Salisbury Hillside Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ideal site and very helpful Wardens

This site was selected because we have stayed there previously. It did not disappoint. It is off the beaten track and would probably not appeal to families with children, but for anyone else wanting a quiet break, it is perfect. The wardens are very friendly. We were having problems with our Aquaroll pump and Warden Nick was extremely helpful - he sorted the problem for us within minutes.

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First visit

Our first visit to Salisbury Hillside, lovely site, quiet and peaceful, no shops within walking distance so take enough with you until you know you can get out, facilities clean, staff friendly and lovely pitches although some can be tight to get into

fowlersmith04

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 29/08/2023 09:27

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Review

Warm reception from friendly staff. The sites pitch/parking facilities were more than adequate. Service facilities were warm and very clean. Good location for exploring the area. The nearby A343 is a busy road and traffic can easily be heard. The turn-in to the site from the Andover direction is quite sharp, with a pot-hole, and insufficiently advance signposted. Without family it is not appropriate to judge family facilities. Overall, happy with our stay and would visit again.

ScreenNameA32FD0456F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/07/2023 09:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful site

Stayed for a weekend in June. Greeted by Mark, a very friendly warden. The pitch I chose was down in the wooded area, which was fine for me, but, as others have commented, some might struggle with the walk up to the (immaculate) facilities. Very quiet & peaceful, and being in the shade was a boon over the two hot days I was there. Walks from the site avoiding the roads are a bit limited - I should have heeded the warning about the path from the dog walking area and worn long trousers - it was quite overgrown! Visiting Salisbury on Sunday was easy - plenty of space in the central parking area near Sainsburys, and a short walk through to the cathedral which was breathtaking.

PhilSc

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 26/06/2023 09:22

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing place to stay

This is my first time to this site and I cannot wait to return as I had a wonderful relaxing stay. It is set on several levels with lots of trees, so some sunny pitches and some more shaded pitches. There are fab views over the Wiltshire Countryside. I got a very warm welcome from the wardens when I arrived. The shower blocks and facilities were spotless. The information centre was well stocked with leaflets about places within driving distance to visit. There are some walks from the site but I was wanting to relax and chill so did not explore. The site shop had plenty of things to buy. Overall I had a perfect time just sitting and reading in the sunshine in a good sized pitch. I would recommend you visit this site to experience it for yourselves.

Shuvonshuvoff

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/06/2023 15:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful quiet site

Just returned from a long weekend at this site feeling very relaxed. The site is peaceful and has lovely wardens who deserve all the compliments they get. Set on a hill, the top being more open and the bottom more shaded. We wanted to enjoy the sun so were given various top pitch options, all of which were large grass pitches, well marked out. The toilet and shower facilities are absolutely spotless and very well maintained. Whilst we don’t have a dog, the dog walk was very pleasant with lots of wildlife, enjoyed by our 10 year old son. We knew there was no play area so made sure board games and swing ball was packed. We will definitely be back. Thank you Salisbury Hillside.

Amanda30

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/05/2023 00:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Room with a view

A small site on three levels with large pitches. Excellent toilet block with dishwashing and laundry facilities. Water and recycling station on each level. Interesting dog walk. Reception area has small shop with a large range of products both necessary and treats. Three large towns/cities within easy driving distance. Magnificent views over the Wiltshire countryside. A wealth of bird life visit the well stocked bird feeding station. The information cabin is well stocked with plenty of ideas for things to see and do. TV reception and Wi-Fi were both very good.The short entrance road has a vicious sleeping policeman, be careful and go slow. A very pleasant, well managed, quiet site. Well worth a visit.

Grillee

Caravanner from Northamptonshire

Reviewed on 31/03/2023 15:52

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Immaculate site a testament to the wardens

As daft as it probably sounds? We decided to try out two very close to home sites to try out this caravanning lark, with the idea that if anything goes drastically wrong the worst that could happen would be we pack up and go home! So… We make the huge commute of 20minutes to Hillside to arrive at our first C&MH site and…Wow! What a fabulously kept little site this is! Immaculate with hardly a blade of grass, stone or twig out of place. We meet the wardens who where lovely, helpful and obliging, we asked for an extra night as we didn’t want to rush off Sunday (what’s the point so close to home!) We had a choice of pitches and chose one down the hill under cover (each to their own it was in shade, not everyone’s choice) first night just us in our row, the next day two other vans turn up one with a young family. Not sure this is the best site for children as there’s not a lot for them but they didn’t seem to care and made the most of the hills on their scooters, lots of families with children who seemed to just enjoy the site and woodland which let’s be honest is what a holiday is about. As our pump wasn’t working we decided to use the on-site showers…Wow! So good I might drive the 20 minutes and use these instead of home!! So powerful and hot…lovely! Shower block like the rest of the site is absolutely immaculate! As I said in the heading, testament to the wardens! They should be commended, I hope the C&MH club are reading this. We I’ll actually go back, despite it being so close to home, why not? The scenery is different and if I woke up there and didn’t know where I was I could have been 200 miles from home. Just proves you don’t need to travel hundreds of miles to enjoy a break 😃

Pentonpompey

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 24/07/2022 18:03

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding view from site

Booked a week then stayed 17 days on this peaceful, well maintained site with an outstanding view of the surrounding countryside from the site. Julie and Mark the wardens are a lovely, friendly and helpful couple and the site is testament to how hard they work as it always looks immaculate. Would highly recommend a visit!.

Terry323

Reviewed on 15/07/2022 20:33

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer