Silverbank Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Another great stay

Another great stay at Silverbank for the last 4 nights of the season, despite the poor weather. Sorry to hear that Gary and Sue are moving on after this season. But we wish them all the best with their move. They have been an asset to the site, keeping it looking great. They were particularly helpful when my daughter's partner had an epileptic seizure in the shower and we're very quick to respond. Bromyard Downs site are gaining two great wardens. We look forward to meeting the new wardens next year.

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Departing Wardens

Sorry to hear that Gary & Sue are leaving Silverbank Site. They worked hard keeping the site spick and span at all times. They were so friendly and nothing was any bother to them. Was unable to visit the past 2 seasons but hopefully will pay a visit in 2022 & look forward to meeting the new wardens. Gary & Sue were a credit to the Caravan & Motorhome Club & can hold their heads up high. Good luck Gary & Sue & hope all goes well for you both in the future. You never know we might meet up again. Dave Birse

Birsyboy

Reviewed on 26/10/2021 14:49

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Has always been a top drawer site

Like many other regulars we will be sorry to see Sue and Gary leave after 5 years of hard graft and welcoming manner. The site overall reflected their high standards. We wish them well in their new role within the Caravan Club. As ever the 5 night stay was a joy allowing us to fulfil our family commitments, meet our friends who were also on site at the same time, participate in our preferred methods of exercise and generally get out and about to some of the best coffee shops in the North East. What is not to like?

mobilebedsit42

Caravanner from Ayrshire

Reviewed on 11/10/2021 17:29

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Super site, shame to hear Managers are moving on

This is our 5/6th visit here, basically once a year since caravanning. Usual warm welcome from Sue and Gary and shame they are moving on after 5 years of setting a high standard, will be a hard act to follow. One grumble - stopped van to revers in and a VW camper cut across the grass to get the pitch we wanted - no point in arguing, as it happens a better pitch further round was available. Very well managed site with big wide pitches, at least 8 feet wider than a commercial site we had just came from!! Banchory is a great town with plenty of shopping and an excellent curry house - Darbar, just up road and a Tesco 5 mins walk from site. Further afield Ballater is always a great drive and place to wander round - visited the Balmoral Bar for first time and had lunch - excellent meals and service - Had the Durban curry which was superb!

Solobay

Caravanner from West Lothian

Reviewed on 01/10/2021 16:59

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Very friendly wardens and a very clean and well located site. Facilities are good, including the wifi. We were here for North East Open Studios and this is a good location for touring the area including access to Aberdeen. Also convenient for walks along the river and former railway line and convenient for good range of local facilities. Also has a good area for dogs.

kevone

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 15:40

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

1st time visit

stayed here for the first time and arrival is from 12 noon, site is located next to the main road but not too noisy. Wardens were lovely and quite hard working, grass was kept really short which was nice. Facilities are very old generation and in need of refurbishment but kept spotless. When you come away on holiday you want some privacy and peace and quiet and annoyingly as other visitors have commented, be aware on 37/38/39 pitches people do cross over your pitch to get to the toilet block as there too lazy to keep to the roadway so we ended up putting up our windbreak to stop the annoyance of people at all hours tramping over your pitch, wardens should think about putting up a wire fence as they have in Southport or just letting the grass or nettles grow taller in the middle to prevent this. Nice walks along a tree and river lined footpath/ cycle track, was c 30 mins to Banchory town centre, we stumbled over the Banchory lodge hotel enroute, what a gem this was, you will pass a wooden hut and a few yards further on you will come a gap in the hedge to some houses follow the road around to the left and you will come to the hotel down on the lhs. Great food and drinks and excellent location sitting out on the lawned area. Took the bus into Ballatar and Braemar which was an nice to wander around but long trip on a bumpy road. Also walked to the railway in the opposite way, a lovely walk and found a small hamlet of shops, Miltons cafe was great, a few hundred yards on you come to Crathie castle grounds which we loved, fantastic walks through mature forests for hours. Castle gardens are nice and close by was a coffee shop. Will come back next year

Our house

Motorhomer from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 13/09/2021 17:09

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disrespectful Members

Lovely Site I regularly use but be warned if you use pitches 37,38,39 other disrespectful members cut across your pitch as a short cut to the toilet and wash up facilities, they are too lazy to walk round the roadway. It's all about respecting other members space, peace and privacy but some just don't get it! Would be nice if the club could see their way to counter this behaviour with a fence or hedge. Great site otherwise.

Prestige495

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2021 11:08

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Grumpy wardens

We like this site very much, this was our 6th visit in 4 years. We were there two years ago when the electrics blew and had to leave early, and then found we needed a trip to our motorhome dealers to replace the charging unit which had been caused by the power outage. But we have come back because we like the area and like the site. We know there are a lot of comments about the wardens but we were shocked when we arrived this time at their attitude, not welcoming at all when I checked us in, maybe they were having a bad day, perhaps the electrical problems and then COVID has got them down. He mentioned about parking correctly as a lot of people new to motorhoming and caravanning were turning up and not parking correctly. But the main problem was when we went to use the motorhome service point to fill up with water. As mentioned before, we have been here several times with no problems, this time our hose would not fit on the tap because the hose connector, that we usually unscrew, had been glued in place. I went to the reception to ask for help and was told that he had glued it on because they kept getting pinched, he has always glued them on, we were the first people who couldn't fill up, everyone has a hoselock. We mentioned this was our 6th visit over 4 years with no previous problems, we had been using this hose for years so it wasn't glued on last time we came, he said we can't have but then mentioned it was a new service point. Anyway he went off to get his wrench to twist the connector off so we could fill up. He got it off and stormed off muttering that he was going to leave it off in future. My husband found an old hose connector in the bottom of his box of tricks, so as we don't use them I took it in to offer to the warden as a spare, he refused it and was like a petulant child. When I went back in to tell them the pitch number I apologised to the other warden about the mix up and she bit my head off as though it was all our fault, saying you had one of those connectors in your hand, but we don't used them I said as they don't fit our hose. All in all this left a nasty taste, but never mind we will most likely use the site again that's of course if we are not banned!!

MickOneill

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/08/2021 18:29

24 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great base for exploring

This is a well located site with excellent facilities. It has large, well spaced and flat pitches, is quiet, despite the proximity to a main road and is well hidden. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. It was a super jump off point for many local attractions, facilities and outstanding countryside. A first class site.

ScreenNameF49190CC91

Campervanner

Reviewed on 10/08/2021 19:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A favourite site

The wardens work very hard to keep the site and its facilities spotless, and offer a friendly, helpful welcome - thank you! The pitches are all large/will accept awnings, some divided from the immediate neighbouring pitch by waist-high hedging therefore affording a little more privacy. Some road noise can be heard, inevitably, if you have one of the pitches furthest from the river however its not too intrusive. There is a local bus service just serving Banchory itself, running hourly during the day. Its possible to do the walk to Scolty Tower from the site though a mile and a half can be shaved off by taking the bus into Banchory centre to start the walk there - 15 mins to walk from centre to the entrance to the forest car park road, then 15 mins further to reach the gate where the various routes to the monument start - the routes require varying amounts of effort ;) Morrisons is a 10 min walk towards the town centre from the site, a very large Tesco 10 mins walk the other way.

Mrs Hobby

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 17:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer