments from members that are really NOT complaining about the site, but more complaining about the club rules that the wardens have to enforce to ensure the standards are kept for everyone's enjoyment. Plenty to do around here and places to eat. Beach can be walked in 15 mins and is dog friendly as well. The pub 5 min walk is also dog friendly but you are advised to book. Dog walk is great and lots of space for all size dogs to have a walk. This is a small community and the club site fits in well with wardens like Anita and Kevin who are liked and engage with the local people and are themselves respected. Kevin's knowledge of the ground conditions is essential to ensure that everyone gets on the pitches safely and off safely. Can't wait to be back hopefully in September or early next year to see the site and the wardens again. Jim and Mel

firstlight

Motorhomer from Surrey

Reviewed on 07/07/2023 18:53

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site and wardens

I firstly want to address the approach comments on other reviews. We have a 7.98m long 2.4m wide twin axle unit and tow with a Ford ranger. It’s fine seriously if you find this site hard to access you shouldn’t be towing. Kevin and Anita are both very friendly and very helpful but not intrusive. Kevin showed us all round the site and helped us pick a pitch. He was also a big bag of local knowledge and helpful info. Site is kept very tidy and well organised. The views are great in all directions. The dog walk is very well thought out offering you the opportunity to change direction if you meet on coming less well behaved dog owners. The cafe at fort Bovisand is really a gem. Great food great price and lovely staff. Mussel Inn is a 5 min walk and the food is very good. Bovisand beach is fantastic if you have a dog or not but the water is clear and it’s great for swimming… only a 15 min walk and well worth it. We parked at Mountbatten which is free all day and used the water taxis to go to all the great places around Plymouth sound and the Barbican. As for being windy well you’re on the high ground directly above the sea … buy a wind break and it was a very pleasant breeze when we visited. In summary it’s like a big, very well run CL surrounded by great places to visit and run by very friendly wardens. Well done we shall be back. Hope you enjoyed the vino guys!! Have a great season and hopefully the club will realise that the wardens here are part of the reason it’s such a great site.

Builder29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/06/2023 20:52

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site, BUT.

We stayed three nights before catching the Santander ferry. It is in an excellent location for peace and quiet, with impressive views across Plymouth Sound. The pitches with the best views tend to have the steepest slopes. But I will not be returning because of the horrendous last mile or so of the approach road. I have been Caravanning and motorhoming for over 20 years home and abroad, and I have never experienced such a narrow road to a site! Satnav telling me I can’t go down the road (7 m motorhome), both mirrors folded in to scrape past a dozen or so cars and vans with inches, literally, to spare. I was a nervous wreck by the time I arrived. Access to the South Coast path is down a steep road, no parking for a motorhome. Be prepared also for it to be decided breezy. During the three days of cloudless skies and 70 degree plus temperatures, I enjoyed the dubious pleasure of sunbathing with a body warmer on. People I spoke to who use the site regularly told me it was often like this. It is a lovely site. The wardens were helpful and friendly, but this is not a site for me.

Biggles56

Motorhomer from Lanarkshire

Reviewed on 11/06/2023 17:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely peaceful site

Very tranquil with lovely views, and a chap exercising his owl every evening! Lots of wild flower meadows and the sound of skylarks. Excellent dog walking area. You need to be fully self-contained as no showers or toilets but this site is great value for money and I thoroughly recommend.

ScreenName56B72F312A

Reviewed on 28/05/2023 17:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Scenic site

Very well run small club site. Directed to our pitch and had a long enjoyable chat about local area from warden (lovely friendly guy) views were spectacular especially sunsets. Very peaceful, everyone respecting everyone else’s space. Did a little walking, although be warned the lane down to sea can be busy with locals/traffic. Lovely site would come back again.

Mrs AJ

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2023 15:13

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer